Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,512 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 2,512 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Gabriel O

Mar 31, 2022

This course is a great tool for anyone trying to improve his/her writing. English is my second language and this course has helped me spot my mistakes and organize my writing process. Thanks to the instructor and all the people involved in producing this content.

By Maryam F

Jan 25, 2023

A must have course if you want a long run in your life, in sciences. Very helpful in making your writing less tedious and more understandable.By these techniques we can together make science easy to communicate with lay audience and make a revolution in a bulk

By Aldo G

Nov 4, 2021

I think this is a course that lets you see how scientific articles are made and published, but also gives you tips and tricks to make a text more understandable and easy to read. I would definitely recommend this to any person interested in scientific publishing

By Utkarsha S

Apr 21, 2021

The course was comprehensive with equal weightage given to the use of language and the manner of writing. This course explores manuscript, review and grant writing, as well as writing recommendations. I would recommend this course to all those who are in science.

By Kartik S

Sep 2, 2020

This course upscaled the conventional ways of gaining a quality education under the strong mentorship of a brilliant instructor. I recommend this course to those who find professional writing, challenging but are determined to re-work on their foundation. Cheers!

By Ziva A

Jun 26, 2020

Great course for writing in the sciences. This course does a great job of covering scientific writing for journal publications and beyond. Great presentations and great content! The forums are also very helpful for more helpful links and great ideas from peers.

By Midnite K T

May 24, 2021

A wonderful breakdown of how to get started writing and/or write better. I'm heading back to grad school this fall after completing my undergrad over 10 years ago. This course really helped me feel more prepared to get back into reading and writing academically!

By Sridhar B

Jul 30, 2020

This was my first online course ever and perhaps it will be one I enjoyed most. Dr. Kristin Sainani is a great teacher. Her lectures have created deep impact in my thought process. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn how to write science.

By Bo P

May 29, 2019

This course was fantastic. As a new entrant to the sciences and after struggling for a while with the switch from creative to scientific writing, this course was perfect. I would highly recommend this for everyone from undergrad to PhD and everything in between.

By Sahan P

Jan 14, 2023

I had a lot of trouble in writing. But this course increased my writing skills in a short time.

Instructor is excellent in describing things. Her voice is very clear, correct phase & right content.

Perhaps the best course I have done online.

Highly recommended.

By Ana R A

Aug 23, 2021

Enjoyed every part of it! This course is extremely helpul for young investigators or recent graduate that are about to start the daunting task of writing a scientific article. For non-native speakers, it does requiere a good level of English but it is worth it.

By Katon K

Dec 12, 2018

This course can make any writer improve their writing. I enjoyed the edit demonstrations with the downloadable text samples. The exercises prepare you for the quiz and the peer-review assignments provide quality feedback. Overall tremendous learning experience.

By IGOR P

Mar 24, 2021

Excellent course, for beginners who need introduction to science, recent PhD's who need to develop some real life science skills, and even for seniors who need to revise some methods and improve skills in writing whether for science community or lay audience.

By Antonia P

Mar 2, 2021

This course was extremely helpful. Since I have prior experience writing manuscripts and grant proposals, my reason for taking this course was to improve my editing skills and streamline my writing process. Dr. Sainani most certainly helped me achieve that!

By malak b

Jan 28, 2021

I have enjoyed this course, and I got a lot of information that is so important in writing in the sciences, although I'm not an English native speaker, but I understood almost every thing in this course. thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani, you are a great teacher.

By Deanna C

Mar 7, 2022

A fantastic course with plenty of extremely useful tips and tricks about how to prepare, structure, write, publish, and talk about scientific literature. The skills and knowledge gained from this course can be extended into writing for other subjets as well.

By EM

Jan 20, 2022

This course provides a good overview of writing in the Sciences from writing reports, to personal statements to reference letters. It teaches you the easiest way to approach writing difficult papers while providing a guideline for clear and concise writing.

By Ivan M M

Jul 7, 2020

A fresh and inspiring course that unveils a clearer approach to the way that science can be communicated, from writing papers and reviews to scientific articles for the general public; quite catchy for everyone that enjoys science, communication and writing.

By Sukrut K

Jun 1, 2020

This is one of the best courses available. It goes through the basics of scientific writing, writing grants, lay audience science stories, to preparing for interviews. Balanced weekly materials make the 8 weeks journey very pleasant. I strongly recommend it.

By Oskernel R

Oct 27, 2018

This course provides applicable and easy-to-follow guidance on writing and communication in general.

Dr. Kristin Sainani is a humorous and methodical instructor who can explain things inside out, taking the big pictures and the nitty-gritty both into account.

By Monika T

Jan 14, 2022

Dr. Sainani broke down the gist of writing in the science field to the T: grammar, ethics, various writings in the sciences and even insights from experts. Anybody, even if they aren't in the science field, can benefit from this course. Highly recommended!

By Tanmay N

Jul 3, 2021

As a young researcher (PhD student) the course was very helpful. Kristin was very good at conveying the key points across. I would say every PhD student should take this course if he or she has not got a chance to have something similar at their university.

By Helena C

Dec 7, 2020

It was a great course, Kristin Sainani is an amazing teacher and writer. The classes are very interesting and profitable. From now on, I will read articles with a critical view. I'm sure this course will help me a lot when I write my first scientific paper.

By Nisha T P

Nov 13, 2020

A well-crafted course and excellent course for research scholars. Very methodological, easy to understand modules. Thoroughly enjoyed doing the assignments. It sure enhances your confidence in research writing. Thanks to Dr Kristin and her team at Stanford.

By Roshan V

Aug 6, 2020

Loved this course! I learned so much more than i thought i would. i had lots of fun doing the assignments. Every single module was exciting and interesting. Excellent tips by the instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani. Looking forward to many such courses by her.