Chevron Left
Back to Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis by Stanford University

4.8
stars
638 ratings
146 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

AB
Apr 21, 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

LN
Jul 2, 2021

I was new to network theory but the concepts were very well articulated. A whole new way of looking at what makes social relationships, favor exchange(s) and social networks work. Well worth the time.

Filter by:

126 - 142 of 142 Reviews for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

By Justin K

Dec 10, 2018

Excellent course. The labs are the best. Pajek and Gephi will be handy for network graphing and analyzing data. Thank you Professor Matthew Jackson. Your work is very good for reference.

By Simon N

Jun 6, 2020

Interesting survey of modern network theory, from Erdos-Renyi random graphs, to SIS ("flu") models, and games on networks. Rather academic at times, without the rigour.

By Harkeerat S

Dec 22, 2016

The course is vast. The Professor is to the point and doesn't lack knowledge in his field.

I'd recommend this course for anyone interested in Economics. Loved it.

By Michael S

Jan 24, 2019

I loved everything so far, the quiz questions are well selected, but, I believe there are some notions which should be explained further mathematically.

By Tianduo Z

Nov 1, 2016

Very complex topic, very well presented. The materials are great! Would have been better to made mathematics pre-requisite clearer.

By Robertas K

May 31, 2020

Some quizzes have wrong answers, but overall it was quite a good introduction into network analysis.

By ND B

Sep 17, 2020

I request Prof Jackson to speak more directly into the mike. At many points he is not audible.

By Pedro G

Jul 2, 2021

Some modules were really useful to create solutions for my professional challenges.

By Sebastian H

Oct 15, 2019

Hohes Anforderungsniveau, mathematische Fähigkeiten sind zwingend erforderlich.

By Jose

Jan 23, 2018

This course is very good to introduce to the theory of networks

By XeRh

Aug 8, 2020

It's very useful if you want to learn more anout network.

By Dheeraj B

Oct 4, 2017

The discussion forums ought to be more responsive

By Navin N

Dec 10, 2016

A bit tough, but really worth the effort.

By Muhammad I

Oct 10, 2017

I'm sorry, but this course is really boring. Hopefully this lecture give more interactive approach (like animated presentation, pop up question, and so on) rather than voice of text in the slide

By ssagnik s

Feb 1, 2021

the content is good but without basic knowledge of network, it will difficult to understand

the narrator is extremely boring and the explanation is not clear at all.

I expect to learn something new but it bored me

By Alexandra M

Sep 9, 2020

hola! me gustaría darme de baja de este curso. NO fue una buena elección.

By Emil

Oct 27, 2018

Without previous knowledge in math, this course is not very useful.