Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,850 ratings
1,619 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,609 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Steffen A M

Jun 7, 2020

This is an awesome course. Life changing content explained with fun. Easy to understand examples and lecture but with so much content and important knowledge!

Totally recommend this course!

By Pearlyn T

May 30, 2020

Many thanks to Coursera. This is an awesome course which I strongly recommend. I really learned from this online course. Many thanks to Professor Scott for his great work and of teaching.

By Josue P J d F

Dec 29, 2020

Fantastic course! I can easily say it's a life-changing course, not that you become a different person, but the knowledge you can get in this course can help ANY area you are working now.

By Todd B T

Jul 16, 2020

Very interesting class, I really learned a lot. And I absolutely enjoyed Dr Plous, he is a outstanding teacher. I hope I am able to take more classes he instructs in the future.

Thank you

By Ahmed R E

Jun 5, 2020

If there is one course I would recommend it for anyone, this is the one to go for.

Social Psychology is a great branch to get involved in. Great Professor and interesting course content.

By saachi M

Jun 1, 2020

It was very informative and educative. The course was well laid with proper spacing between lectures and great study work. I strongly recommend this course to Social Psychology aspirants.

By Paola R

May 26, 2020

Loved this course! The lessons and the readings were always super interesting and useful. It helps you understand small things that happen in the day to day life and it opens a new world.

By Farah Y

Apr 28, 2020

A wonderful course that covers a sweeping range of social issues. It has been an entertaining and educational ride through social psychology and I'm so happy to have completed this course

By Luis G R O

Dec 28, 2020

Is an excellent course, well organized, with a lot of information and a great teacher. I love this course and I keep studying it even after I finished. Thank you Prof Plous and Coursera.

By Tushar D

Sep 14, 2020

Stellar course by Professor Plous. It has mde me think and look at life and its participants from a different perspective, in a different light. Thank you very much Professor & Coursera.

By Josseline A

Jul 29, 2020

Personality I have a great experience taking this course. Now, I have a new vision about the human thinking and people beahaviour. I am very grateful with all the Social Psychology Team!

By Jasmin P

Jul 20, 2020

Very informative and fun. I have to praise profesor Plous for such detailed analyses, documentaries and interesting reading materials. I wholeheartedly recommend this course to everyone!

By Sonam S

Jun 15, 2020

First course and I must say it's set a very high standard. Thoroughly engaged entirely, Prof Scott's a great entertainer who's been able to put this course together beautifully- 5 stars!

By Mary I

May 30, 2020

Professor Plous is very engaging and made the course very enjoyable to complete. I could listen to more lectures. Thank you for putting this together and making it informative and fun

By Aaron T

May 28, 2020

What an enjoyable course! I've learnt so much thru out this course and the knowledge given is very useful in our daily lives. And I love Prof. Plous videos! Fun and interactive sessions!

By Emilia M

May 6, 2020

I loved this course! Professor Scott Plous is an amazing professor and I've learned so much about social psychology. Now I kind of miss learning from him, it has been an amazing 6 weeks.

By Perivolaraki M

Dec 16, 2020

This has been an amazing course! It was always fun and interesting. Most importantly, it provides the reader with rare footage and readings from important social psychological research.

By Marge G

Sep 2, 2020

Social Psychology is facinating. So much was included in the course that I'm sure I could take it again and learn so much more. Also the presentation of the material was extraordinary.

By K A R 1

Jun 11, 2020

I am extremely grateful to Professor Scott Plous for doing this course. I have learnt a lot and have thoroughly enjoyed the learning process. Thank you once again for enriching my life.

By Rosemary p

Oct 26, 2020

Wonderful and enjoyable course. The assessments were challenging but achievable. The additional videos, interviews and quick snapshot quizzes were excellent. Thank you Professor Scott!

By nandyala s s p s

Sep 8, 2020

i get a great knowledge form our professor Scott Plous.

thank you sir for given such a great knowledge and experience to me .

very good thinking and enjoyable course.

thank you professor.

By TEJAS S P

Aug 21, 2020

Sir Scott Plouse Is A Really Great Man and He Is The Master In This Field.

I am Very Glad That I Learned From Him.

I am Looking Forward To Learn Something More From Him.

Great Teacher!!

By Hanna H

Jul 24, 2020

This course has opened my mind to new and unexpected realities. There is lots of good information here, applicable to professional and personal life. Lots of studies will surprise you.

By Prompiriya P

May 12, 2020

The best course on Coursera ever. Range of knowledge earned from taking this course is unbelievable and Professor Plous is super accommodating and entertaining throughout all lectures.

By Javier R R

May 8, 2020

Thank you Professor Plous I´ve leraned a lot of social psychology with this course, many things are useful for my career I´m very pleased with your job, take care and have a good life.