Chevron Left
Back to Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
8,326 ratings
1,108 reviews

About the Course

A good project schedule helps all team members’ work together to meet project objectives. A project budget with realistic cost constraints is also an essential bedrock of any project. In this course you’ll learn to plan and stick to time and cost constraints in order to ensure the success of your projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the resource needs of the project 2. Decompose work packages into activities 3. Define what is needed to estimate activity durations 4. Define milestones and create a milestone schedule 5. Determine the critical path and calculate float 6. Describe the purpose of using leads and lags in a project schedule 7. Estimate the quantities and costs of resources required to perform project activities 8. Select one of three common cost estimating techniques to determine a project budget 9. Use a responsibility assignment matrix to assign responsibilities 10. Recognize the components of a project’s quality management plan...

Top reviews

MF
Oct 23, 2016

I enjoyed this course, the mix of the video presentations and the powerpoints are well done. The instructor does an excellent job. the 'bonus videos' and 'panelist interviews' are very good as well.

JR
Feb 5, 2017

Great course going into important details on cost and budgeting. I really like the video portion which gives real-world examples that help reinforce and bring the concepts to an everyday audience.

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,094 Reviews for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

By Deleted A

Oct 5, 2020

good

By Yuvarani M

Sep 7, 2020

Good

By Italo d A C

Sep 24, 2017

good

By karthik d

Mar 28, 2020

NA

By Deleted A

Jun 1, 2020

The course itself is good. However the lesson does not always make it clear what the topic for the week is. There is a lot of external reading that is recommend, which means buying additional books. I also miss real life learning. Having a case study to apply the learning to would be very helpful. Instead the course asks you to "think of a project you have done" and apply what you learned to that. The flash lessons are very helpful.

By Mansour A

Oct 16, 2020

The talk was very general about the budgeting it did not get into the details of what to consider, we talked in general how to calculate budgets via 4 methodes but it was all theoretical. There was no excercise to help clear the ways of calculating, what factors to consider , how much of a padding should I add is it 10% 15% maybe 25% what is the appropriate amount. etc..

By Albert P

Sep 6, 2020

It's quite good.

Ups - very detailed and teaches a lot of valuable things regarding the projects.

Downs - everything goes by the PMBOK and the other book. More real life examples from the lecturer would be beneficial. Lectures are good, but in the end, not that detailed as most of the info is from the presentation.

By Alexander G

Sep 9, 2020

Too much unclear, indirect language. Definitions are not concise. The entire course needs to be re-written in the active-tense and proof-read by a party not versed in project management in order to ensure that buzzwords, jargon and institutional slang are edited out.

By Neelima S

Dec 15, 2016

Content is good. But more is there in Presentation that we have to self read. It would be better if somebody explains in video. Because reading we can do our-self and lots of content are available freely. But we spend money so that somebody teaches us those things.

By Enyang W

Apr 21, 2020

Too much theory, it is not good to learn so many terms without context and examples.. But still, it shows me how complex project management can be. It is actually more important to apply the knowledge in a practical way.

By maged n

Jan 11, 2018

the course is great but we need to know the the answers for the wrong questions if we passed the test because I keep trying to solve the whole quiz one more time and keep getting wrong question after submitting !

By Fernando A M M

Sep 13, 2020

It uses PMBOK 2013 as the basics for the course (please, update the contents !). It has more power point presentations than videos from experts in the area. The lecturer is good at sharing knowledge.

By Brian P W

Jun 18, 2020

The quality of the instructor videos is poor and they are difficult to comprehend at times because the instructor is reading directly from a script rather than actually teaching the material.

By Joseph K

Nov 7, 2020

Lecture so good, power point very good, but i prefer more case study and homework planning also the quizzes are so easy

By brandy a

Nov 30, 2018

Some of the videos are helpful but a lot of the information is just copied from the PMBOK and could use more explanation.

By Jeffrey M

Oct 23, 2015

This a well paced class which does a good job of breaking down the fundamentals of project management cost accounting.

By Mustafa

Jan 23, 2021

The course is good overall, but material and content is a bit old. Would be perfect if they are renewed.

By Javier M

Apr 8, 2020

I think the Course touches the basis of Budgeting and scheduling but feels light on the information.

By Sameeha

Mar 19, 2018

More videos/ audio sessions instead of slides would have been better for understanding the concepts.

By C. R

Aug 16, 2015

I don't really like the format. I want lectures from the instructor, not animation and slides.

By Ricardo G

Sep 3, 2018

Much lighter than the introduction, leaves you wanting more... Maybe that's the plan?

By Victoria S

Dec 14, 2020

Slightly better than the last course. Still very inaccessible language in my view.

By Janarthanan B

Sep 4, 2015

It is better to merge the content of all 3 courses in one... very less content

By Gauthami R

Sep 11, 2020

The readings were marked for 10 mins but it exceeded more than that

By NATHENIEL Y K

Feb 2, 2021

Easy to follow and understand the course without much difficulty.