Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,539 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AG

Jan 11, 2023

The best course I attain in Coursera. I struggled a lot to write my first manuscript and it took a lot of time. This course is beneficial for all scientific students. I highly recommended this course.

SD

Feb 25, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 2,516 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Muhammad T R

Apr 3, 2020

Kristin Sainani is a wonderful teacher. Her way of teaching is very interactive and learning environment . I wanna thanks to all the Coursera team who is managing all this for us.

By Courtney H

Aug 30, 2018

This course drastically changed my writing and convinced me that I don't have to use awkward science writing conventions (like the passive voice and jargon) to be taken seriously.

By Angela M A F

Sep 10, 2020

Excellent course! thank you very much for the dedication you put on preparing clases and giving us tips for writing in sciences. I will apply everything I learned in this course

By Hala J

Aug 31, 2020

This course was an introduction for me to the whole writing/ editing world, and I certainly learned a lot! Very much recommended, even if you have absolutely no prior experience.

By Kristen H

Aug 19, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. It made me rethink the way I write when it is from a scientific perspective and I believe it will serve me well moving forward into graduate school.

By Kathleen C

May 30, 2020

I loved this course! Dr. Sainani provides tangible tips and relevant insights for successful scientific writing. I look forward to applying these lessons to my upcoming projects.

By Ragaseema V M

May 12, 2020

Excellent course, and instructor. This course helped me a lot to understand different aspects of science writing. Moreover my interest in the topic is jumped up after the course.

By Anne-laure B

Aug 31, 2018

A very good class about writing in the academic department, great videos, great tips, great and tough exercises. Highly recommended for whom want to improve their way of writing.

By Gail C

Jul 2, 2018

This was a great course. The instructor was excellent and the content she covered was interesting. The information in this course will help me with my writing and editing skills.

By Sathya

May 13, 2021

Hi there!

This course is essential to everyone, particularly to students, writers, and researchers. I am glad that I had the privilege to learn this course. I thank the teachers.

By Lorcan M

Aug 17, 2020

Found this Course incredibly helpful,I am returning to University after some time working in a lab and this course helped sooth my anxiety about both reading and writing papers.

By Florence M

Aug 1, 2020

I would recommend this course for anyone writing any scientific literature. It has reduced my fear of writing. I will continue applying the methods I have learnt in this course.

By Union C N

Aug 10, 2022

I highly recommend this course; it's very detailed and concise. I learnt a lot, and can confidently say my writing has greatly improved. Thank you very much to all the tutors!

By Surbhi S

Jun 11, 2022

Loved it! Thank you so very much! I am starting a new job and this was everything that I needed to know in advance to make a good impression! Special thanks to you, coach!!!!!!

By Belen H

Nov 29, 2021

Dr. Kristin Sainani is the most outstanding professor in English I had ever had. Thanks for the great tips and knowledge you share with the ones do not have this opportunities!

By Ahmed S

Dec 3, 2019

Great course. It explained everything succinctly, with examples and demonstrations, as well as a lot of practice, which really helped ingrain the important concepts throughout.

By Kavita P

Oct 25, 2018

The course was very good. The content, presentations, and assignments were well designed and delivered. I am happy to complete this course with honors. Thank you Dr. Kristin :)

By Vishant T

Aug 11, 2022

It was a great informative class that was required by my institution for my graudate studies. I highly recommend students (undergraduate/graduate students) to take this class.

By Sneha D

Oct 20, 2021

There is so much to learn from this course. The course is very well planned and explained. It also includes interviews with people from the field which makes it more engaging.

By suresh t

May 22, 2021

I t was a very helpful course for me. Now i am able to formulate my sentences in much more cohesive and easy to read manner.

I thank the instructor for well planned course work

By Ammaz

Nov 27, 2020

Amazingly outlined and very well-designed. Was refreshing to see that even gifted writers can make mistakes. Was very motivated after that to focus on my writing after that :)

By Karishma M

Oct 26, 2020

It was a great learning experience, this course not only taught me how to write the scientific papers but also taught me how NOT to write. Thanks to professor Kristin Sainani.

By Saqib H

May 17, 2020

It was an excellent course, I wish I could have came across this course earlier, anyways better late than never,it has helped me to develop my writing skills immensely. Thanks

By Thais F

Jan 7, 2020

El curso está muy bien organizado y la docente tiene amplio dominio del tema y sus explicaciones son claras y objetivas. Los ejercicios ayudan mucho a la comprensión del tema.

By Ghislaine C

Sep 20, 2019

A great class

I learnt a lot, so much more than I thought I would. This course will help me not only in my scientific writing, but for all my communications. Thank you so much!