Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,851 ratings
1,619 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 1,612 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Victor R P

May 21, 2020

Thank you for this course. It has been a different experience to what I expected and I experienced in other courses, thanks professor Plous.

By Grace K W F

May 4, 2020

Definitely worthwhile, and I can't believe it is for free! Everyone should take this and learn more about themselves and people around them!

By Douglas A F

Mar 15, 2020

Amazing course. Lots of interesting studies and facts are presented. It is very usefull for daily live and the knowledge obteined was great.

By Nayla T

Jun 16, 2021

Very informative and very well prepared course. Not a dull moment, and quite diversified in topics and methodology. Dr. Plous is fantastic.

By Jody C D M

Sep 7, 2020

The course was very interesting! Prof. Plous was very knowledgeable and easy to connect with in the way he taught. Very much appreciate it!

By Amrit T

Aug 21, 2020

what can i say. I enjoyed each chapters, each illustrations and everyday i learn something new. I am actually sad that course get finished.

By Kasim s

Jun 23, 2020

such a wonderful course, it has been an amazing journey with professor Scott . I have learned a lot and would strongly recommend to others.

By Ona M

Feb 23, 2020

Such a great and insightful course! Prof. Plous does a wonderful job to make the course feel authentic, engaging and extremely interesting.

By Medina

Mar 16, 2021

Very fun and informative course, something everyone should enroll in whether or not they want to pursue a career in psychology or similar.

By Leonardo D O

Jan 11, 2021

I Had a great experience doing this course, and I am recommending to every one that really wants to know more about social and psychology.

By Max S

May 10, 2020

Dear Professor Plous and all those who helped create this course, Thank you so much for a wonderful, fun and engaging learning experience!

By Tadej H

May 4, 2020

This course is great, very informative and easy to follow. Prof. Plous is an amazing teacher and it is really nice to follow his lectures.

By Olga S

Nov 4, 2019

An excellent course. Though I did not take the quizzes or tests, I still learned a great deal from the lectures and readings. Thank you!

By Anthony P

Sep 26, 2020

An amazing course and well delivered. Thanks to Professor Plous, staff & moderators, Wesleyan University and all those behind the scenes.

By Scarlette H

Jul 2, 2020

Thank you to professor Plous to encourage me, inspire me, and help me to obtain more acknowledgment throughout the process of the course.

By Miriam G

May 12, 2020

very informative and I loved the lectures :-) I have learnt so much about us as as individuals in our society. I definitely recommend it!

By Marre R

Mar 22, 2020

Enrolling in this online course has proven to be one smart decision! Professor Plous made this class seem enjoyable and very interesting!

By Ella H

Oct 5, 2019

This course is really of great help for me and I often repeat viewing the courses to gain deep understanding and to apply my life events.

By Jess M J

Dec 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this whole course.I convey my gratitude towards the entire team behind this course and our mentor scott plous.Thankyou!

By Nathalie B

Dec 19, 2020

Fantastic course thanks to a wonderful professor. You'll get a profound introduction into social psychology and will want to learn more!

By Anuranjan S

Jun 21, 2020

One of the best courses I have had in recent times. The course content is amazing. Heartfelt congratulations and thanks to Prof. Plous !

By Fabrizio F

Jun 17, 2020

Thanks to Coursera and Wesleyan University for this beautiful course, and thanks to the Professor Plous to give us so many knowledges!!!

By Deborah R

Jan 6, 2019

It exceded all my expectations. I loved the course. Learned so much and the classes were just incredible. Thank you for the opportunity.

By Diptesh B

Jul 15, 2020

Such a interesting course and professor is really very very friendly and very very very good. Love you sir from the bottom of my heart,

By Maitrayee S

May 30, 2020

Since this was the first time I was doing ANY course in psychology, it was very well explained and interesting. I enjoyed it very much.