Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,440 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,482 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Christos K

Mar 21, 2020

This course was absolutely fantastic. It is very useful for both amateurs and experienced writers. It teaches you how the whole process of writing in the science is. Not only how you write, but also how your mind should be during writing. I recommend it for everyone who wants to participate in the writing of a scientific article

By H

Mar 25, 2018

I learnt a lot from this course. Listening to accomplished editors talk about their experience and how the rules are not as rigid as I was taught they were has helped me improve my writing a lot. I have learnt to let to cut down clutter. I have taken this course and read materials over and over to make sure I imbibe its lessons.

By nogol m

Oct 4, 2021

Writing in the sciences, once my greatest fear has turned into a very pleasant challenge. This has been the best course I could take. In the shortest amount of time, my writing skill has greatly improved, and I have a very better understanding of the publication process. I thank Dr. Kristin Sainani dearly for her great course.

By M

Sep 13, 2022

Learne so much in most efficient way. Instructions were very clear Thanks to our instructor Dr.Kristine Sainani, for the excellent programme who kept the learning process very engaging with simple exercises.

thanks to COURSERA and your team for doing an amazing job helping people like us who want to learn at their own pace.

By Rajul J

Jul 14, 2021

Writing is an essential art which can be mastered! This course aptly proves this line. I am very much thankful to Coursera and Stanford University for bringing up this fanatically organized course. Dr. Kristin Sainani is the best instructor so far, binding you to the core of the writing skills with such enthusiasm. Thank You!

By Brenna S

Dec 4, 2017

This course provides in-depth discussion of every aspect of scientific writing imaginable -- from grammar basics to writing grants, preparing a manuscript for submission to a peer-reviewed journal, and writing letters of recommendation, this course has it all. I will certainly return to materials for refreshers in the future.

By ABDUL H

Apr 14, 2021

It is an excellent course. The practical exrcises and the feed back you receive for assignments make it very engaging and useful. Dr. Kristin Sainani i s a fantastic teacher and deserves a big round of applause. I enjoyed the experience very much. Thanks to the organizers and Stanford University.

Dr. Abdul Haleem

PhD, MSc, BDS

By pankaj k

Aug 29, 2020

A big to thanks Dr. Kristin Sainani. it was wonderful experience for me, I have learned many principle of writing here. It was basic but majority of this skill I lacked, the way Dr. Kristin Sainani delivers the lecture it become very easy and interesting. Similarly the assignments and quiz helped in understanding the concept

By Liliana P M A

May 2, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! It gives students the tools to write in a clear, concise and focused way that they can apply to original articles, reviews, interviews, summaries, etc. The videos are very enthusiastic, compelling and easy to understand. I would surely recommend this course to any of my scientific colleagues.

By Rotem R

Jun 27, 2021

The course was excellent and enriched my writing ability. I was impressed by the wide range of topics that included much more than basic writing skills. The only thing I would suggest updating is the unit on social media, which can address additional platforms as well as how the mentioned platforms are used today (2021).

By Anu D

Aug 3, 2020

This is one of the most informative and educational courses that I have taken so far. I would like to sincerely thank Prof. Kristin Sainani (n e Cobb) for such a comprehensive writing course in such a concise and organized format. I enjoyed the course and plan to use all my learning for writing articles in the sciences.

By Eileen J

Apr 5, 2022

Ever since taking this course, my overall writing has improved (even as I type this post); I now approach my writing in a whole new way. The course has given me the confidence to further develop my social media profiles, improve my job applications, and deliver editing services to my peers. 

Thank you Dr Kristin Sainani.

By Ana O M L

Jun 7, 2019

I am really thankful for the opportunity of being a student in this course. I have no words to say how much I learned and how it will be usefull in my carreer. Everything is great - the material, professor, interviews... I recommend this course for all those who wanna learn how to write better and also improve yourself.

By André P

May 1, 2019

This course is amazing. I would definitely appreciate a statistics or any other course professor Sainani offered in this platform. The themes are very relevant to academic writing in sciences. The logical organization flows naturally. I recommend this to undergraduate/graduate students seeking to improve their writing.

By Rajani P K

Feb 9, 2023

A very very good course.. Thanks a lot to Dr Kristin Sainani for an interesting journey through different aspects of technical writing. Loaded with lots of info & tips. Learners feel more confident .. esp. with the peer reviews. Once again thanks to all team members for the wonderful design and delivery of the course.

By Hicham E

Aug 7, 2020

Hi Stanford team and Coursera team,

I hope you are doing well. I found this course very helpful. I'm a reviewer for scientific articles and I'm planning to a writer medical. Before, I thought that the writing medical is very difficult! But by this, I became able to the initiative for writing medical.

Best regards, Hicham

By yezifangfan

Mar 19, 2019

I think this course is quite useful for beginners, especially those who start to write some scientific papers. Although I had some experiences in writing journal articles, what I learnt from the course really changes most of my ideas in writing, and also recearching. Thanks to all the teachers and the AMAZING COURSERA!

By Anchita B

Nov 15, 2021

This was a really helpful course, it not only enhances your writing skills, but also interaction skills. It teaches a lot about publishing companies, interviews, and how to interact with senior people in the same domain. This course helped me a lot, not only in scientific writing but also writing about other topics.

By Agnieszka S

May 7, 2021

I feel very satisfied after course accomplishement. It completely changed my point of view for writing. Now I believe that writing science text will be more efficient. Kristin Sainani is a great tutor - she provides many tips, examples and talks with experts. She inspired me a lot - I really appretiate her attitude.

By Ilona K

Mar 23, 2022

Very well done Kristin !!! the course gave me a good oversight, practices were great, examples, stories picked up from the latest science and were of various areas. I found them exciting such as the homeworks. I enjoyed each moment of the course. It changed my approach. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

By Ajitha N K

Jan 16, 2021

A very good course which enabled me to gain valuable insights to writing and communicating ideas. Many of the tips given were not at all addressed in the course of my previous studies . So I have got valuable information and was able to practice editing and paraphrasing too. Good work and Best wishes !

By Phương K

Oct 26, 2022

It is a challenging course for a non native english user like me, but the contents are useful and interesting so I got motivation from every lesson. Your interviews with professional people are so good and helpful for me to understand what is happening in the academic world. highly recommended!

thanks a lot!

By Srividya K

Dec 26, 2021

I would like to thank Kristen Sainani for designing and presenting this wonderful course. It has been really valuable for me, as I have just started my freelance career as a science writer. I have learnt many new concepts and gained better understanding of ideas I was already familiar with. Thanks once again.

By Taddele K

Oct 28, 2020

This is wonderful training; the presentation style and the clarity of the concepts are some of the most important quality of this training. The real examples used are very relevant to the topics. This training improved my writing and editing of published articles. Thank you very much for the amazing training.

By Hasan S

Sep 16, 2020

It is the great course, I have done until now. It is a highly recommended course. It let me what scientific writing is. Also how to write introduction, materials and methods, results and discussion. This course will let you practice what you learn. So take this course and recommend it to your friends as well.