Chevron Left
Back to Smart Contracts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Smart Contracts by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
1,800 ratings
346 reviews

About the Course

This second course of the Blockchain specialization will help you design, code, deploy and execute a smart contract – the computational element of the blockchain technology. Smart contracts allow for implementing user-defined operations of arbitrary complexity that are not possible through plain cryptocurrency protocols. They allow users to implement conditions, rules and policies of the domain applications. Smart contracts are a powerful feature that, when properly designed and coded, can result in autonomous, efficient and transparent systems. You will design and program smart contracts in Solidity language, test and deploy them in the Remix development environment, and invoke them from a simple web interface that Remix provides. This course features best practices for designing solutions with smart contracts using Solidity and Remix IDE. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

DM
Dec 17, 2019

Excellent course! Provided a good overview of how smart contracts adds a layer of value to the evolution in blockchain technology. The hands on programming experience was quite helpful as well.

HT
Apr 8, 2019

Thank you; excellent starting point so I can have a good foundation to learn more Solidity programming; the discussion forum is helpful when I submit the code at the end of the project.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 349 Reviews for Smart Contracts

By THOMAS P G

Apr 25, 2020

Good course

But the coding could've been explained better, some complex problems are covered in a light manner

A strong base has to built on solidity first, then the programs would be easier to understand

By SUSHANT -

May 21, 2020

The course is really good. But the final programming assignment wasn't challenging enough. Although I might be judging too early considering this is a part of a specialization.

By A. A T I

Dec 10, 2018

Overall a good experience, but if more help available on course project, it would have been better. No response from teaching/supporting staff in forum. Otherwise, it's good.

By Aditya S

Jun 19, 2019

The Programming part could have been better. Almost, everything was written and didn't help me much in learning any new thing or gave me experience to write code on my own.

By Kanak B

Jul 17, 2020

Great course. I hope the working excercises would have been more (But may be because I code a lot). But for beginners who have no idea of coding the course is excellent.

By Gabriel M

Dec 3, 2018

The final project was a little difficult because if doesn't show where the mistake is, besides that the course is just great to have a first experience using IDE remix

By Filippo L

Jan 13, 2019

Everything great, however the last assignment could have some more guidance, or stepped approach. I had to do a lot of guessing instead of being sure of what to do.

By Yifei H

Jun 29, 2018

Good class. It can be even better if more coding assignments can be added. Currently there is only one coding assignment, which makes the course a little too easy.

By Rachana C

Apr 20, 2020

The submission of the last assignment was unclear which took a lot of time. The rest of the course is informative and clear. All concepts are taught very well.

By Jeremy A

Aug 4, 2019

Some concepts are under-explained, but an overall strong foundation to Smart Contracting. The course directs students to many external resources that can help.

By Gerard

Mar 4, 2020

Coding exercises should be build up a bit more active and broad.

Videos could be recorded a bit louder. Not easy to hear on laptop without external speakers.

By Tyron J

Oct 8, 2021

Better than the first course but still a little too high-level and easy. Wish they actually got into the more advanced features of the Solidity language.

By Ralf B

Sep 5, 2019

For further improvement the programming assignments, should be downloadable as text files. As copying from the PDF is tedious and error prone.

By Jonathan L

Jul 10, 2018

This was really eye-opening. I especially enjoyed the resources after each lesson, as they took me off into the wide world of smart contracts.

By Krispijn J

Jan 31, 2019

The course was really good, the only reason I don't give five stars is because one the final exam the questions/tasks were not really clear.

By Alexander P

Oct 5, 2021

project lacked some direction as the functionality was not that clear through out had to go to various outside sources in order to complete

By tsvi l

Jan 20, 2021

As a concise intro - it is perfect. I did think it could go a bit more into the 'why' rather than the how, but overall - very effective

By Rajaranga M

Apr 17, 2019

Useful course to understand the fundementals of Solidity language and the Remix platform. Some more hands on exercise will be helpful.

By Subrahmanyam V

Apr 19, 2019

Good introduction to Smart contracts as a concept.

Good overview and approach to designing Solidity based smart contracts on Ethereum.

By Dennis W K K

Jul 4, 2020

Although I have some experience with programming, but many concepts in smart contracts are new and need some time to slowly digest.

By Diego R S A

Jan 8, 2021

This course was surely one that provided me with the documentation and the tools in order to execute and develop a smart contract.

By Kyle J L

Jun 26, 2019

Very informative, however the final project was a bit finicky being handled by the autograder due to whitespace formatting.

By Nutdanai P

May 19, 2021

Good for an introduction to Solidity. If you're familiar with coding, might as well read it yourself, will be much faster.

By Javier F G

Feb 23, 2021

I learnt a lot about Solidity and smart contracts, It was also really useful to have the first experience with REMIX IDE.

By inam u k

Dec 3, 2018

I expected more coding assignment but overall it is good. And intructor seems nice and full of knowledge of blockchain