Chevron Left
Back to Science of Exercise

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science of Exercise by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
4,279 ratings

About the Course

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Top reviews

MB

Sep 11, 2020

It is a very great course. This course taught me many great things about the human body like how the body responses to exercise and nutrition. What, when, how we should do exercise and take nutrition.

BO

Oct 3, 2020

An exceptionally great course. I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks to the organizers for making these as easy and simple as possible. Now I can live a more healthy lifestyle with the principles learned!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,419 Reviews for Science of Exercise

By Tejas A C

Feb 8, 2021

I would recommend people to take up this course as it tells a lot about your body and health. I am sure I have been immensely benefited from this course, there's no two way about it.

By Sufiyan K

Apr 15, 2021

This is the perfect beginner course if you wish to know the mechanisms of the human body. The instructor is pretty well versed with the concepts. Great job Sir, and Coursera aswell.

By mahek

Aug 23, 2021

A fantastic course consisting of relevant course material in a concise and well-explained manner. If you are interested in exercise science and or nutrition, I recommend trying it.

By Kim B

May 7, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was very educational and very interesting! I learned a great deal and after this I feel encouraged to learn more about exercise and the human body.

By Gautam R

May 19, 2020

This is very good course about exercise and sport science. A must for beginners and for those who all want to get information about this topic and is interested in sports science

By Ebtehal A M

Aug 18, 2019

My words will not be enough to describe how the course was efficient and push my knowledge forward so I highly recommend this course for anyone who interested in sports nutrition.

By Nhan T

Jun 22, 2021

An incredibly-detailed course ! I wasn't expecting to get my eyes opened this up about so many knowledge about science of exercise. Can't wait to put it into my training routine.

By onkar S

Apr 29, 2021

Very well designed course, can motivate the learner to start and maintain exercise routine. As said by Robert Mazzeo - Go out and spread the word about many benefits of exercise.

By Emelina K V

May 15, 2020

It is really great course, that gives you a basic knowlege about sport physiology. Thanks a lot for education, it was accessible even for person who dont speak English very good.

By Marine R

Jun 20, 2019

It was very clear and interesting! Each topics were easy to understand thanks to real life exemples. I'm glad I did the physiology class first tho, it really help with the basics

By Nattanicha T

Jul 14, 2020

The course is great.

It's easy to understand, the graphs, photos are easy to understand.

I recommend to those who want to start to study about sports science or want to review it.

By Abood Z

Jun 25, 2022

I learned a lot about the science of exercise, the dangers of steroids, fighting incurable diseases, and the effect of exercise on the human body. It was a really great session

By Ivanna J G A B

Jun 1, 2020

Curso verdaderamente completo! Ya que te explica todo desde lo más básico a los más complejo; haciendome entender como es la ciencia del ejercicio! Excelente, excelente ponente

By Ruth K

May 28, 2020

I am a law student who is really into fitness which is why I chose to do this course. It helped me so much and I can't wait to share all this information. Thank you, professor!

By Gregory G

Apr 11, 2019

Short and sweet course giving an amazing overview of exercise and the science behind it. Could be useful to anyone that want to learn about the science behind healthier living!

By Karim h m

Sep 9, 2017

great course and so valuable information i hope that professor robert mazzeo make more courses for us so we can learn from his experience in exercise of science more .. thank u

By Prathiksha s

May 27, 2020

It was Beautiful journey in learn science of excercise. I came to know many new things about our body,. This course helped me to understand more about physiology of excercise.

By Andrei C T

May 11, 2020

A great course in general and Excellent for beginners !

Very well structured and in my opinion very well presented.

Thanks for motivating me enough to learn a totally new thing.

By Manawar S

Jun 20, 2021

Truly amazing course. Got to learn so much and I fell everything was absolutely essential for anyone wants to learn of about the basic principles and science behind exercise.

By TAKAHITO H

Feb 17, 2021

I enjoyed learning this course very much. Great all-round course which provides you with fundamental ideas and concepts behind our body functions when we engage in exercises.

By Darshana B

Jan 10, 2021

Excellent course. You can start learning from basics of metabolism to exercise types how they affect your health, how the body adapts and involved principles and mechanisms.

By Eduardo M S M

Aug 14, 2020

Professor sensacional com uma excelente didática e bastante conhecimento passado. Entender a fisiologia do exercício se torna fácil com um excelente profissional lecionando.

By ELENA P

Jul 14, 2022

Thank you for this amazing course. I am so grateful for all this knowledge that will improve not only my life but will help me improve the life of people surrounding me.

By Luis O L W

Aug 6, 2021

Excellent! Really enjoyed taking part of this MOOC. It gets very technical at a certain point, but wrap-ups and explanations are clear and conclusive. Highly recommended.

By Synthia H

Sep 27, 2020

This is a very helpful course. It explained how important is exercise in every day life and it shows all the scientific support. I really enjoyed it and I learned a lot.