Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness by University of Rochester

4.9
stars
203 ratings
79 reviews

About the Course

Self-determination theory (SDT) is an empirically based theory of motivation and psychological development that is especially focused on the basic psychological needs that promote high quality motivation and wellness, and how they are supported in social contexts. SDT details how the styles and strategies of motivators such as parents, teachers, coaches, managers, and health-care professionals can promote or undermine engagement and the positive consequences that follow from it. In this course, Professor Richard Ryan, co-founder of the theory, will provide an overview of SDT with special emphasis on how autonomy, competence, and relatedness supports and facilitates behavioral persistence, quality of relationships, and healthy developmental processes, among other topics. He will also discuss the convergence of behavioral phenomenological and neuropsychological aspects of autonomy within SDT research. In addition, he will illustrate practical applications of SDT, with emphasis on educational, work, sport, healthcare and psychotherapy settings....

Top reviews

VM

Mar 21, 2019

I thank the mentor wholeheartedly for explaining how motivation affects various facets of life. His style of explanation is engaging and helps in introspecting oneself thoroughly.

CA

Aug 19, 2020

Excellent course. After taking this, you realise that, stoicism and the self-determination form perhaps 95% of the basis of modern psychology, counselling and coaching!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 79 Reviews for Introduction to Self-Determination Theory: An approach to motivation, development and wellness

By Katarzyna M

Mar 19, 2019

Fantastic review of SDT reserach across various domains.

By Claudia P B

Oct 06, 2019

Excellent course, thanks a lot Coursera!!!

By Stephan S

May 02, 2020

Exceptional course. Highly recommended

By María d C O R

Aug 07, 2019

¡Muy buen curso! ¡Enriquecedor!

Gracias

By Georgios M

Apr 29, 2020

amazing course! i strongly recommend!

By Eduardo L V

Sep 08, 2020

Great course, I loved it so much, I

By Arkar S N

Sep 10, 2019

It's good for me to future

By Vasanthi V

Aug 07, 2020

Thank you so much!

By DR.B.SELVAMUTHUKRISHNAN

Jul 08, 2020

Very good course

By louis f d m p s

Apr 27, 2020

Very motivating

By Gerry C

Sep 15, 2019

非常棒的一门课,让人大开眼界。

By Laura J R L

May 13, 2019

Aprendí mucho.

By Edouard T

Dec 03, 2019

Loved it !

By Md M

Jul 07, 2020

very well

By Muhammad Z H

Nov 09, 2019

Thanks

By MANJUNATHA K N

May 27, 2020

good

By Hein M S

Jan 25, 2020

Good

By Hamza A

Apr 06, 2020

of course the information was great but

after week 2 everything was almost predictable through the first two week

By Firstname L

Sep 16, 2020

This is definitely one of the best course I have ever taken online. The presenter presents the content in a very clear and simple manner. Not just that, the visual aids and notes provided help me to better connect with the material and resources. The links/reference shared are high quality and detailed, I definitely will keep them for future reference and knowledge sharing.

By Brendan M

Sep 14, 2020

I loved this course. I think to fully appreciate it you need to buy the book on SDT that they recommend that accompanies it. It seems very simplistic at the start but when you read the text book you get an insight into the robust and important nature of the findings and also how it respects and integrates the other great psychological theories. Thanks!!

By Cleydyr A

Sep 28, 2020

Interesting introduction to SDT by one of the proposers and most prominent researchers on the theory. Good amount of examples and applications. Also, every lesson has links to rich material to deepen the understanding of the topic.

By Richard H

Sep 17, 2020

An outstanding course, well designed and well presented. Recommended especially to anyone in the coaching profession. Dr. Ryan is the best.

By Mark S

Oct 10, 2020

Absolutely outstanding. The best course of its type that I have ever done.

By Eddie C

Oct 09, 2020

This course is a great introduction to SDT, highly recommended!

By Alyona G

Oct 13, 2020

Very insightful course, highly recommend!