Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
4,413 ratings
1,525 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

SD
Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

KK
Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,527 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Swadhin S

May 25, 2020

The course covers lots of technical aspects of writing manuscript, review, recommendation letter, and science news. The course is very helpful for biological science grad student/postdoc. There are real examples of good and bad writing from Nature/Cell/Science journals. The quizzes at the end of each module are easy—if someone carefully listens to the video. I would highly recommend taking this course.

By Adam R

Jun 8, 2020

As a high school student in South Korea, this course has assisted me in developing the writing skills that I did not have and also helped me to receive grant for my current project!

It is a great course that is so helpful now and I believe it to be even more helpful in the future!

Thanks to Dr. Sainani and many other doctors and professors who have put in their effort to create this WONDERFUL course!

By Fabio M M

Nov 23, 2020

Very complete course, which give an exhaustive overview of all there's to learn about writing in the science, with many practical examples and exercise. Dr. Kristin Sainani is a very competent scientist and writer and very able to communicate the lessons with explanations and humor. She also gives her personal opinion on various aspects of writing, which is good in this case, in my opinion.

By Heder d V

Jan 2, 2019

This course has been an eye-opener. I used to dread writing new, original articles. I could barely bring myself to start. This course has provided me with useful tips and tricks to start writing more effectively. It has also thought me more on the basis of writing, and on some tendencies that exist in academic writing.

Thanks to this course, I now look forward to writing my next manuscript!

By Jorge V

Jul 23, 2018

The course has met all my expectations as it added pertinent information to my knowledge and answered basically all of my questions towards scientific writing style. Kristin Sainani has proven overwhelming qualified as a writing coach, encouraging me to write more confidently and clearly. And last but not least, this course addresses only what is relevant or pretinent to a piece of writing.

By Simone S

Jun 4, 2020

It was a pleasure! A great course I can only recommend.

Very well chosen real-live-examples taken from current research literature.

I was able to deepen my grammar knowledge in English as well as gain experience with writing styles. I have developed a feeling for the linguistic differences between German and English. And I was surprised how precise you can be with a few well-chosen words.

By Ana C d S

Jun 20, 2020

An incredible course! I can’t say enough about how much I’ve learned. It leads you through most types of texts you might find in scientific field in a very simple though complete way. However, I’d recommend it to students - specially graduate - from areas related to Medicine or Biology. Math, Physics or Engineering students might feel a bit bored, althouh they can benefit from it as well.

By Sheetal D

Jun 7, 2020

The teacher is very enthusiastic and has done wonderful job. The difficulty level of the course increases slowly and steadily. I think there can be one more session on news and communication article. Grant writing module is really useful. My only criticism is course gives examples mainly from biological sciences and other sciences are kind of ignored. In all wonderful learning experience.

By Safeena A

Nov 2, 2018

This course has polished the hidden scientific writer inside me. This was a totally new experience, and I am very thankful to Coursera team for offering such skill-polishing courses. The most important thing I learnt from this course is that scientific writing is not always meant to be too hard to understand, we can make our writing very simple and easy to understand. Highly recommended!

By Lluis C B

Aug 30, 2020

I would like to acknowledge Dr. Kristin Sainani for the great initiative of this course, open to the broad scientific audience. Writing in Science is comparable to switch on the lights—everyone assumes light will happen, but the difference when turns to write in science is that most of the time it does not. Here comes the need for more similar courses along the scientist's career path.

By Pedro C S F

Jun 6, 2018

I am happy that this was my first (actually finished) on-line course. I really liked it. It is very well done, very pragmatic and instructive. I found the teacher great - engaging, fun, direct... I liked her a lot. I have started applying some of the learning, I hope the course content will stay on-line because I am sure I will need to revise certain areas as I put them to practice.

By Suping R

Sep 25, 2020

The course gives a thorough training of scientific writing. The course provides a lot of demo editing to help students to understand. Every minute in this online course worths the value. I should have learned this course when I was in graduate school. I recommend this course to anyone who is in the science field. I hope I still can access to the course to review from time to time.

By KAVATI V

Jul 20, 2020

The course is very nicely delivered. The Instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani is very effectively taught this course. I learned how to read a research paper and write its summary. Writing a lay-summary of a scientific paper, writing a scientific news story was really interesting. The quizzes and peer reviewed assignments were awesome. I strongly recommend this course for future learners.

