Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
6,582 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 2,254 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Cindy L

Aug 16, 2018

While taking this class, I immediately noticed a difference in the quality of my writing. Even if you don't write papers on hard sciences (I study archaeology) the concepts still apply.

By Afnan B

Feb 25, 2018

Every person who intends to join scientific world must take this course. Course content is very well designed and explained. This course has made an impact on the way I think and write.

By Душина Ю С

Nov 7, 2021

This is an amazing course! The teacher explains everything in great detail and clearly. In this course, I gained invaluable skills that will be useful to me in my work as a journalist.

By Katherine A C

Jun 4, 2020

This is a gem of a course! You will learn a ton, even if you thought you were already a great writer. Worth all the effort; I intend to refer back to my notes as a writing reference.

By Mukunthan K

Apr 16, 2020

This course helped me to overcome my fear of writing; with interactive examples the instructor made this course very comprehensive. It completely changed my view on scientific writing.

By Pedro L M R

Mar 21, 2018

The best scientific writing course I've ever done! Congratulations to the instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani, Stanford University and Coursera for making this quality available. Thank you!

By Janina E B

Aug 7, 2021

I love how insightful this course was and the learning experience has been motivating. I definitely learned a lot. I'm looking forward to applying my learning for my future endeavors.

By Morgan H

Aug 24, 2020

This course not only taught me good writing practices in an array of applications, but has made me more aware of my own writing style and tendencies in order to make positive changes.

By Jonathan K

Jun 22, 2020

It was a helpful course towards improving one's ability to communicate. The lessons helped me with improving my structure, interpretations, and perspective towards writing. Thank you!

By Helen

Nov 9, 2021

I have learned useful technique and received invaluable knowledge from writing in the Sciences course. Many thanks Stanford University for letting students to learn through Coursera.

By Narges M

Sep 24, 2021

This course really helped me learn a lot of new things, which make writing more efficient and enjoyable. It also helped me organize what I already knew and have a better perspective.

By Mathew Q

Mar 13, 2021

I'm glad I took this course because it refined my writing skills. I am now more careful with my word choice and sentence structure, and I spend more time prewriting than ever before.

By Maria

Jun 25, 2020

I am very grateful to Dr. Kristin Sainani and to the Coursera team. It was a great opportunity. The knowledge I received at the course would be very helpful in many areas of my life!

By Carol R

Jul 12, 2019

Don't be fooled by the course being classified as a beginner level course. There is plenty of knowledge in this that you're likely to hone more than a skill or two. Excellent course.

By Cara H

Jul 8, 2018

I have really enjoyed this course. As someone who is about to embark on my MSc Kinesiology, I found it very useful. Reviewing this course a second time would be very helpful as well.

By Jorge B

Jun 21, 2022

A​n amazing and complete course on how to write and communicate science, both for academia and for the general audience. It is also simple and intuitive. A must for every scientist.

By Sushmita K

Aug 31, 2021

This course has been greatly beneficial in my career upliftment as well as in copy editing tasks. I loved the way Dr. Kristin Sainani had explained each topic with several examples.

By Joshua P D

Jul 30, 2021

Taking up the course was essential in the transformation of my research writing. All the videos are interesting and informative. Thank you Stanford for providing such useful courses

By Tamara A

Jul 12, 2021

Her lectures were informative, and her examples were fun and interesting. I learned a lot, especially from the optional videos where I could watch her edit a paper and follow along.

By Ana E

Sep 14, 2020

Excellent course! The classes are clear, easy to follow (even if English is your second language) and have many useful tips! I recommend this course to everyone that is in academia.

By Mohamed Z S

Apr 16, 2020

This course was really useful to me, I learned so much, I like to thank our mentor Dr Kristin for her time, efforts ,and information and I hope to learn more from her in the future.

By Ammar I

Apr 14, 2020

If you have many fundamental questions on how to write for sciences, this course will certainly address most of them. The lecturer provide tons of valuable tips. Highly recommended!

By Silvana G A

Nov 17, 2021

Es un curso muy bueno, la instructora es muy clara y la materia esta muy bien dividida. Da las herramientas para mejorar la escritura y hacer que sea más entendible para el lector.

By Bhaavana M

May 13, 2021

This course helped me realize that I could love writing science just as much as I love doing science. Dr. Sainani made it so much easier to decipher scientific research papers too!

By Maria F S C

May 4, 2020

Really liked this course. I found practical tips to improve my scientific writing skills and I think it allowed me to explore other types of scientific writing besides manuscripts.