Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,857 ratings
1,626 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 1,616 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Maitrayee S

May 30, 2020

Since this was the first time I was doing ANY course in psychology, it was very well explained and interesting. I enjoyed it very much.

By Bitanya B A

Aug 3, 2020

You will never regret taking this course! It will have profound long lasting effect on your life. I really enjoyed taking this course!

By Koyna P

Dec 22, 2020

I had fun while studying Social psychology from the teachers of utmost Wesleyan university. Thank you for giving me this opportunity.

By �ivil� M

Nov 12, 2020

Enjoyed every single lecture, especially video lectures presented by Professor Scott Plous. Thank you a lot. It was a great pleasure.

By Olena K

Aug 15, 2020

It's my third course on Coursera and it is the most interesting and really useful. It's a pity that it is  available only in English.

By Sakina R

Aug 3, 2020

It was a very informative and fun course. Thanks to Professor Plous who made Social Psychology so interesting to learn. Great course!

By Basu N

Jun 29, 2020

this was/is one of those subject that i always loved and this course is well worth to explore the interest towards social psychology.

By Ishika J

Jun 23, 2020

This is the best course I have even done online. All the lectures and assignments are very interesting and very practical life based.

By Nina G

Jun 3, 2020

A big thank you to professor Scott Plous! I learned so much not only about social psychology itself, but myself and my relationships.

By Chad S

May 26, 2020

I loved this course. So interesting and well presented. The only challenge was the final exam, make sure you take notes and study up!

By Jasmeena M

Feb 14, 2021

renewed my interest in psychology and helped me study my favorite subject online when i had no opportunity of pursuing it in college

By DETRIA W

Feb 12, 2021

Excellent course. It gives me another perspective on societal human behavior. It definitely adds more clarity as a Psychotherapist .

By Sagar L

Dec 19, 2020

Brilliant course! Covers most if not all major research and learnings in social behavior aspect of psychology over the last decades.

By Sarbjeet P

Sep 20, 2020

This course is exceptionally good for a beginner in Social Psychology. It helped me understand myself and others better than before.

By Musiienko V

Aug 7, 2020

i like the videos and wide variety of reading materials, i am sure that in the future i will apply all the knowledge i obtained here

By Lisa G H

May 2, 2020

I learned a lot and it was really fun as well. Scott Plous is a great teacher and all the external lectures where really well chosen

By Minh - T P

Apr 11, 2020

This course gives me a great amount of realistic knowledge that I can apply right away in my daily life activities and relationships

By Guillermo O

Nov 18, 2020

It was a wonderful experience that is helping me understand the political situation in Peru. I am very grateful to Professor Plous.

By Luiz F B D

Oct 10, 2020

Excellent course, I learned amazing and paramount teachings that I'll implement in my career and personal life. Thank you soo much!

By rou

Jul 17, 2020

It's so happy I can learning about Social Psychology online!

I especially like the DOC ! It makes me having a day I haven't imagine!

By Lim Y L C

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent course! Great materials, really insightful and Prof Plous is really congenial and made learning really easy!! Thank you!!

By Natasha G

May 4, 2021

This course covers such a wide variety of social topics, it blew my mind and made me stop to think about myself a number of times.

By Khadija J

Dec 24, 2020

This course was absolutely amazing! the videos were perfect and the examples stuck. ive learned more than i expected to. Grateful!

By alejandra s

Dec 11, 2020

excellent course. it was phenomenal, i am thinking more openminded right now and I have more empathy for people including my self

By Khushi

Aug 23, 2020

Professor Scott Plous has structured the course very well in an interactive way keeping students interested throughout the course.