Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Scope, Time and Cost Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Scope, Time and Cost Management by Rice University

4.8
stars
977 ratings
190 reviews

About the Course

Scope, time, and cost management are at the heart of successful project management. This course will give you the tools to develop a project scope, schedule and budget and then status them to predict project performance. Throughout the course, you will learn about change management and techniques to implement it. By the end of this course you will be able to: • Create a requirements document • Create a Project Scope Statement • Identify ways to control the scope of the project • Decompose the work and develop work packages • Create a Work Breakdown Structure • Develop a Critical Path Schedule • Review types of cost estimates and identify whether they are “top down or bottom up” • Review budgets, contingencies and reserves • Calculate planned and earned values to compare with actual cost • Perform a cost and schedule analysis Each week you will prepare a key deliverable for the project plan based on a provided Case Study. These deliverables include: • Project Scope Statement • Project Work Breakdown Structure (WBS) and WBS dictionary • Critical Path schedule sequence diagram • Bar Chart Schedule (Gantt Chart) • Project Cost Estimate • Project Status using an Earned Value Calculation All of this will position you to set up a plan to control your next assignment or your next project whether this is as the project manager or as an area leader. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 14 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

MA
May 26, 2019

Really good course especially for engineers new to the field of project management and handling. I appreciate the hard work that has been done to put this course together.\n\nThank You once again!

SS
Apr 6, 2021

This is the most comprehenvise course among all 3 in the engineering management specialization. There are some tools and insights that add lot of value and therefore a good starting point.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 190 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Scope, Time and Cost Management

By aashish

Sep 3, 2020

good

By A F

Jul 19, 2020

good

By Vaishnavi A

Jul 8, 2020

good

By Mannepalli Y

Jul 4, 2020

good

By Mr S H

Jul 3, 2020

good

By Muthukumar P

Jun 17, 2020

good

By Saurabh s s

May 11, 2020

Osm

By Alfonso C G

Dec 28, 2020

G

By Dinesh V

Aug 3, 2020

E

By Mavi P O

Sep 30, 2020

This course was a great one, I learnt a lot with respect to time management and scope management, I think the cost management could be further improved for people coming from on financial backgrounds, as it took several hours to get the average idea to complete the assignment, and please work on the assignment forum it is filled with people asking people to mark for them and not talking about the problems relating to it

By Sacha P N A R

Sep 28, 2017

Great course with great instructors! Would like to see a bit more explanation (example in video) on EVM in an extra chapter. Instruction on making the charts would be a plus but was not included. That would have given the course a 5 star rating. All around a great training for an engineer!

By Berna

Mar 11, 2020

In my opinion, very detailed course about scope, time and cost management. Assignments were challenging, examples not representing the actual amount of work you have to put in to succeed.

Not sure if I am a fan of project management, but this is giving me a great foundation!

By Manjunath V A

Sep 1, 2017

Good course for those who wanted to understand techniques in Triple Constraint or Iron Triangle and to achieve PMP certificate. I especially like the explanation of finding Critical Path.

By Abdulaziz A

Mar 19, 2020

I found this course very helpful, especially for beginners. The course provides all the necessary information that is required to be understood in a simple way.

By VICKY D P

Aug 4, 2020

The content were useful and case study assignments helped to work by oneself and get habituated to the concepts. Presentation delivered all imp. content.

By Saurya B

Aug 9, 2019

Very interesting and useful. The assignments helped a lot in getting a clear understanding

By Prakash

Apr 9, 2019

Great learning opportunity provided. Thanks a lot coursera for this course.

By Syed M H S

Jun 28, 2020

I wish the calculation procedure were elaborated on the last assignment.

By Ametani

Mar 13, 2020

The template for the last week has some mistakes in it.

By U S

Jun 26, 2020

It is a very helpful course for my further studies !!!

By Khan Z A

Jul 10, 2020

Great course.Easy to understand and well planned.

By Vaidevi C C

Jul 24, 2020

Very interesting and useful course

By Leo E G

Sep 11, 2018

Good but sometimes to repetitive

By Hassan N

May 6, 2020

I ACTUAL RATE THIS PROGRAM HIGH

By Arshdeep S

Sep 8, 2020

It was a good experience...