Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,539 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AG

Jan 11, 2023

The best course I attain in Coursera. I struggled a lot to write my first manuscript and it took a lot of time. This course is beneficial for all scientific students. I highly recommended this course.

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 2,516 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By JJ

Oct 14, 2022

I wish I had taken this course when I first started grad school! It breaks down the principles of good, clear writing and makes it accessible to the learner. I will definitely be applying the information I learned from this course in the future.

By Morgan M

Jun 28, 2022

A former student of the Iowa writing program, I can honestly say this instructor's skills, knowledge, energy, and personality makes her among the finest writing teachers I have ever had. An outstanding course taught by an outstanding professional.

By João T V

Jul 2, 2021

The course is excellent. I learned a lot of techniques to write more efficiently and more clearly.

The teacher, Dr. Kristin Sainani, is an amazing communicator and prepared a great course.

I especially enjoyed the demo edits, at the end of each week.

By Christian K

Mar 21, 2021

I learned a lot about writing. Most interestingly, I realized, that actually scientific writing is all about regular good writing. But Dr. Sainani boiled it down to very basic and helpful principles! I am very well prepared to start writing my PhD.

By Yazan A

Mar 2, 2021

I really enjoyed taking this course and consider the information I learned to be valuable for my writing skills. The videos by Dr. Kristin Sainani were enjoyable, easy to understand, and very informative. I hope to find other courses taught by her!

By Makiko T

Dec 15, 2020

This is an excellent, practical course for anyone who writes. I would recommend it to all my colleagues. I also appreciated the amount of course work, it was enough to get practice but not overwhelming that it impedes with your daily work schedule.

By Serhii B

Mar 9, 2020

"Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn" - the approach Dr.

Kristin Sainani

chose in her "Writing in Sciences" course.

I cannot fully express how valuable is the knowledge I gained for my scientific career.

Thank you!

By Richard D V

Apr 17, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken through Coursera. Learned a lot of things in scientific writing and editing my journals and manuscripts in class. Thanks Coursera and Stanford University for this great learning. More power and God bless.

By Federica M

Jan 30, 2018

Kristine is a great teacher and an awesome editor! I love her style in taking you through the main foundation of scientific writing. I also appreciated her commitment in supporting and maintaining a high level of ethics in the scientific community

By Jack L M

Dec 6, 2022

I enjoyed this course; it was easy to understand. In addition, this course helped me correct my writing and improve my writing skills. As a result, I better understand how to organize and structure my reports and provide constructive peer reviews.

By Nguyen T P T

Mar 28, 2022

Thank you so much for the course! Though I'm not a scientist, I've learnt a lot about punctuation, prewriting, writing, and editing. I'm reading the book The elements of style (recommended in the course); it is such an eye opener. Thank you again!

By Janice S

Mar 1, 2022

This is an excellent course about all kinds of scientific writing you may encounter in your scientific career. I loved the many exercises deepening your understanding of the methods taught and the tips given for writing and reviewing manuscripts.

By Juli S

May 17, 2021

This is a great course! The first few weeks have a lot of grammar, but the second half of the course is full of wonderful information that helped me start my business as a freelance science writer. Thank you Dr. Sainani & Coursera! You are great!

By Putri A

Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoy this course and gain so much insight to improve my writings! Though my experience in this field is still lacking, but I'm looking forward to fathom science writings in the near future. Thank you so much for the lecture, Dr. Kristin!

By Amitava D

Aug 23, 2020

Course is well designed. So many requirements of writing skill has been explained and demonstrated. Actual recorded interview of the guide level professors has been shown.

I am benefited through this course.

Thanks to Coursera & Stanford University.

By Atif S

Dec 16, 2021

One of the great course to understand the technical writing, how to write different technical papers and research thesis. Instructor guide different technical material very efficiently and in a good way. Thank you so much for such a great course.

By Mary L M P

Dec 6, 2021

Excellent course. Dr Sainani is a fantastic mentor, organized and clear, and she tackles all the relevant points in the academic writing process. I enjoyed it a lot, and I think this course might help many of us be more effective science writers.

By Nair T O A

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent! I love it! I have written several papers but I was never confident or satisfied with my writing. I am sure I will do better next time thanks to this course. The best thing about it is the teacher! She keeps you entertained and engaged!

By Aamir H

Oct 3, 2022

This course was an absolute surprise for me, and I have gained a lot of knowledge regarding Scientific writing. I will encourage all the scientific writers out there, old or new, to must take this course to learn the essence of science writing.

By Karla M R

Jun 2, 2020

I'm a college student and despite having taken several academic writing courses before, none of them compare to this one since it is specifically tailored for the Sciences. It really is a must-take if you plan to become a professional scientist.

By Solveig C V

May 30, 2020

Dr. Sainani's course "Writing in the Sciences" is a pleasure. The materials are organised and clear, Dr. Sainani speaks clearly and slowly, and the assignments are interesting. I learned so much about writing; the process, structure and wording.

By Jingbo H

Apr 20, 2018

very good course for English writing beginners! easy to understand, lots of tips and examples.

the teaching style is perfect.

the voice of the teacher is beautiful.

I strongly advise you to choose this course to improve you English writing skills.

By Rina M

Jan 12, 2023

The course consists great materials. During my study in the course, I have improved my skills related writing a science report. Moreover, it also share guideline to write other important documents, such as personal statement and academic review

By T P

Nov 25, 2022

It was very thorough but I think it could be split into at least two courses. There were a ton of different topics and the lectures were longer than other courses lectures I have taken.

I learned a lot and the instructor was very knowledgeable.

By İlke G

Oct 11, 2021

Dr. Kristin Sainani changed my view on scientific writing. Now, my writing is more interesting and I know where to pay attention. I highly recommend anyone in science to take this course. I wish I discovered it years ago. Thank you Dr. Sainani.