Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
6,586 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AL

Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

2101 - 2125 of 2,262 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Dina S B

Dec 20, 2019

great

By aya s

Mar 21, 2019

great

By Ishan P D

Apr 23, 2018

Great

By Villegas V A

Jul 16, 2022

nice

By Lujain a s

Jan 16, 2022

good

By jun h k

Dec 17, 2021

GOOd

By Nabila I

Aug 27, 2021

good

By Ketan G

Dec 11, 2018

Good

By Ser X P

Nov 2, 2018

Good

By ANDREA V B C

May 20, 2022

.

By Raihana

Apr 18, 2022

T

By Nourhan m e h

Apr 15, 2022

By Major J

Aug 9, 2021

a

By Liza

Aug 3, 2021

By marwah a

Jun 1, 2021

i

By Belkis

May 31, 2021

By ahmedyousef

Jun 12, 2020

O

By Fernando E

Jun 11, 2020

.

By Nasser a a

Apr 16, 2020

.

By Zaid

Apr 15, 2020

A

By Tarek S

Jul 27, 2019

.

By Katherine A

Dec 26, 2017

E

By Mehdi K

Feb 17, 2020

The main instructor is a great teacher. I have particularly enjoyed the first half of the course that gives general writing tips, applicable to manuscripts as well as lay articles. I enjoyed the optional edit videos, they are very informative. The anecdotes about writers/scientists/plagiarism, etc. are also very entertaining.

The second half of the course is not always as focused on writing (e.g. interviewing/being interviewed, social media, etc.), which is ok, but not what I expected. For example, I did not find Amy Adams' videos very useful. For social media in particular, I expected to learn how to write punchy yet accurate social media posts (since this course is about writing). Instead, the video was more of an introduction to "what is social media".

The certificate provided by Stanford Online has some layout issues, I hope this can be fixed soon.

Overall I recommend this course for beginner writers, it is very useful!

By Carlos C

Dec 17, 2018

I really liked this course. This is the first time someone taught me how to write effectively for different purposes. I mean, teaching these things is so valuable, but no professor I have had since high school has ever taken the time to teach this simple concepts with examples as well, such as cutting the clutter, using more verbs, using the active voice instead of the passive voice, etc. Although I started this course to just learn how to write effectively, I didn't like the last units because they consisted on how to write papers, how to submit them, etc., and I wasn't searching for that. But for everything else, excellent course and excellent professor. The course is designed to constantly test your skills and make sure you learns all the writing principles. Also, and especially for me that English is not my native language, I have seen that I can use this principles to write effectively in Spanish.

By Nedyu Y

May 15, 2019

I was searching for slightly different course, more in direction 'Medical writing', and found by chance the one by Dr. Kristin Sainani. Still, I found the course very useful! I is structured very well and covers all topics needed for academic writing. It goes even beyond, covering particular types of written pieces like review papers, grants, letters of recommendation, and personal essays. I found units 1, 2, 3, discussing the key principles of effective writing at grammatical level, very useful, but my favourite was unit 8 about the communication to broader audiences (e.g. writing newsletter articles) including handling media relations. Great asset of the course are the live demos - really excellent job! Units 4, 5, 6, 7 were very informative, but less useful for my area of work.

A small recommendation would be to improve the sound of some few videos.