Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Google SEO

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Google SEO by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
9,438 ratings

About the Course

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO with some fun practices to get seen in Google. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how the most popular search engine, Google, works, how the SEO landscape is constantly changing and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from Google. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization!...

Top reviews

SS

Aug 9, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

AP

Jul 10, 2020

The way of explaining the terms is excellent and content is very good . I leant many new things from this course. Going to do all the courses of this specialization. Thanks for the wonderful content.

Filter by:

2376 - 2400 of 2,505 Reviews for Introduction to Google SEO

By Marilena B

Nov 18, 2018

While this course was full of interesting information, it was a front loaded with much useless information...interesting nonetheless. I, however would prefer a course that jumps a bit faster to the so called nitty-gritty. Overall, good stuff!

By Eliška H

Oct 18, 2020

I think it would be nice if the course could be more practical with more examples. This was mainly about the theory in general and not about the practical skills at all, but thank you for the knowledge anyway!

By Harry E G

Apr 3, 2016

Student should be able to see results of test ( at least quiz 1 and 2) before we decide to purchase. Overall the course was easy to understand and follow. I look forward to taking to others in the series.

By Ruarob T

Sep 21, 2021

If you are marketer, this could fit you somehow. If you want concrete body of knowledge, I don't think the course will please you. SEO topic is subjective and somehow could frustrate the technical folks

By KOWAL, A V

Aug 11, 2020

I dont feel confident that I can increase my website's ranking after this class. The info was very basic and geared toward what is looked for in a SEO career track. Not very pertinent to my situation.

By Daniele B

Nov 13, 2020

The lessons are great and the teacher explains in simple and good way the concepts. However, in my opinion there to many facts and history rather that strategies and theories on how to work with SEO.

By Nick T

Dec 10, 2016

Felt that the first week, how to get a job in SEO should be the last module. Unsure the value it has when you don't even know SEO at the level one would need in order to get a job in SEO.

By Kayla S

May 7, 2020

While it had some good content, it was difficult to get past a lot of the grammar and spelling errors. Also, sharing Wikipedia pages as informational text in a course is a huge turn off.

By Szabolcs P K

Oct 24, 2016

Very informative, however a bit too detailed on the history of previous search engines and past Google updates. Could've done with a bit less history and more up to date information.

By Julien C

Jan 12, 2023

Quizz questions are often confusing. Week 4 content is not really SEO specific, but basic persona building.

I'm not sure what practical knowledge I am getting out of this course.

By Teresa F

Jun 24, 2019

The course provides great resources, but it seems to lack moderators. I finished the course and I have yet to get any feedback from the hosts and students rarely interact.

By Christina A M

Jul 11, 2018

Ver basic knowledge and more so theory than strategy. Coursera needs to start teaching strategy with little theory so that people understand strategy and can implement.

By Lachuti G

Nov 7, 2020

Muy basico, como introducción está bien, pero el contenido de la primera semana es el más tardado y el más sin sentido. Creo que podría ser mejorado y actualizado

By Mayank P

May 1, 2020

Not much was explained in the videos. Too many lengthy articles were provided to read through. I don't think I gained much value from this. Highly disappointed.

By Wesley J

Aug 13, 2019

I'm starting a business. I need to learn so I can earn. I think you should cut out the philosophy and the art of SEO and cut straight into practical exercises.

By Robyn L

Feb 24, 2021

Topics were not always well explained or articulated in the videos, and were sometimes hard to follow. Reading the transcript was usually more helpful.

By Christiaan H

Aug 11, 2020

As a high level & historical intro it was a nice overall background. What the course failed in was discussing a far more practical & tactical approach.

By Ehsan Z

May 29, 2020

i wish this course gave some deeper knowledge specially in last week modules but i need to say thank you courseera for letting me join this course.

By Reaobakamorena R

Aug 23, 2021

I Really enjoyed this course,the knowledge and understanding I received will be something I remember to apply in my field. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

By Sophia D

Aug 7, 2020

Overall, it had useful information for someone who didn't know a lot about SEO. However, I wish that the videos' audio quality was better.

By Lara R

Nov 10, 2019

A bit of interesting information but mostly "here is what was happening in browsers in 1995". Gets much better from the next course on tho

By Adrian E

Dec 10, 2020

Es un buen curso introductorio, esperaría más del contenido generado por esta universidad, el nivel de la comunicación es de secundaria.

By Cheryl B

Aug 17, 2016

Perhaps a bit too basic (and thus boring). But holding out hope it'll prove to be a good foundation for the rest of the specialization

By SHUBHAM K

May 21, 2019

This was far better than any introduction i have ever seen. It carry us through all the fundamentals we as a beginner need to know.

By Emma K

Oct 5, 2020

Very high level introduction to the various themes of SEO. Mostly a history lesson; less about what the actual work looks like.