Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,856 ratings

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top reviews

YG

Jul 2, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

Feb 9, 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.

Thank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filter by:

476 - 498 of 498 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

By Becky B

Aug 17, 2020

I find the forums much more difficult to navigate than the edx.com MIT calculus course forums. So when I had a question on a homework question or needed additional explanation for a particular topic or type of problem I found it frustratingly difficult to find help in the forums.

I know he is very popular, and his videos are well done, but I didn't learn nearly as much as when I took the MIT courses on edx. I didn't feel like the videos adequately prepared me to be successful on the homework.

By Jawad

Sep 5, 2020

This course is good and the lecture is okay. However, I hated lengthy question that only assess your time in multiplication and addition of terms. I expect hard questions mean question that trigger higher level order thinking not complex multiplication and addition that is really time consuming but can be done without using critical thinking skills.

By María J L A

Aug 2, 2021

El profesor debería hacer más ejemplos parecidos a los que vienen en los exámenes. También, debería ser más explicativo en las afirmaciones que hace sobre todo en el tema de Orders of Growth, y hacer ejemplos análogos a los exámenes correspondientes. Gracias.

By Serdal A

Jun 7, 2021

the course is for those who already know calculus and looking for some more challenges. If you are new in this area you better take some basic courses, not this one.

By Tomas R

May 21, 2020

Great course, but I think that Calculus One (

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculus_One) is even beter. I found it more comprehensible.

By Canan G

Apr 19, 2020

Thanks for your efforts for this course but despite i have finished the course, it was hard for me

By Elany A d C

May 3, 2020

Taylor series is not important. I miss derivate, integral and more about limits and functions.

By james.v

Jul 16, 2019

Lot of gab between video lecture and assignment problems

By Saad M S M K

Jan 16, 2016

very defcult

By Amir Y

Feb 10, 2022

good

By Omar A K

Aug 2, 2017

Easy if you consider the fact that I learned the proper definition of the limit before differentiation and before (of course) any presentation of the Taylor series, with the proper integral rest of course, french mathematical education is not that bad after all.

By fadi E

Apr 24, 2020

The course is heavily based on personal effort and not on explanation from the instructor. The course forced me to take more searches in the internet and find wonderful sites and tools related to the taylor series.

By Natasha K

May 16, 2022

Information is high level but the homework is more detailed. Needed to find supplemental information to complete coursework. Found Kahn Academy to be more useful

By Ashkan R

Feb 5, 2016

Calculus isn't that LONG!! you can divide it into 2 courses, not 4, namely single- and multi- variable(s).

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2020

What a ridiculous course?!?! Hey guys, who did just rate it 5, I don't get at all!!! If you are reading this negative comments in order to understand wether to enrol, don't this!!! A little short video and a supercomplicated homework.

Isn't it strange assumption to assume, that the student already knows almost whole Calculus?

Just the waste of two precious days in my life, I could spend much much better!

The only thing I got from this course, I have to review my precalculus and I do not have so good Calculus basics as I thought!

I'd like to ask professor, who this course is for? I will go to Krista King to udemy instead.

HEY, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!!

By (Lain) L P

Nov 29, 2021

While in this class I am having trouble actually learning much of anything. There are no example problems to work through and the Core Homework quizzes have little to nothing to do with the lecture. It would be incredibly beneficial for me to recieve some form of examples or homework.

By Krzysztof F

Jan 20, 2021

Most horrible teacher and course! There is something wrong with this guy. Have to unenrole, unable to follow.

By Devo

Feb 26, 2021

No explanation or training before exams. We enroll in the course to learn, not to get intimidated.

By Saqer j a a

Oct 29, 2020

the level of quizzes not fit with the materials contributed from the instructor

By Tone M

May 22, 2020

15 minute cartoon then some unrelated problems?

No thanks

By Shubham S

Jun 24, 2022

why i havn't recieved my cerificate

By Mursalin S

Aug 10, 2020

certificate?

By Andrew P C

Jun 4, 2020

sucks