Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,844 ratings
1,617 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 1,606 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Stefanie S

Sep 29, 2020

This was the most in-depth course I've taken so far. Professor Plous put a lot of time and energy into developing this course, and it really shows.

By Reshmi T

Aug 21, 2020

The most enjoyable course I've come across in Coursera. I took this course purely out of interest, but I gained many fresh perspectives. Thank you!

By HUSSAIN D

Jul 6, 2020

I really liked this course as it opened my mind to a completely new way of looking at the world and how the way people act and react to situations.

By Sabina B C P

Jun 23, 2020

One of the most rewarding courses I have taken. I could notice the difference in me immediately. I am fortunate to be Prof. Scott Plous's student.

By Abishek A

Jun 21, 2020

Absolutely fun and knowledgeable course. Can change your perception about many day to day activities, your behavior and attitude towards something.

By R A H

May 31, 2020

thank you it was the most enjoyable coarse to take ever and professeur polus has an amazing way to teach you which is not boring but interesting .

By Mulki G K

Aug 24, 2020

Very Interactive and insightful course. Loved each moment of it. Heady mix of information with real life examples and applications and plain fun.

By Devendar S

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent course and the way professor scott plous has made it.- remarkable. thanks professor for the insight into the world of social psychology

By Indu B

Feb 21, 2019

Psychology has always intrigued me and this course is like an interesting trip to an exotic location that I have been wanting to take ever since.

By Isabelle S

Aug 23, 2020

I had a great experience learning over the duration of this course. Many aspects relate to our daily and professional lives. Highly recommended.

By Annika T

Jun 26, 2020

Videos were interesting and the readings were as well! So glad that the textbooks were available for free... Thank you so much Professor Plous!!

By Guilherme T P

Jun 15, 2020

A course that I will remember fondly, I hope that more people can take it and change their ways of thinking a little, just as I have. Thank you!

By kopal s

Aug 8, 2020

I highly recommend this course. So much to learn, easy to comprehend and you'll come out of it with better understanding of yourself and others

By Weixuan W

Jul 6, 2020

From this course, I learned a completely new way to think about my daily life. I will keep learning in social psychology for a life-long topic.

By Simon T

Jun 2, 2020

Delivered with tremendous humour, great enthusiasm, incredible insight, innovative videos and terrific engagement. Hugely impressed. Thank you!

By Magnus S

May 26, 2020

Professor Plous provides a very interactive and engaging way to learn and comprehend all of Social Psychology's terms and concepts. I loved it.

By Onah C L

May 20, 2020

The time and efforts put into this course was worth it, I enjoyed myself all the way from the beginning to the end.

Thanks Professor Scott Plous

By Abhijeet t

Apr 24, 2020

Excellent course on Beginners' social psychology. I recommend it to everyone from different stream to learn and bring out the positive change.

By Nagesh S

Oct 3, 2020

The Course is holistic approach to understand social behaviour. New insights in my understanding the society better and eventually the world.

By Mutiara E

Jul 28, 2020

This is such a great course! I'm thankful for Prof. Plous and everyone who's put a lot of effort in this course. Thank you for the knowledge.

By Марьяна Р

May 13, 2020

This is the best course of all that I have taken! I really enjoyed it! The professor is the best! I really love love love every second of it!

By veronica s

Aug 11, 2020

I really interesting course where you learn a lot, get new perspectives and enjoy the insightful and delightful presentations by Prof. Plous

By S. M N Z

Jul 22, 2020

An exceptional experience, learnt a lot. Changed my views and perceptions. Everyone should try this course. It'll have life changing effect.

By Kilsis J

Jun 9, 2020

I really enjoyed the class. I learned new things that if I had not taken the course I would not have learned. I enjoyed the teaching method.

By Victor R P

May 21, 2020

Thank you for this course. It has been a different experience to what I expected and I experienced in other courses, thanks professor Plous.