Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
5,398 ratings
1,851 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA
Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

AL
Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filter by:

1851 - 1875 of 1,897 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Mohamed S

Nov 28, 2017

It was very nice and easy. I think you may review some videos as the sound doesn't go wit the pic.

Thank you

By M K

Nov 29, 2018

Wonderful course. I enjoy the personality/humor of the professor. Reasonably difficult and fascinating.

By Julia P

Feb 18, 2018

The first few weeks are useful for not just scientific writers but also anyone who wants to write more

By Yevheniya D

Jun 9, 2021

I felt like the last chapters were not so relevant for the course, but overall It was very good!

By Tara S

Dec 3, 2019

Great in-depth review and explanation of writing in the sciences. This will be beneficial for my

By Ayush S

Apr 15, 2018

Could have been better if the instructor would have shared examples from other disciplines.

By Gitanjali V

Oct 12, 2018

Very sensible and practical. Esp the one on writing for lay audiences. Love the Nut Graf!

By himanshu r

Jul 19, 2021

very nice course for people who just started writing manuscripts and grant applications

By Sameh M A

Feb 7, 2021

good, but need to be more comprehensive and more professional editing skills than that.

By Nadia O

Jun 19, 2020

Really interesting course for every PhD student to write his first scientific article.

By Nancy A

Aug 12, 2019

There was a lot of helpful information that pertains to more than scientific writing.

By Avery B

Jul 25, 2020

I learned some helpful tips for writing and was able to practice my writing skills.

By Saurabh A

May 13, 2018

Wonderful! Helped a lot in understanding the way of writing a scientific article.

By Abdel H K

Oct 12, 2020

there is some long video until 30min it make sometime the learner getting bored

By Hieu V

Oct 6, 2019

This course provided me a lot of knowledge in writing a scientific papers!

By Vera D

Oct 20, 2020

This course is very useful to learn tips for better writing in English.

By Nabiel I

Jul 15, 2020

a bit too many not-really-necessary interviews, but overall very good.

By Niall J

Jun 21, 2020

Very valuable insights into the principles of good scientific writing.

By Juan M P

Feb 8, 2019

Great course! A bit lengthy, but incredibly useful for most academics.

By vikas y

Nov 2, 2020

This is amazing course and it has improved my writing skills. Cheers

By M. B

May 2, 2018

A very nice course...wouldn't mind recommending this to a peer.

By Chinmayi C

Feb 16, 2020

Being a pharmacy student ,this course was very useful for me.

By Sara H

Jan 7, 2019

Great course for beginners to learn scientific writing!

By Kashmira

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course to hone your science writing skills.

By Joshua K B

Jun 1, 2018

Great course! Needs a 2 course with more practicum!