Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,615 ratings
1,535 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

PM
Aug 15, 2020

Professor Plous made me understand the lessons because he explained well all the lessons, and he provided enough information about the Social Psychology. More power to Coursera and Professor Plous :)

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 1,526 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Seán F

Jun 24, 2020

A wonderful course with an excellent lecturer. I know infinitely more than I did 2 months ago. A big thank you to Prof. Plous for his time and effort.

By Holly B

Jun 23, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. The lectures and assigned readings were all very interesting and the bonus materials added to the experience.

By Ana C G R

Oct 20, 2020

Es un excelente curso, práctico, dinámico y con excelente contenido. El profesor es maravilloso ¡ME declaro su admiradora! Lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Kaan O

Aug 26, 2020

It was a great experience taking this course! Terrific opportunity to expand your knowledge about social psychology. Thanks a lot to Professor Plous!

By Moses E

Jul 30, 2020

What an awesome experience.

It has been a wonderful ride for me, indeed coursera is where to go if you want to update your knowledge.

Thank Coursera...

By priya s

Aug 27, 2019

This is really Helpful for me to understand improve myself. also it help me for further learning .

thanks prof. Scott Plous and all others to help me.

By Mari L

Oct 28, 2020

Thank You everyone who made this course available to learners, it was enjoyable and very interesting course, I loved every moment of it. Thank You !

By Alexander C

Sep 11, 2020

I enjoyed every single lecture in this course from the past weeks. I highly recommend taking this course, you will learn a lot from Professor Scott.

By Devesh S

Jun 7, 2020

Great course. Everyone should have knowledge about social psychology. It can help us handle our personal and professional life in a much better way.

By vandit m

May 29, 2020

Excellently designed video lectures and readings. Strongly recommend this course to someone who wants to have a beginners perspective on psychology.

By Abhimanyu V

Dec 19, 2020

One of the best courses I've done on Coursera. This course will help you a lot in life regardless of what profession you're in. HIGHLE RECOMMENDED.

By Melda Ç

Nov 1, 2020

I enjoyed every minutes of this incredible course. Professor Scott is such a lovely, kind and fun instructor that make you gain a wide perspective.

By Stefanie S

Sep 29, 2020

This was the most in-depth course I've taken so far. Professor Plous put a lot of time and energy into developing this course, and it really shows.

By Reshmi T

Aug 21, 2020

The most enjoyable course I've come across in Coursera. I took this course purely out of interest, but I gained many fresh perspectives. Thank you!

By HUSSAIN D

Jul 6, 2020

I really liked this course as it opened my mind to a completely new way of looking at the world and how the way people act and react to situations.

By Sabina B C P

Jun 23, 2020

One of the most rewarding courses I have taken. I could notice the difference in me immediately. I am fortunate to be Prof. Scott Plous's student.

By Abishek A

Jun 21, 2020

Absolutely fun and knowledgeable course. Can change your perception about many day to day activities, your behavior and attitude towards something.

By R A H

May 31, 2020

thank you it was the most enjoyable coarse to take ever and professeur polus has an amazing way to teach you which is not boring but interesting .

By Mulki G K

Aug 24, 2020

Very Interactive and insightful course. Loved each moment of it. Heady mix of information with real life examples and applications and plain fun.

By Devendar S

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent course and the way professor scott plous has made it.- remarkable. thanks professor for the insight into the world of social psychology

By Indu B

Feb 21, 2019

Psychology has always intrigued me and this course is like an interesting trip to an exotic location that I have been wanting to take ever since.

By Isabelle S

Aug 23, 2020

I had a great experience learning over the duration of this course. Many aspects relate to our daily and professional lives. Highly recommended.

By Annika T

Jun 26, 2020

Videos were interesting and the readings were as well! So glad that the textbooks were available for free... Thank you so much Professor Plous!!

By Guilherme T P

Jun 15, 2020

A course that I will remember fondly, I hope that more people can take it and change their ways of thinking a little, just as I have. Thank you!

By kopal s

Aug 8, 2020

I highly recommend this course. So much to learn, easy to comprehend and you'll come out of it with better understanding of yourself and others