Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,418 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 2,475 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Marcelo S M

Jul 15, 2020

Curso muito bom! Os exercícios me ajudaram bastante a melhorar minha redação, principalmente minha redação em inglês ficou muito melhor.

By Matiushenko S

Apr 23, 2019

The course was very informative and useful. It helped to develop my writing and editing skills. Highly recommended. Thank you very much!

By Adriana

Apr 13, 2018

This course has improved my way of organise and write my papers. It is really easy to follow and practical. I will highly recommend it!!

By Serafín S F P

Feb 17, 2021

Learning to write is more complex than it looks like. Thanks to Dr. Kristin Sainani we can improve this ability so crucial in sciences.

By Ian L B M

Aug 17, 2020

Simply amazing. I learned so much from Dr. Sainani in those short 8 weeks. I feel more confident in my writing now than when I started.

By Ting C L

Jul 19, 2020

I am a resident doctor and this course is particularly helpful for doctors pursuing a research career! Love it and highly recommend it!

By Christy M

Jun 16, 2020

Great course for young scientists! The course taught me on how to write effectively, how to start writing, and how to get it published.

By Kristine C

May 29, 2020

Great course for those who have difficulty writing scientific manuscripts. I learned a lot in this course and enjoyed at the same time!

By Hritika

Sep 27, 2019

Really very helpful course!! I am glad I took the course! It has immensely helped me in putting my thoughts forward in a better manner!

By Tsinatkeab T H

Jun 17, 2018

It was such an amazing course and I learned a lot. I particularly enjoyed how clear the presentations were and all the cool interviews.

By Pablo C

Mar 19, 2018

Thank you very much to Dr. Sainani and collaborators for this great course about the science writing process and style. Really helpful.

By Monica E G

Oct 25, 2017

The course is excellent. The lectures are very engaging and the explanations extremely clear. Thanks you very much, Professor Sainani !

By Alysson G

Jun 10, 2022

It was the best course I ever had. It improved my writing in so many ways and help me a lot in the process of learning a new language.

By Catherine H

May 29, 2021

Very well structured course. The tips given are very useful. Now everytime when I write, I try to apply what I learned in this course!

By Mohanad E

Jan 8, 2021

This course taught me alot. It was a great experience and it was superfun! Dr. Kristin Sainani was really good, fun and so informative

By Ayushi B

Nov 22, 2020

The course was very informative, interesting and interactive (through questions in between videos). Learned a lot. Loved it. Thank you

By Motaz B A

Jun 27, 2020

It was an important course to have as a post-graduate and i think it provided me with the essentials to start writing research papers.

By Sonja S

May 22, 2020

Amazing course! I learned a lot from Dr. Kristin, she is amazing! She makes science writing interesting and fun, and I love her humor.

By Jorge E B B

May 16, 2018

This course helped me in my current work as research fellow. Part of my job is to edit scientific papers, and helped me a lot with it.

By salvatore s

Mar 16, 2018

This course is a must-do for any student. As Prof. Sainani says in her last video, effective communication is vital to modern science.

By Nguyễn T H

Jul 6, 2022

The course is great. I have learned many useful things in the course, and hone new skills. Thank you, teacher and university so much!

By Aqsa J

Nov 23, 2021

It was a great opportunity to learn from Kristin. Her method of teaching has helped me greatly. This course was perfectly integrated.

By David L

Jan 18, 2021

Thanks for this useful course. I consider that one more unit 5 (5b) would have been more useful instead of talking to the media unit.

By Florentine M

Aug 17, 2020

I could recommend this course to everybody! The exercises and examples are a good way to learn and illustrate how other authors work.

By Sabrina D

May 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. The modules gave me a new perspective on how to write and present research to engage my target audience.