Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
270 ratings
104 reviews

About the Course

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Top reviews

AZ
Dec 19, 2020

Amazing course to learn about human motivation, development and wellnes. Also, for getting to know about research and resourses to promote them in different settings like education, sport or work.

CM
Nov 17, 2020

This course is very helpful. Once finished you will be able to fully understand the SDT. Richard Ryan is a great speaker. He explained the concepts very well. Thank you for this course!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 104 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

By Katarzyna M

Mar 19, 2019

Fantastic review of SDT reserach across various domains.

By CPerezBrown

Oct 5, 2019

Excellent course, thanks a lot Coursera!!!

By Stephan S

May 2, 2020

Exceptional course. Highly recommended

By María d C O R

Aug 7, 2019

¡Muy buen curso! ¡Enriquecedor!

Gracias

By Georgios M

Apr 29, 2020

amazing course! i strongly recommend!

By Eduardo L V

Sep 8, 2020

Great course, I loved it so much, I

By Arkar S N

Sep 10, 2019

It's good for me to future

By Vasanthi V

Aug 7, 2020

Thank you so much!

By DR.B.SELVAMUTHUKRISHNAN

Jul 8, 2020

Very good course

By louis f d m p s

Apr 27, 2020

Very motivating

By Gerry C

Sep 15, 2019

非常棒的一门课,让人大开眼界。

By Laura R

May 13, 2019

Aprendí mucho.

By Edouard T

Dec 3, 2019

Loved it !

By Md M

Jul 7, 2020

very well

By Muhammad Z H

Nov 9, 2019

Thanks

By MANJUNATHA K N

May 27, 2020

good

By Hein M S

Jan 25, 2020

Good

By Hamza A

Apr 6, 2020

of course the information was great but

after week 2 everything was almost predictable through the first two week

By DENISE M J

Dec 27, 2020

Professor Ryan was a great lecturer. His approach to delivering good example for the many topics discussed, the variable for success or failure in self motivation were enlightening. My vision has widened in understanding the challenges to being able to be happy, achieving specific goals and the kind of support needed overall. Knowledge is empowering to me and I feel greater satisfaction after completing the course.

Thanks Professor Ryan

By Tamara S

Feb 15, 2021

I loved hearing professor Ryan talking about the Self-Determination Theory, the theory, the researches and the references to our own lifes. This is a good course to learn the basics of SDT, but also interesting for people who already got the basics but want to hear and read about some researches. The course is not going very deep into the subject, is is an introduction but it motivates me to get deeper into SDT.

By Muliani D

Sep 16, 2020

This is definitely one of the best course I have ever taken online. The presenter presents the content in a very clear and simple manner. Not just that, the visual aids and notes provided help me to better connect with the material and resources. The links/reference shared are high quality and detailed, I definitely will keep them for future reference and knowledge sharing.

By Brendan M

Sep 14, 2020

I loved this course. I think to fully appreciate it you need to buy the book on SDT that they recommend that accompanies it. It seems very simplistic at the start but when you read the text book you get an insight into the robust and important nature of the findings and also how it respects and integrates the other great psychological theories. Thanks!!

By Marcia S

Feb 22, 2021

Great course that helps you better understand motivation and how to use it. However, the Quiz were not perfectly laid out and caused quite some confusion with the answers being all over the page. Definitely learned a lot about motivation and wat drives people to excel and succeed when others support and encourage them

By Aedrian A

Jan 18, 2021

This course elegantly presented the science behind the Self-Determination Theory by no less than one of its pioneers. The contents of this course and its implications have great potential for application in several settings to improve productivity.

By juan S

Mar 31, 2021

A thoroughly enjoyable, useful and rewarding course to study. Just the right balance between video and reading. I will apply this new motivation theory in my workplace as the Learning and Development Manager in a large charity organisation.