Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare by University of London

4.7
stars
215 ratings
106 reviews

About the Course

This free course from the University of London explores critical thinking, and the interpretation of texts, through the Shakespeare authorship question. Using doubt about Shakespeare’s authorship as our playground, we will explore the key concept of authorship attribution, while developing skills in literary analysis, interpretation, and argument. Through forensic exploration of key texts, you will learn why Shakespeare’s authorship is questioned, and what evidence is cited on both sides of the debate. For those of you interested in exploring the works of Shakespeare from a new angle, or just wanting to hone your analytical thinking skills, this course offers an introduction to a fascinating area of interest. Those of you already interested in the Shakespeare authorship question will be encouraged to question your own assumptions in fruitful ways. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London BA in English, this course will be food for thought....

Top reviews

TA

May 18, 2020

Ros Barber did a wonderful job, opening my eyes to all kinds of possibilities! The experts she brought in were very knowledgeable as well as entertaining! Thanks to Coursera for making this a reality!

LS

Sep 13, 2020

A very well done, interesting and thought-provoking course that not only teaches the basics of the "non-Stratfordian" approach to the study of Shakespeare, but also encourages critical thinking.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 104 Reviews for Introduction to Who Wrote Shakespeare

By Gerald J

Mar 7, 2021

I enjoyed this course and feel i learned a lot. i particularly appreciated the even-handed way the material was presented with no attempt to 'push' any particular alternative authorship candidate. The transcripts aren't great, but that is no real problem if you actually listen and pay attention to the lecture.

By Carlo P

Apr 17, 2022

I found the course very challenge and the professor touched many topics to make me think in a critical way on Shakespeare and "his" works. I believe that now I get more ability to look into some writings and documents and to try to value them with different eyes. Thanks to the fantastic job.

By Molly W

Mar 14, 2018

I've been researching this topic privately for a decade. It was immensely useful for me to take this basics course which reinforced my understanding of the fundamental facts of the case, and helped me to root my own inquiry in the conversation at large.

By Laura R

Nov 23, 2021

V​ery comprehensive course, easy to follow and to understand. Sometimes it felt like a reaching to prove the non-stradfordian understanding, but, nonetheless, their evidence was well presented. A nice course to make you reflect.

By Ivy A D S

Aug 18, 2019

What I learnt most was the art of approaching any topic of study with an open mind rather than with presets. It helps open up a world of possibilities and endless discoveries for me the perpetual learner.

By Luisa S

Sep 14, 2020

A very well done, interesting and thought-provoking course that not only teaches the basics of the "non-Stratfordian" approach to the study of Shakespeare, but also encourages critical thinking.

By Anne R

Apr 18, 2022

​A wonderful guide to critical thinking and very illuminating regarding the doubts about The Shakespeare Authorship Question. I enjoyed it immensely. Thank you.

By Jacob J W

Apr 12, 2022

T​his is a great course that introduces the student to the topic of Who wrote Shakespeare, giving new light to the author of the famous plays.

By Hiromi K

Feb 25, 2021

Great fun! It was my first experience leaning with coursera. I'm really happy I could take such a remarkable course while I was in Japan!

By Carol P

Dec 29, 2020

Very informative, patiently explained, for anyone who loves details about Shakespeare's works and Shakspere's personal history,

By Kirsten M B

Jan 29, 2022

interesting course that presented interesting perspectives on why Shakespeare may not have authored his works

By 8A A A M

Feb 4, 2022

good but in the quiz's when showing the answers its important to show the multiple choice answers too

By Eliška B

Nov 1, 2020

Amazing course. Mind opening. Dr Ros Barber is very good speaker and she makes the topic interesting.

By Linda

Dec 12, 2021

Very interesting subject! A defying level! It triggers to more investigation and study!

By Daniel D

May 7, 2022

V​ery Imformative into the forensics study and evidence of William Shakespeare.

By Tara A O

May 19, 2021

I absolutely loved this, Ros Barber: *new idol* 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

By MD S B

Sep 4, 2020

i have no money. can you give certificate without money?

By SWAPNIL B

Dec 16, 2020

Helpful & interesting course

By Doria A

Nov 21, 2021

S​imply excellent.

By Ishika S

Apr 21, 2022

It was amazing

By ساره ي ا

Jan 10, 2021

thank

By Jim O

Jan 14, 2021

Intense course. Not for the mildly curious. Roz Barber's knowledge of the subject matter is truly encyclopedic. The quizzes at the end of each chapter are tough (maybe a little too tough) , so pay attention and think.

By Matias V

May 22, 2021

Great course! Although I was a little shocked that there was not a single woman being interviewed in the module conclussions. Are there no female scholars in this matter?

By Guillermo C F

Sep 7, 2020

Interesting course to learn more about Shakespeare's authorship.