Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
6,403 ratings
2,138 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 2,196 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Vinitha R P

Mar 21, 2020

Very good course. Informative and hands on. The activities given were thought triggering. Good luck. I hope many more scholars benefit from this course.

By Maya J

Oct 18, 2017

Great explanations and lots of good editing practice. A lot of online english classes don’t work for me, but I finally found this one that really does!

By Parimita V

Aug 4, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It helped me improve my editing skills and also made me write more creatively to make the content look more appealing.

By Sankara N D

Aug 15, 2020

I recommend this course to all graduate students who are pursuing PhDs. You get wonderful writing skills that help you while writing research articles.

By Gerardo M

Aug 3, 2020

Add more questions during the videos from the modules. It makes students pay more attention and also gives a welcomed pause to all the new information.

By Joana R

Aug 22, 2018

Great course! Found it entertaining and very useful! Got a lot of guidelines and tips that I will definetively use in the future! Highly recomended! :)

By essma r s

Dec 2, 2017

This is an Excellent course for students , researchers and for anyone who is working in science, Thank you very much to the Instructor for her efforts!

By Anushesh D

Feb 10, 2022

Thank you Dr Kristin Sainani for a wonderful course design. The course will definitely help a lot of students with their paper editing and submission.

By Ashfaque A K

Jul 20, 2021

T​his writing course helped me to understand and notice the secretes of scientific writing. I suggest this course who are in biological science field.

By Heidi A T

May 9, 2021

Very helpful. I learned how to actually write, and the process and steps to do so. I cannot wait to use the new skills that I have to write something!

By Jackie H

Jan 10, 2021

Only complaint: I love Donald Trump and you were critical of him. Kinda wish this would have been left out of the course; otherwise, loved the course!

By Andro S

Nov 13, 2020

The course is very informative and hands-on. I learned so much writing practices from this course and I highly recommend that all students to take it.

By Isabel S

Oct 12, 2020

Some material is review, but overall this course was useful in reinforcing how we should be writing and giving us the tools and examples to get there.

By Rodrigo L V

Jan 16, 2019

Great course! You do not only learn how to write, edit, and review in science, but you also get immersed in the world of the communication of science.

By Tom R M M

Jul 11, 2018

As an immigrant, this is the best way to study and I recommend it to all. Find time and improve on your education qualifications. This is the gateway.

By Jessa I

Apr 10, 2018

This course really broadened my perspective in writing in the sciences. It also taught me a lot of principles that will help me for my thesis writing.

By Ibrahim L

Mar 13, 2022

This course has changed my writing style. I am now writing with confidence, conciseness, and clarity. Thank you, Dr Cobb, for doing an excellent job.

By fahad a

Feb 19, 2022

I​t was a great and comprehensive course to learn many things about academic writing. Thank you very much for this free course, it is really helpful.

By i212315 M U A

Dec 16, 2021

It is one of foundation course if you want excel your writing skills it will help you take from basic to professional in writing .Highly recommended.

By Blessing T

Jul 15, 2020

This is an excellent and valuable course with a brilliant and highly experienced tutor. Even non-scientists should gain innumerably from the content.

By Irish E A

Jun 9, 2020

Dr. Sainini is an excellent lecturer! I learned a lot and the course offered me new tips that I can surely apply in my current postgraduate research.

By Philemon U

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent course! Thank you Dr. Sainani. This course should be in the curriculum for scientific postgraduate/graduate study programs in universities.

By Tejaswini A

Apr 19, 2021

Best course!

This course has helped me write and edit Statement of Interest, which I had to submit to different colleges while applying for admission

By Prachi M

May 31, 2020

Very nice course. Great increase in my knowledge about scientific writing. Nice writing techniques explain very well. I really liked the demo edits.

By Xin J

May 26, 2020

This course is very helpful, especially the first three modules. It would be more useful if I had the chance to take this course in graduate school.