Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,542 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 2,517 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Vikram C J

May 18, 2020

An excellent course! Dr. Kristin is the teacher you wish you had in your institution. The course has a perfect structure that inculcates the writing principles in you without you even knowing it.

By Pooja S

Dec 20, 2019

This is one of the wonderful course on Writing that I came across. I highly recommend this course to people who are interested in making their career in writing or prospective doctorate students.

By Ahmad M

Mar 19, 2023

This is an essential step that you must take before your beginning with scientific writing. With every assignment I finish, my confidence in my scientific writing increases. It's a great course.

By Yikanee S

Aug 21, 2020

Great information. I've had trouble with active writing since High School and this class clarified that issue. The last couple weeks are also motivating for writing for journals and grants. =)

By Barend K

Mar 5, 2020

Great course. especially the first few weeks are spot-on. Just all the writing tips I wish I'd gotten years ago. The second halve, for me (management science, not medical), isn't too applicable.

By U.R.P R

Aug 8, 2021

Of course. I'm really proud to say you all that I could be getting lots of things about how to write, communicate and improve my academic writing skills from following this course. Thank a lot.

By Bhavisha D

Jun 30, 2020

It helped me learn a lot. Christin maam has explained all the pointers very well for good writing. It helped me improve a lot. I am really thankful to Christin maam and coursera for this course

By Jonatan Z B P

Jun 30, 2020

A great course to help you relax and shave off pressure when writing scientific articles. It contains many great tips and ideas to write more efficiently and in a way that will attract readers.

By Dr. N V

May 18, 2020

It was a great experience for me as it helped me to learn the skill of writing a scientific paper. The way Dr. Kristin explained the methods and presented the points of writing was spectacular.

By Elisabetta F

Dec 15, 2019

I'm an Italian Pharmacist and Medical Writer, so the subtitles have been very useful. I learned useful information about writing in the sciences, searching data and exposing results. Thank you!

By Aditi V

Dec 1, 2019

This is a fantastic course for people at any level of their science carrier. The knowledge I have gained here will help me in every writing foray - from grants to personal essays to blog posts.

By Jum'atil F

Apr 3, 2018

I started this course several years ago and stop. Two weeks ago I started again this course and I could finished it in two weeks. I found this course very helpful in improving my writing skill.

By Hung N Y

Oct 19, 2022

This course really throws some light on the little things we often take for granted when it comes to everyday and scientific writing. It's helped build my confidence in my writing skills too!

By JESSIELINA A

Aug 7, 2021

This course has helped me to develop the skills of writing, where to use jargon, how to write research article. How to write journals in an interesting way to increase the interest of readers.

By 尹 勇

Aug 23, 2020

this is the best course I've learned on the web and Dr. Kristin Sainani is a brilliant tutor I've ever seen. Thanks a lot, I will conclude my notes and improve my science writing step by step.

By Luz E S R

Oct 29, 2018

It is an excellent course. It has straightforward and useful tips to write in science. It is a helpful course for beginners and also for those with a little experience. I highly recommend it.

By Cheryl H

Dec 26, 2017

The professor was very good, personable, and rarely boring. The course covered a lot of area for editors, writers, scientists, and others who find themselves writing/editing technical papers.

By Adam S

Nov 19, 2022

Course was very informative and helped me a lot with my science writing even after years of experience. Recommend for anyone just starting with science writing or those who are experienced.

By Zuzana S

Jun 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It provided lots of insights into writing process not only for scientists. I gained a lot of knowledge and tips to be a more effective writer. Thank you so much.

By Bhargavi R

Oct 3, 2021

Everything was crystal clear after each module, the homework exercises really improved my writing and grammar. Dr. Sainini provided excellent advice on how to make an article look engaging.

By Sonika B

Jun 16, 2020

Exceptional Course! Learnt step by step writing of the sciences ranging from a research paper,a review article to science news stories .The inputs given must have taken years to assimilate.

By Viktoriia V

Jan 17, 2020

This course allowed me to understand my abilities. Thanks to the wide scope of topics, I was able to understand that I was dreaming of becoming an editor of a scientific journal. Thank you!

By mahsa t

Mar 30, 2021

I feel like writing is much easier for me now. I wish to thank the dear teacher of this course with her joyful voice and permanent encourage us to moving forward and not afraid of writing!

By Eniola T

Mar 15, 2021

This course helped me to learn from the basics how to approach writing in the sciences and I found that I feel more confident when it comes to writing and understanding scientific writing.

By Isadora A

Oct 23, 2020

This course is amazing! In only 8 weeks I've learned not only how to write better, but also how to make the process less painful. Thanks Dr. Kristin and Coursera for this wonderful course.