By shazia s

Feb 5, 2021

Kristina Siani is the best course conductor of Coursera, and I take her as my real teacher. The course is excellent, and it has prepared me well for writing quality studies. I am incredibly thankful to the Coursera team, Stanford University, and Madam Kristina Siani for giving me the opportunity of attending such a knowledgeable course with the best delivery I have ever experienced

By Carol R

May 3, 2020

Excellent course! Dr Kristiani Sainani presents in a very pleasant and engaging manner.

25 years in the medical field and I learned much to benefit from this course. Details on approaching and organizing your scientific paper invaluable. Many essential tips. Makes writing for the author and audience more interesting. I know I will refer back to my notes during my doctorate studies.

By Ahmad A D

Sep 16, 2018

I am so pleased and happy. I have no words to describe my feelings. I would say that this course made a breakthrough in my writing knowledge. This course answered too many questions that I have had in my science writing. I have tried to ask many people who are experts in writing in the science field, however, I did not get enough and adequate answers. Thank you so much Dr. Sainani.

By Eric B

Mar 29, 2020

This is an amazing course! I am a researcher, and I intend to make it mandatory for all the grad students who come into my lab - everyone should take this course at the beginning of their graduate degree. Some small topics are missing: 1. Reporting Guidelines (equator-network.org) - key in writing papers. 2. Describing statistical analyses. But, in general this course is an A++!

By Faride U F

Jun 29, 2020

Me gustó mucho este curso puesto que tenía todos los requerimientos que yo quería para mejorar la parte de escritura de textos científicos. Creo que viene detallado conforme a áreas y eso también me agradó mucho. El único pero que le pongo es la calificación por compañeros, puesto que varias tareas no fueron revisadas por nadie y eso no me permitió mostrar el curso como concluido

By Maureen B

Mar 20, 2020

The instructor was very knowledgeable; she provided many opportunities to apply the skills we learned. The skills and knowledge I learned are applicable to what I want to do and I believe my writing has improved as a result. I also review other people's work, and this course helps me in that regard as well. I recommend it and I will definitely sign up for another Coursera course.

By Pierre O

Jan 24, 2019

Despite targeting medical students (and being an outsider– I am an ecologist), the course is well explained and gave me many tips in the different fields that touch scientific writing: writing research papers, grant applications and popular summaries.Totally recommend 200%.

N.B. The teacher is awesome and an amazing communicator. The mentors are awesome too and give great advises.

By Francisco L L

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent tips for writing and structuring your work. Some parts (examples) are focused on specific research (medicine, biology, ...) and the vocabulary can be found difficult to read, nevertheless it does not affect in any way how the course is taught or assessed.

I am a Phd candidate and I feel it was the right choice to take this course to improve my scientific writing skills.

By Rashika T

Jul 8, 2020

The course has given me more than I could've asked for. It's been an amazing journey of 8 weeks. Writing couldn't have been more fun. I loved the assignments, peer review, interviews, panel discussion and guest lectures. All aspects of teaching and learning has been touched in this course and thus it stands apart from the rest. Thanking the team for this wonderful experience.

By Janelle R

Aug 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! I have dyslexia so it's always been hard for me to write, especially when I started writing scientific papers. This course gave me a great blueprint of how to go about it, what the education system didn't teach you, and other tips to enhance your writing. I definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their writing abilities.

By Nidhi S

Mar 19, 2018

I have loved this course so much. The instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani designed it so well and covered all the required topics in this course. It was very easy to understand. I have stopped one of my research paper writing so that I could write it, one I complete. I am very happy that I registered for this and completed it. I will recommend it to my students and colleagues.

By Natalia L U

Aug 16, 2020

Disfruté mucho hacer el curso "Writing in the Sciences". Los contenidos no tienen desperdicio y la exigencia es acorde a un nivel universitario. Kristin Sainani, docente a cargo, es muy didáctica y contagia el amor por su profesión. Mi única crítica es que al ser sólo videos, las clases se vuelven un poco tediosas, quizá pondría algunos contenidos en materiales escritos.