Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,857 ratings

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top reviews

YG

Jul 2, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

Feb 9, 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.

Thank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 499 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

By Oscar K

Jul 25, 2021

Really enjoyable and well thought out explanations, but many examples went unexplained which I consider a waste since it would be useful to see the thought process of a solution.

By Francisco A

Jun 7, 2020

I quite enjoyed the course, although I found it unnecessarily tough sometimes. I believe extra solved examples for convergence, geometric and binomial series could help a lot!

By Mount

Sep 4, 2016

ppt真心做得很漂亮,但是这门课程不是一门入门课,面向对象是在已经掌握了微积分的前提下、希望对微积分进一步了解和巩固的学生,自然,有些地方的讲述是非常仓促的。

思路上讲主线一直围绕泰勒级数展开,也总是以泰勒级数为思考角度(包括后面part 2也是如此),个人并不是十分适应这种纯数学的方式,更喜欢感官上、性质上来把握,所以……仁者见仁智者见智吧 ^_^

By Krishna P R

Jun 20, 2018

I have taken a calculus course at university which dealt with the epsilon-delta definition of things. Enjoyed the different approach as well, keep up the good work!

By Benjamin C

Mar 19, 2018

Challenging, because begins with the infinite series, which are not a simple concept. Once complete, a much higher level of mathematical understanding is achieved.

By Julia G

May 4, 2022

good instructions and relevant exercises! The course could just improve the explanation for big O since I had to research some more apart to understand it better.

By Harshini s

Jun 29, 2020

The order of growth lecture is extremely unclear and lacks sufficient information. Tt can be made more elaborate and a couple more examples would really help.

By Anna G

Aug 7, 2017

A good course but quire difficult and definitely requires a strong calculus foundation. The weird rhythm of the professor speaking is somewhat distracting.

By Alexander O

May 11, 2020

High quality and entertaining videos. Correcting some organizational mistakes (like current links to textbook) would make this a five star class.

By HAIBO W

Aug 16, 2020

The course explains the knowledge quite clearly, but it is not really easy. The Quizzes can have some more tips as that would help me think.

By Dr. T V R

Dec 27, 2016

I would like to have been able to review some quiz questions with answers after the course was complete. That option does not seem to exist.

By Gloria M

Sep 27, 2020

this is a good way of reviewing calculus . the part of functions was not that much hard as Prof Ghrist keep saying it just need commitment

By Harsha V

Feb 26, 2018

The lectures on Big O (growth rates) are way too hard to comprehend, compared to the rest of the lectures. Please do try to simplify them.

By Ayanabha P

Jul 20, 2020

It was a nice course. Learned quite a bit about calculus. slides designes was awesome. love to complete other courses by prof. ghriest.

By Ehsanul H R

May 31, 2020

This is a very good course to understand the main theme of calculus. Though it was little bit hard I enjoyed the course.

By Jorge C

Mar 18, 2020

Sometimes explanations are not complete enough to understand the problems. However, in general terms is a great course.

By Eduardo d R V

Mar 12, 2020

Excelente curso. Sugestão: maior número de exemplos resolvidos poderia facilitar a compreensão o estudante.

By Carlos M

Aug 30, 2020

Good course but some explanations are not clear. They should update the PennCalcWiki to make it work.

By Matthew D

Apr 25, 2021

Just needed a reference sheet with all the relevant equations, like the back page of a text book.

By german l

Sep 1, 2019

Excelente curso para volver a repasar los conceptos de calculo que estudiamos en la universidad.

By Nhi Đ H

Jul 15, 2021

Very helpful but sometimes the test requires more knowledges outside the lectures

By Bashir A

Jan 18, 2019

the big O part is a bit ubiquitous. But everything else is amazingly described.

By Michael L

Dec 27, 2020

Course hard -- professor could have been clearer with fundamentals in lectures

By raphael z

Apr 1, 2020

good course, not too hard. would like a little bit more of theory and proofs

By Yiwen W

Dec 6, 2019

Videoes of the course is very good but some questions are little difficult.