Chevron Left
Back to Schizophrenia

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Schizophrenia by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,367 ratings
328 reviews

About the Course

The main goal of this class is to gain an introductory exposure to the nature of the psychiatric disorder known as schizophrenia as revealed by the scientific method. We will discuss a broad range of findings from the scientific investigation of biological and psychological factors related to schizophrenia and its treatment. More specifically we will learn about: (1) key symptomatic features through discussion and enactments of interviews with actors portraying many of the cardinal features of the illness, (2) what brain imaging studies (MRI and fMRI) and neurochemistry have taught us about the neuroscience of the disorder, (3) scientific psychological data and theories concerning cognition, emotion and behavior in schizophrenia, and (4) current, evidence-based somatic and psychosocial approaches to treatment. A brief historical overview of the recent emergence of the psychiatric category of schizophrenia will be presented as well....

Top reviews

EA
May 5, 2021

Given information is very clear and easy to understand.\n\nI really appreciate that it is just the most important parts and not the whole science or odd information.\n\nThank you, I learned so much.

CR
Feb 8, 2021

Information and learning was far more than I expected. The lectures were clear, crisp and the information provided was relevant. I enjoyed the course and learnt quite a lot about the subject matter.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 330 Reviews for Schizophrenia

By Piya G D

Nov 24, 2020

This is a very good course to have basic knowledge about schizophrenia.

By Adam K

Apr 22, 2020

Learnt a lot about Schizophrenia in a very comfortable and fun way.

By Dhinesh G

Sep 10, 2018

Got to know about general idea and its treatment of Schizophrenia.

By Zaryab M

Apr 2, 2019

It is a very extensive course about schizophrenia.

By Supantha R

Jul 29, 2020

It was quite good but could be more interesting

By Florencia R

Dec 16, 2020

Great as an introduction to the subject.

By raja n

Aug 24, 2018

Excellent coverage and great discussions

By Jimenez S D

Aug 29, 2020

Deberia tener subtitulos en mas idiomas

By RAGULA S K

May 29, 2020

I have learned about human behaviour .

By Amisha G

Jun 13, 2021

really nice and knowledgeable course

By Sara N

Dec 31, 2020

Great and thanks for this opportuity

By Coral

Jun 29, 2021

I loved, very interesting and clear

By Wing F C

Aug 8, 2020

Difficult course but worth the time

By Mhd F A C

Aug 7, 2019

Short, entertaining and informative

By Jenn H

May 25, 2020

Very informational and interesting

By Chaitanya J

Jun 26, 2020

good explanation and good course

By Anil T

Aug 5, 2021

Nice subject for wise person.

By Sanjaya C

Mar 25, 2021

Nice overview of Schizophrenia.

By Isil M B

Mar 1, 2018

A great and useful course.

By Alejandro G P

Aug 28, 2018

Very interesting!

By Sobia K

Aug 11, 2019

Wonderful course

By Aman p

Aug 17, 2020

Educational

By Kumari S

Jul 8, 2020

nice

By SUBASHAN A V

May 7, 2020

The style of teaching which involves a lot of didactic information giving by Prof. Matt and very little visual stimulus can get a little repetitive and it's easy to lose focus. I would recommend more visuals, especially when explaining pharmacological treatments of schizophrenia and for CBT, maybe an example of the session can be role-played. I thoroughly enjoyed the role-playing of actors portraying the various types of schizophrenia patients.

By Cierra L

May 10, 2021

This was a basic course that did provide decent background information regarding the history of Schizophrenia, its treatments, etc. Unfortunately, I did not find the course to be an engaging and interesting as I had hope. The professor did a decent job (sometimes the "ums" and "uhs" got a bit redundant and distracting) though I found myself yawning throughout it. Good for the basics though.