Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,990 ratings
1,685 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 1,688 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Marco R

Jun 25, 2020

The best course I've done in this website, excelent professor, tons of content, knowledge that goes far beyond academic uses. A life changing experience.

By Melissa L

May 13, 2020

As someone who has never taken a Psych course, I found this very interesting and the class was very well put together! Will definitely take another one.

By mihisha p

May 10, 2020

I was skeptical but as the course progressed i ended up getting the paid certificate because I found that much value in the course for future to showcase

By 刘媛媛

Apr 12, 2019

very useful and excellent course. all the video, reading, and assignments are all well organized. this course really change my attitudes towards my life.

By Genique S

Oct 4, 2021

I​ loved this course, however the final exam was hard. I would recommend a mock/example of the final exam for students so that they know what to expect.

By Xiwei T

Jan 30, 2021

I really enjoyed the lecture by Professor Plous and he opened a new window for me. Very impressive course and it deserves your every minute spent on it.

By Sanskriti J

Sep 9, 2020

This course is really worth not only in terms for gaining the subject knowlege but more in terns of self-help and interospection of one's own behaviour.

By Yassine B

Jul 12, 2020

Professor Scott Plous is a phenomenal teacher, I had a blast during this course and I got interested in a subject I had very little prior experience in.

By Gabrielle F

May 21, 2020

I learned a lot more in this course than I imagined. The instructor is great, the material very well selected and the discussions were very interesting.

By madhavi m

May 12, 2020

amazing course, I would recommend it to more people!

Kudos to Professor Plous, Wesleyan University and Coursera for putting together this amazing course.

By Fernando F

May 8, 2020

Very good course, perfect and very effective. Professor Scott is very very good, it made me want to know more about social psychology, a lot of success!

By Eddy C

May 1, 2020

A very good and enlightening course! Concepts are well explained with examples in our daily lives. One of the few courses that give an immediate impact.

By Elena L

Aug 3, 2020

Amazing!

Very engaging and with vast resources. Very well structured and delivered. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Professor Plous makes this course come alive.

By Jada W

Jul 19, 2020

This class was a great way to spend my time in quarantine. It was equally challenging as it was interesting, creating a wonderful balance for learning.

By Sai R G

Jun 13, 2020

The best course I've ever taken. The assignments were thought provoking. Great learning experience. A huge shout out to the instructor Dr. Scott Plous.

By Aske v d W

May 28, 2020

engaging videos and deep content. it's quite a heavy courseload compared to most courseras but if you're interested in psychology, definitely worth it!

By sudipta k

Nov 26, 2019

It was lengthy at first time, but gradually it became interesting and I learned very fast and it was fun and interactive all along with the professors.

By Apostolis K

Dec 5, 2018

An amazing course that i would suggest to everyone. It should actually be mandatory.

it helps you discover yourself.

Taking the course one, is not enough

By Leyla M

Feb 15, 2021

Dr. Plous's lectures were so unique for me, I loved it !!! Thank you for opening my eyes to so many aspects of our life which I did not notice before.

By Seán F

Jun 24, 2020

A wonderful course with an excellent lecturer. I know infinitely more than I did 2 months ago. A big thank you to Prof. Plous for his time and effort.

By Holly B

Jun 23, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. The lectures and assigned readings were all very interesting and the bonus materials added to the experience.

By Ana C G R

Oct 20, 2020

Es un excelente curso, práctico, dinámico y con excelente contenido. El profesor es maravilloso ¡ME declaro su admiradora! Lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Kaan O

Aug 26, 2020

It was a great experience taking this course! Terrific opportunity to expand your knowledge about social psychology. Thanks a lot to Professor Plous!

By Moses E

Jul 30, 2020

What an awesome experience.

It has been a wonderful ride for me, indeed coursera is where to go if you want to update your knowledge.

Thank Coursera...

By priya s

Aug 27, 2019

This is really Helpful for me to understand improve myself. also it help me for further learning .

thanks prof. Scott Plous and all others to help me.