Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
5,584 ratings
1,907 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AL
Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

IA
Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,956 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Sheng W

Oct 19, 2021

The contents, presentations and structures of this course are beyond brilliant. Amateur and experts alike can gain constructive understanding about writing in sciences through this cohesive course by Dr. Kristin Sainani.

By wangleiqing@gmail.com

Jul 17, 2021

T​he is a writing class yet it is not only about writing. The suggestion on how to prepare and arrange the content, the correct attitude towards writing ethic and editing impressed me. I am glad that I have completed it.

By Lingzi

Oct 20, 2020

I really really enjoyed this course. I only wish I came across this course earlier in my graduate study years. I will definitely recommend it to any graduate students who are looking for help in writing technical papers.

By Truc T N

Dec 15, 2018

If you are looking for guidance on form-focused writing, take this course. If you want to bring real value to the table by focusing on functionality, check out LEADERSHIP LAB: The Craft of Writing Effectively on YouTube.

By Muhammad B S

Nov 19, 2021

T​he course helps writing more effectively and efficiently. Also helps with general public writing, important things to keep in mind with submission in journals, reviewing, plus gives some discussion with professionals.

By georgias d

Mar 23, 2021

It was a very informative and to the point course. Dr. Kristin Sainani is an an excellent coach and narrator and kept me engaged throughout the course. I rarely say something like this, but I really enjoyed this course!

By ruby m

Sep 13, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and learned a lot too! Great writing tips and concepts, very clearly explained plus many exercises and quizzes so we can practive what we learned right away. Thanks for this excellent course.

By Sabahat A

Jul 5, 2020

Very good Course, I thoroughly enjoyed learning and this has definitely helped me in my writing and understanding of Scientific articles. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani for such detailed videos and interesting lectures.

By Marilena

May 25, 2020

This is a fantastic course to improve your written expression. Dr Sainani is a genius at imparting valuable information about how to write concisely. I thoroughly enjoyed doing the course and would highly recommend it.

By vaishnavi v

Dec 6, 2020

It has been a wonderful learning experience. I have learnt a lot about scientific communication and English writing in general in this course. I am going to apply all of these in my future writings. Thank you so much.

By Mita M B

Oct 11, 2020

I really loved the way Dr.Kristin Sainani ma'am explains everything. Her voice, tone, interpretation everything is nice! Never felt bored in the lessons. She is the best! Course content is also very useful. Thank you.

By deepanshu k

Aug 20, 2020

The course contains everything that is important for writing and understanding a research paper. The interview sessions of different professors was a cherry on the cake. It is a great course and I highly recommend it.

By Sahil S

Jun 30, 2021

Exceptional Course on scientific writing at the global level, no comparisons. Best Course !! Thank You so much Dr. Kristin Sainani, I learnt a lot. Now, this knowledge will stay with me throughout my research career.

By Pamela G

Aug 19, 2020

I enjoyed doing this course. My writing skills have improved and I am able to use these skills in my work. The course was easy to follow, well presented and pitched at an appropriate level for people in the sciences.

By Gilbert G

Apr 13, 2018

I frequently edit manuscripts and grants for my lab. Taking this course elevated my ability to identify poor writing and replace it with quality prose. I would recommend this course - even to native English speakers.

By Sally H

Nov 17, 2020

Very useful course if you want to improve your academic writing. The "live" editing of examples really helped me. The examples are mainly biology/medicine focusses, but as a psychology student I still learned a lot.

By Juliano W S

May 29, 2020

First of all I want to thank you Dr. Kristiani Sainani Madam and Coursera. I thank you for the wonderful classes. It's a great course with a fantastic Professor - that has a clear thinking when speaking and writing.

By Mario M

Jul 8, 2020

Great course! I learned how to write an article spending less time. I also improved my writing skills understanding what a reader loves. I recommend it to eveyone aims to become a researcher/writer in the sciences!

By Rokia A S

Dec 22, 2017

Thank you very much for this valuable course. Dr. Kristin has made my life easier. This course version is updated, useful, and to the point. I am looking forward to more future advanced courses with Dr. Kristin :))

By Dr. M H

Aug 13, 2020

Professor

You are great !

I am enjoying listening to this potential academic course

If you can combine other human fields examples, (e.g., Business, Human and political), that's will be great. Thanks again

Mahmoud

By Daniela R R

Aug 5, 2020

This was a really great course. I enjoyed it very much and appreciated how thorough and complete this course was. I wish I had come across it sooner. Thanks for offering this course and making it freely available!

By David N S

Jul 17, 2020

This course was very useful. I have been writing scientific articles for 8 years now and never had the opportunity to receive well structured training on it! I will recommended it to ANY and ALL graduate students!

By Alagu N

May 15, 2020

This course helped me to think "simple" is the best. Enabled me to reduce the complications in my writing. I'm grateful to the chance through Coursera and to the teacher who engaged the class with full enthusiasm.

By Mohamed R

May 7, 2020

It's a very interesting experience where I learned alot of tips to improve my understanding and to promote my writing skills.

Thank you very much Dr. Kristin Sainanoni for your effort

I highly recommend this course

By Aditi S

Jan 2, 2020

This was an excellent course, giving a wonderful overview of techniques essential for good writing in the sciences. I think people at any stage in their writing career will find something useful to take out of it.