Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,433 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 2,479 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Florentine M

Aug 17, 2020

I could recommend this course to everybody! The exercises and examples are a good way to learn and illustrate how other authors work.

By Sabrina D

May 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. The modules gave me a new perspective on how to write and present research to engage my target audience.

By Shan S

Jun 27, 2018

Very good course. I can learn a lot from this lesson, not only about scientific article writing but also interviews and presentation.

By fazeel z

Oct 26, 2022

excellent course to upskill writing skills. i am using these skills and this certificate for me freelance medical writing business.

By Caroline A L

Jun 29, 2020

Excellent course! The course was well planned and encompasses several aspects of scientific writing. The professor is very didactic.

By Cristina H D

Jun 21, 2020

This basic course has changed my way of writing and thinking, reinforcing the knowledge I already had and learning many things more.

By Simon N W

Jun 7, 2020

Through this course, I have learned how to make my scientific communication interesting and attractive, even for a general audience.

By Renuka R

Aug 22, 2022

This course equipped me with a lot of essential tools in science communication and writing. The course structure is easy to follow.

By Tania M

Jul 25, 2022

Informative, interesting and well presented.

The examples and practice sessions were very helpful to the learning process.

Thank you.

By Linda A

Dec 17, 2021

Dr. Sainani is both a master in her field and a fantastic educator. This class was extremely informative and effective. THANK YOU!

By Dan W

Oct 23, 2021

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it and learnt a lot of useful stuff. I only wish I had taken it as an undergrad or new postgrad.

By Ellen P

Oct 5, 2021

Excellent course. This was a good review of science writing and I learned more about how to edit. I highly recommend the course.

By Laura S R

Mar 14, 2021

I liked it because it is clear, it is entertaining and gives you very useful tips not only for science writing but general writing

By Shabnam M T

Apr 23, 2020

I loved this course!

I suggest everyone in science to take the course

and Thanks a million for the course

I am grateful for the course

By Anahid H

Dec 25, 2022

many thanks to Prof.Kristin Sainani. It was a great course that covered the whole spectrum of scientific writing and related area.

By Joseph K

May 24, 2021

Thank you Prof. Sainani for the brilliant course. I would certainly recommend this to all my students without hesitating a second.

By Amgad E

Sep 13, 2019

i've just finished the course and i really did benefit from it as this illuminated blind spots i had in reviewing even my writing.

By Alexandra W

Jul 17, 2019

This is one of the few courses I have ever taken where other people noticed a marked difference in my skillset. It was phenomenal!

By Alejandro O

Mar 20, 2019

Great course with a great teacher that clearly understands the subject and is genuinely interested in teaching and helping others.

By Kathleen S

Aug 17, 2022

Very good course! I learned some great tools and strategies for teaching writing to undergraduates, particularly science writing.

By Abhishek S

Apr 22, 2021

It's one of the best online courses available on the internet. I look forward to sharing my experiences with Dr. Kristin Sainani.

By Carlos A B G

Mar 11, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso, muy útil para practicar la escritura en inglés y poder expresar tus ideas de manera organizada y simple.

By Wisna N

May 24, 2020

I learn so much in this course and will definitely apply the many useful tips in my writing and revision. Thank you, Dr. Sainani.

By Jaime A V C

Mar 5, 2020

I found the course great, the teacher and the excellent content, the interviews taught me a lot, I totally recommend this course!

By Annemarie C

Oct 22, 2019

Great course for beginning writers or if, like me, English is your second language and you'd like to improve your writing skills.