Chevron Left
Back to Singing Popular Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Singing Popular Music by Berklee

4.5
stars
146 ratings

About the Course

You've been studying the greats, working on improving your vocal skills, and building vocal technique. Now it's time to take the next step in your singing career to shine as a vocalist. Singing Popular Music provides you with the essential skills to define your own unique vocal style and sing healthfully. The course begins with devices to support and alter your sound including vowel quality, tone production, and breathing techniques. From there, you will learn how to use techniques like mix voice and belting in contemporary singing styles. Then you'll take a cover song and make it your own. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to confidently and healthfully sing in your desired vocal style as well as understand how you can alter your singing to match other contemporary styles....

Top reviews

S

Mar 30, 2021

Very clear and entertaining course where the very lively Instructor takes us on a beautiful vocal journey. The course content is great and I learn lots of things. Thank you, it was amazing.

K

Oct 18, 2020

That was Awesome Course with Great Teacher. Learned So Many Techniques for Vocal Practice and Using Vocal at right place. Thank You Coursera and Berklee College of Music

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 52 Reviews for Singing Popular Music

By maurice m

Nov 27, 2020

Great course, had lots of fun doing it and it is very informative.

By Darren A J L

Sep 25, 2020

I learnt a lot about pop singing techniques and knowledges.

By Joel I M

Oct 25, 2020

I enjoyed the course so much! Loved singing even more.

By Gabriel M

Oct 7, 2020

This course was so amazing! I loved it

Thanks so much

By Juan P

Apr 1, 2021

This course was very helpful to my artist career.

By bertrand w

Feb 22, 2022

well done

every every important courses

By DALE D S

Jun 26, 2020

Thank you so much. i had fun learning.

By Aneeqha A

Jul 16, 2020

Really helped me develop my skills.

By W.K.G.S. P

Aug 1, 2020

Thank you for all the vocal tips

By John W

Feb 16, 2023

Thank you for the great course!

By Ashwin D M

Jul 16, 2020

Really this course is helpful.

By Fiona S

Jun 17, 2020

Really enjoyed this!!!

By Raícza V

Mar 21, 2021

Curso maravilhoso!!!

By KEREN M

Mar 16, 2021

An excellent course!

By Felix M

Mar 19, 2021

Excellent teacher.

By Palak H

Oct 19, 2021

amazing

By Twisha Y

Jul 6, 2021

nice

By Hiya G

Jun 25, 2020

nice

By Olga L

Aug 18, 2020

It was a good course, but I actually had more expectations than what was delivered. It was just some information on singing which was not as organized and progressive as I thought it would be. The assignments could be more related to the material discussed. Just because I had the motivation to complete them, they were very helpful, but most, as I see did not have this motivation so the assignment discussion became quite dull. Lastly, I gave much effort and energy to complete my cover song, but then the actual assignment was not about the cover song itself, but about my reflections on the process. I didn't clearly understand that (perhaps my mistake).

By Nal Y

Aug 15, 2021

I became more confident in my singing after enrolling this course. It really helped me. Thank you so much to Professor Jeannie Gagne! :)

By Andrea C M A

Sep 22, 2020

For the first three weeks the use of forus in coevaluation is not good, because i give it 4 stars. I love the course material.

By Emilio M L

Dec 1, 2020

I give it 4 stars because you can only exploit it so much it being online and not face-to-face.

By paul

Jun 26, 2022

The instructor is very talented and provided outstanding examples and models to follow

By Emilio R R

Oct 23, 2020

I think it's not that great. The lessons are good but not very clear. The information is quite complete but it is a bit difficult to connect the readings with the lectures. But the one thing I don't like is the fact that the evaluations are optional and the final one it is not mandatory to include the cover and that is so baaad :(.

By Carlos A M R

Aug 4, 2022

It's the weakest course in the specialization. The instructor seems extremely talented but unable to explain clearly concepts with clarity. The course feels unstructured and it's hard to follow overall.