Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
6,256 ratings
2,085 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

IA

Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

Filter by:

2001 - 2025 of 2,145 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By aya s

Mar 21, 2019

great

By Ishan P D

Apr 23, 2018

Great

By Lujain a s

Jan 16, 2022

good

By jun h k

Dec 17, 2021

GOOd

By Nabila I

Aug 27, 2021

good

By Ketan G

Dec 11, 2018

Good

By Ser X P

Nov 2, 2018

Good

By Raihana

Apr 18, 2022

T

By Nourhan m e h

Apr 15, 2022

By Major J

Aug 9, 2021

a

By L. M

Aug 3, 2021

By marwah a

Jun 1, 2021

i

By Belkis

May 31, 2021

By ahmedyousef

Jun 12, 2020

O

By Fernando E

Jun 11, 2020

.

By Nasser a a

Apr 16, 2020

.

By Zaid

Apr 15, 2020

A

By Tarek S

Jul 27, 2019

.

By Katherine A

Dec 26, 2017

E

By Mehdi K

Feb 17, 2020

The main instructor is a great teacher. I have particularly enjoyed the first half of the course that gives general writing tips, applicable to manuscripts as well as lay articles. I enjoyed the optional edit videos, they are very informative. The anecdotes about writers/scientists/plagiarism, etc. are also very entertaining.

The second half of the course is not always as focused on writing (e.g. interviewing/being interviewed, social media, etc.), which is ok, but not what I expected. For example, I did not find Amy Adams' videos very useful. For social media in particular, I expected to learn how to write punchy yet accurate social media posts (since this course is about writing). Instead, the video was more of an introduction to "what is social media".

The certificate provided by Stanford Online has some layout issues, I hope this can be fixed soon.

Overall I recommend this course for beginner writers, it is very useful!

By Carlos C

Dec 17, 2018

I really liked this course. This is the first time someone taught me how to write effectively for different purposes. I mean, teaching these things is so valuable, but no professor I have had since high school has ever taken the time to teach this simple concepts with examples as well, such as cutting the clutter, using more verbs, using the active voice instead of the passive voice, etc. Although I started this course to just learn how to write effectively, I didn't like the last units because they consisted on how to write papers, how to submit them, etc., and I wasn't searching for that. But for everything else, excellent course and excellent professor. The course is designed to constantly test your skills and make sure you learns all the writing principles. Also, and especially for me that English is not my native language, I have seen that I can use this principles to write effectively in Spanish.

By Nedyu Y

May 15, 2019

I was searching for slightly different course, more in direction 'Medical writing', and found by chance the one by Dr. Kristin Sainani. Still, I found the course very useful! I is structured very well and covers all topics needed for academic writing. It goes even beyond, covering particular types of written pieces like review papers, grants, letters of recommendation, and personal essays. I found units 1, 2, 3, discussing the key principles of effective writing at grammatical level, very useful, but my favourite was unit 8 about the communication to broader audiences (e.g. writing newsletter articles) including handling media relations. Great asset of the course are the live demos - really excellent job! Units 4, 5, 6, 7 were very informative, but less useful for my area of work.

A small recommendation would be to improve the sound of some few videos.

By John W

Oct 29, 2017

A very nice overview of writing for the sciences -- everything from journal articles, peer reviews, letters of recommendation, to news items and press releases. Many of the main points were known to me -- remove jargon, use the active voice -- were already known to me, but it always good to be reminded. I also learned some new things -- for example, I had never heard of a "nut-graf" before!

One suggestion for improvement: the series of (three?) interviews with Kristin's colleagues were somewhat repetitive. I believe she asked the same series of questions to each of the three subjects. It would have been better, in my opinion, to focus on different topics with each one, and give each interview its own unique subject.

All in all, a very well-organized and well-taught class.

By Styliani K

Jan 19, 2021

The course is overall very informative, the professor thoroughly explains the subject. The only problem I had with the course has nothing to do with the course itself, but I took the course without a certificate and at the end of every video, a message popped up to remind me to ask for a certificate if I wanted. The issue here is that the questions after every video appeared, almost every time, at the very end of the video and as a result, the pop-up covered the questions, so I couldn't answer. Apart from that, the course was very helpful and I think every scientist should be able to make their paper interesting and that's exactly the skill that this course teaches you!

By Daniel P

May 26, 2020

I think this course could have been completed in a shorter amount of time. Some of the stuff in the later weeks seemed like filler information. The grant writing section was very repetitive as were the interviews with the journal editors. I could have done without the information on media interviews, social media, panels altogether. I think that time would have been better spent on coursework about writing/formatting manuscripts. All in all I thought this was a very helpful course I will took a lot of notes that I am sure I will use in my future writing projects.