Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness by University of Rochester

4.9
stars
147 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Top reviews

VM

Mar 21, 2019

I thank the mentor wholeheartedly for explaining how motivation affects various facets of life. His style of explanation is engaging and helps in introspecting oneself thoroughly.

VW

Jun 06, 2019

Brilliant course! Well organized, digestible content - fantastic introduction to the topic which is inspiring me to learn more. Would love to see an advanced course!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 57 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

By marcos a

May 04, 2020

NIce one thanks! Very very useful readings and research for personal and professional life.

Thank you very much. Marcos

By Lidia C

Jan 20, 2020

Great overview of self-deternination theory. Would be great to see more examples of it's practical application.

By Derek S

Oct 18, 2019

Incredibly insightful, ideas you're aware of explained in a manner you're probably not aware of.

Highly recommended

By Monica O

Mar 30, 2019

I work in the education field and SDT is a game changer. I will encourage my colleagues to take this course.

By Monica B

May 11, 2020

I've learned the theory behind things I have understood to be true for a long time. Great course.

By Prabha R

May 14, 2020

One of the best course and every individual must go through irrespective to their profession.

By Amruta S

Jun 16, 2020

It was an excellent course! Got to learn a very novel and useful approach to motivation!

By Manuel F D L C O

Mar 23, 2019

Excelente curso, muy recomendado y aplicable a todos los contextos de la vida diaria

By Nancy H M

Jun 25, 2020

Very interesting, addictive and important knowledge of great value is obtained.

By Hugo V P

Apr 26, 2020

Beautiful! Thank you Professor Ryan! It is such a pleasure learning with you.

By Mauro T

Apr 30, 2020

dr. Ryan is very engaging. the course was extremely interesting and useful!

By Laila A S

Jul 29, 2019

wonderful content. I'm looking forward to researching the topic myself!

By Ozge K

Jul 07, 2019

It was an amazing overview to see everything about SDT in a nutshell!

By Colin W S

Mar 13, 2019

useful and simple introduction to SDT

It's also pretty motivating.

By Jai F

Nov 28, 2019

This is a great primer on an amazing theoretical framework.

By Katarzyna M

Mar 19, 2019

Fantastic review of SDT reserach across various domains.

By Claudia P B

Oct 06, 2019

Excellent course, thanks a lot Coursera!!!

By Stephan S

May 02, 2020

Exceptional course. Highly recommended

By María d C O R

Aug 07, 2019

¡Muy buen curso! ¡Enriquecedor!

Gracias

By Georgios M

Apr 29, 2020

amazing course! i strongly recommend!

By Arkar S N

Sep 10, 2019

It's good for me to future

By DR.B.SELVAMUTHUKRISHNAN

Jul 08, 2020

Very good course

By louis f d m p s

Apr 27, 2020

Very motivating

By Laura J R L

May 13, 2019

Aprendí mucho.

By Edouard T

Dec 03, 2019

Loved it !