Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Secure Coding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Secure Coding by University of California, Davis

4.4
stars
324 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces you to the principles of secure programming. It begins by discussing the philosophy and principles of secure programming, and then presenting robust programming and the relationship between it and secure programming. We'll go through a detailed example of writing robust code and we'll see many common programming problems and show their connection to writing robust, secure programs in general. We’ll examine eight design principles that govern secure coding and how to apply them to your own work. We’ll discuss how poor design choices drive implementation in coding. We’ll differentiate between informal, formal, and ad hoc coding methods. Throughout, methods for improving the security and robustness of your programs will be emphasized and you will have an opportunity to practice these concepts through various lab activities. A knowledge of the C programming language is helpful, but not required to participate in the lab exercises....

Top reviews

SS

Feb 16, 2020

The course was an exceptional one. And helped me to lot to understand what Robust and Secure coding really means. Thank you so much tutor.

SJ

Sep 2, 2019

Matt Bishop is an excellent Secure Coding Trainer. I enjoyed the sessions all the way and it was totally engaging with practical examples.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 76 Reviews for Principles of Secure Coding

By Pradeep K S

Jan 29, 2020

A good course on secure and robust programming

By Manu A

Jan 2, 2020

a good introduction to the specialization

By SATHYA S

May 25, 2020

Concepts clearly explained.

By Mr. J H

Jun 5, 2020

Good Course

By Pranjal G

Feb 21, 2020

Good one

By Hassan M

May 17, 2020

I think the course quality is good as an introduction to secure coding and building a foundation for future studies. However, it appears that there is no active teacher assistant monitoring the course as a question that I asked several weeks ago is still unanswered. The instructors would need active monitoring to improve the course quality.

By Mahmoud J

Sep 8, 2020

It was not easy to follow, especially week 3.

The content on slides is not clear.

Many of the variable names in the code are not clear, do not reflect their use, and difficult to read.

The full code should be provided at the begining, many times the slides refere to variable in the code, which I didn't know what they were.

Finally, I always prefer interactive learing experince, where the instructor write code, solve a problem, etc. Presenting slides and commenting on them does not, in my opinion, provide a good teaching experince. There are many youtube vedios that are amazing for learning new stuff.

By Md B

Mar 2, 2020

0

By Shaiful I

Oct 23, 2020

Excellent course. Though faced little bit problems to understand the content. But overall, great course.

By Mamoona N

Jan 16, 2022

This course will be very useful for me to develop program which is robust and secure also.

By Alexander

Jul 15, 2020

Very useful course! Recommend for the beginners in secure coding and programming at all.

By chandrasekhar

Nov 30, 2022

The course is very useful for programmer to understand the importance of security.

By Oleksii

Aug 3, 2020

Good introductory course for those who are not familiar with secure coding

By Anitha D K a

Oct 8, 2022

It is excellent course Got to learn hoow to implement the coding secure

By Luis M B A

Nov 15, 2020

I found it to be an excellent course.

Very good, congratulations.

By Satyanarayana M

Apr 6, 2022

Very helpful. Recommending this course for others as well.

By STEVEN F

Jul 24, 2020

Great Speaker with accurate and knowlegdable speeches.

By Mostafa E E

May 22, 2021

It's very good start to understand Software Security

By chandra k

May 29, 2022

it is good ,and explanation is good with examples

By Ambrish

Sep 29, 2020

instructors are delivered the good examples.

By Gerlando D

Oct 24, 2021

It is very professional and useful.

By Chivukula S

Jul 14, 2022

interesting ,detailed explanation

By Mahendra Y

Aug 25, 2020

best cyber security experience

By WAGNER A T

Jul 28, 2022

This is a excellent course.

By Ganesamoorthy C

Jul 22, 2022

Thanks for the session