Chevron Left
Back to Sensors and Sensor Circuit Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sensors and Sensor Circuit Design by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
866 ratings
200 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5340, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. After taking this course, you will be able to: ● Understand how to specify the proper thermal, flow, or rotary sensor for taking real-time process data. ● Implement thermal sensors into an embedded system in both hardware and software. ● Add the sensor and sensor interface into a microprocessor based development kit. ● Create hardware and firmware to process sensor signals and feed data to a microprocessor for further evaluation. ● Study sensor signal noise and apply proper hardware techniques to reduce it to acceptable levels. You will need to buy the following components to do the two course projects based on the videos in this module. Note that if you have already purchased the PSOC 5LP PROTOTYPING KIT, you do not need to buy it again. These parts may be purchased off the Digikey web site, www. Digikey.com. Or, you may obtain the specs from the site, and purchase them elsewhere. These are the part numbers typed out, so you can copy and paste them into the Digikey web site. You will need one of each part. 428-3390-ND NHD-0216BZ-RN-YBW-ND 570-1229-ND A105970CT-ND Additional equipment needed: • Wire - various gauges and lengths • Breadboard • Oscilloscope – suggested models are: o PICOSCOPE 2204A-D2 available on www.digikey.com or o Digilent 410-324 | OpenScope MZ available on www.newark.com Depending on your budget, you can also investigate these models: o Hantek HT6022BE20MHz - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009H4AYII o SainSmart DSO212 - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074QBQNB7 o PoScope Mega50 USB - https://www.robotshop.com/en/poscope-mega50-usb-mso-oscilloscope.html o ADALM2000 - https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/analog-devices-inc./ADALM2000/7019661...

Top reviews

CM
May 28, 2020

This course is really tailormade and covers many aspect of sensor and sensor circuit design in minute details. The assignments and course project ensure the students engagement and learning.

TN
Mar 29, 2020

It was amzing experience about how the course was so professionally held .It was amzing i have learnt different things right from practical to theory it absolutely brilliant

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 200 Reviews for Sensors and Sensor Circuit Design

By STHITADHI M S M

Jan 25, 2021

Beautiful!!

By Millano b

Nov 18, 2020

interesting

By REDDYGARI S A K

Sep 29, 2020

nice course

By PUJALA H A R

Jan 25, 2021

excellent

By Balabadruni v

Nov 8, 2020

EXCELLENT

By MEHA K D

Apr 22, 2020

difficult

By Siddharth S

Nov 4, 2020

its okay

By Mohammad H k

Aug 25, 2020

Good

By Pan W

Jul 24, 2020

Good

By Kelvin R D

Jul 9, 2020

Nice

By Cesaltino G

Sep 11, 2020

First would like to thank you for the course and for your help with everything in the course. However, there should be more consideration and valued people who take the for free which is not entirely free, quizzes could be less defficult and course would be more connected to Oil and Gas Industry.

By Akhilaparameswari k

Apr 14, 2020

It's a very interesting and very knowledge gain able topic and had learned lot of things from this . And I would like to say thank to coursera for providing this.

By Ramesh A

Oct 14, 2020

Course is intense and instructors are very good at presenting the concepts. Quizzes were highly problematic and well structered.

By Roberto B

Mar 6, 2021

Many operations were confusing on using nomenclature, you have to buy parts

By David M C

Nov 19, 2019

It lacks a little of info where refering to circuit wiring and API's code

By Tarun M

May 24, 2020

not well explained

By Mohit K

Apr 13, 2020

nothing

By Manuel G J

Dec 10, 2020

Theoretical videos and theoretical course materials are good. I didn't like the lab and course projects at all, since it was very confusing. It's a good summary of many interesting electronics and instrumentation components and phenomena. I invested a lot of time to wire up and set up the PSOC with all the hardware that is specified at the beginning of the course. Still had a very hard time, and there were many steps that I couldn't complete even though I was following the instruction step by step.

By Samuel C

Mar 22, 2020

The emphasis in course material is more on granular, applied details relating to sensor specification than on theoretical concept. The graded assignments tend to emphasis many easy questions rather than a few difficult ones.

By JuanEs P J

Feb 25, 2020

There are some interesting concepts on debugging I found really useful, I was hoping for more applications or sensor integration labs, the lab ends up being a tutorial

By Akshat S

Apr 23, 2020

VERY LESS THEORITICAL INFORMATION WAS GIVEN ,MORE LEARNING AND PRACTISE SHOULD BE HIGHLY INFLUENCED

By Girish r

Sep 14, 2020

I'm don't receive certificate that's way im not happy about this course

By Jacob A

Jun 12, 2021

This course is very poorly organized to an embarrassing level. The list of required materials is incomplete. They don't tell you that you also need a soldering iron and header pins to accomplish the lab. The quizzes and homework questions are often poorly worded with no explanation for wrong answers. So you are left guessing yourself over and over if you got it wrong. Other questions are pointless in which you are asked to fill in the blank for a random thing the instructor said or is buried in the reading.

It feels like the instructors couldn't be bothered to put any effort into this course. Go take the in-person version.

By MANISH B U

Mar 7, 2021

I'm unable to verify my ID only for your course alone. Other than everything is ok.

By amlaku y

Feb 23, 2021

please give me the certificate