Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,045 ratings
1,699 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,704 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Olga S

Nov 4, 2019

An excellent course. Though I did not take the quizzes or tests, I still learned a great deal from the lectures and readings. Thank you!

By Anthony P

Sep 26, 2020

An amazing course and well delivered. Thanks to Professor Plous, staff & moderators, Wesleyan University and all those behind the scenes.

By Scarlette H

Jul 2, 2020

Thank you to professor Plous to encourage me, inspire me, and help me to obtain more acknowledgment throughout the process of the course.

By Miriam G

May 12, 2020

very informative and I loved the lectures :-) I have learnt so much about us as as individuals in our society. I definitely recommend it!

By Marre R

Mar 22, 2020

Enrolling in this online course has proven to be one smart decision! Professor Plous made this class seem enjoyable and very interesting!

By Ella H

Oct 5, 2019

This course is really of great help for me and I often repeat viewing the courses to gain deep understanding and to apply my life events.

By Jess M J

Dec 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this whole course.I convey my gratitude towards the entire team behind this course and our mentor scott plous.Thankyou!

By Nathalie B

Dec 19, 2020

Fantastic course thanks to a wonderful professor. You'll get a profound introduction into social psychology and will want to learn more!

By Anuranjan S

Jun 21, 2020

One of the best courses I have had in recent times. The course content is amazing. Heartfelt congratulations and thanks to Prof. Plous !

By Fabrizio F

Jun 17, 2020

Thanks to Coursera and Wesleyan University for this beautiful course, and thanks to the Professor Plous to give us so many knowledges!!!

By Deborah R

Jan 6, 2019

It exceded all my expectations. I loved the course. Learned so much and the classes were just incredible. Thank you for the opportunity.

By Diptesh B

Jul 15, 2020

Such a interesting course and professor is really very very friendly and very very very good. Love you sir from the bottom of my heart,

By Maitrayee S

May 30, 2020

Since this was the first time I was doing ANY course in psychology, it was very well explained and interesting. I enjoyed it very much.

By Bitanya B A

Aug 3, 2020

You will never regret taking this course! It will have profound long lasting effect on your life. I really enjoyed taking this course!

By Koyna P

Dec 22, 2020

I had fun while studying Social psychology from the teachers of utmost Wesleyan university. Thank you for giving me this opportunity.

By �ivil� M

Nov 12, 2020

Enjoyed every single lecture, especially video lectures presented by Professor Scott Plous. Thank you a lot. It was a great pleasure.

By Olena K

Aug 15, 2020

It's my third course on Coursera and it is the most interesting and really useful. It's a pity that it is  available only in English.

By Sakina R

Aug 3, 2020

It was a very informative and fun course. Thanks to Professor Plous who made Social Psychology so interesting to learn. Great course!

By Basu N

Jun 29, 2020

this was/is one of those subject that i always loved and this course is well worth to explore the interest towards social psychology.

By Ishika J

Jun 23, 2020

This is the best course I have even done online. All the lectures and assignments are very interesting and very practical life based.

By Nina G

Jun 3, 2020

A big thank you to professor Scott Plous! I learned so much not only about social psychology itself, but myself and my relationships.

By Chad S

May 26, 2020

I loved this course. So interesting and well presented. The only challenge was the final exam, make sure you take notes and study up!

By Aydin K Y

Aug 10, 2021

Professor Plous is an extraordinary lecturer, this course has something for everyone regardless of their expectations or background.

By Jasmeena M

Feb 14, 2021

renewed my interest in psychology and helped me study my favorite subject online when i had no opportunity of pursuing it in college

By DETRIA W

Feb 12, 2021

Excellent course. It gives me another perspective on societal human behavior. It definitely adds more clarity as a Psychotherapist .