Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,506 ratings
1,496 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,492 Reviews for Social Psychology

By MK R

Aug 7, 2020

This course provided excellent content and Professor Plous was very engaging. I've had online course experience previously as an instructor and as a student, and I was very impressed with how interactive and innovative this course was considering the scale of the course and the fact that the lectures aren't live. I found the assignments and online discussions to be especially fun and applicable, though I found the final to be a bit more nuanced and disappointing in that regard. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this course!

By Misty E

Jan 13, 2021

I learned so much from this course that I will take with me. Lessons that will impact my life and "hopefully" positively impact those around me. Prof. Plous was easy to listen to and follow. Very sincere and engaging.

Although I feel some of the information was definitely geared towards one certain political view, I found most of the information to be extremely relevant and enlightening. Worth every minute.

By Vasileios A

Jun 30, 2020

Very interesting topics but this is a course that requires dedication, time and lots of studying. I was hoping for a more entry-level/introductory course, but this turned out to be a big undertaking. However, pleased I signed up for it. Professor Plous was amazing, the videos and materials have all been informative and the overall course setup was great.

By Lea L

Sep 4, 2020

The course is really interesting to take even for people who are not in the field of psychology. it will give you a lot of tools to understand yourself and others. The way Professor Scott Plous gave the course is very entertaining and compassionate, it added a lot of value to the content and overall message of the course. Highly recommend!

By Gabriel M

May 8, 2020

This course had a profound effect on me in many ways. I really enjoyed the learnings and some of the videos shared. I also enjoyed how it carefully wove in greater concepts of changing the world towards the end. My only downside feedback is that some of the video segments can be too long at times.

By Sara C

May 12, 2020

I loved the course, it was very interesting and extremely useful to cover a lot of knowledge on social psychology. However, I wish the assignments would be reviewed by people who actually have some knowledge on social psychology rather than peer to peer as I have not gained any valuable feedback.

By Aman S

Aug 9, 2020

The course is precisely interactive and well adjusted towards the positive development of an individual. The proper functioning of the variation in the assignments and the evaluation can lead the course to a total of five stars. The rest is worth appreciation and worth performing the course.

By Megan P

Jun 10, 2020

A lot of awesome material was provided, but it was a little tricky jumping back and forth between the different resources. Also like being able to do courses on the phone through the app when I have some time on the go, but the majority of this course required a computer or tablet.

By Danielle F

Jul 27, 2020

I loved this course! I learned so many things from taking this class and I’m glad that I’ve successfully completed the course. One thing I noticed is that in the final exam study guide, there were terms that we hadn’t discussed in the course, but this was a good course overall!

By Tonton M

Jul 30, 2020

A very interesting course. Material are well prepared. Thank you Profession Plous and his team to make a highly interactive content. Even though some of readings include lots of research findings that take time to digest, they are highly application to our daily life.

By Xavier K

Jul 8, 2020

Though I personally liked the course, it should be kept in mind that not everyone that makes this course will be a social psychologyst, maybe not even a psychologyst at all! Don't assume that everyone will use Social Psychology Network.

By Nadine B

May 28, 2020

I really liked the course and that Prof. Plous explains many different studies. This makes the topic even better to understand. I personally didn't like the peer assignments. Some students did not offer valuable feedback.

By Daniel G C

Apr 25, 2020

EXCELENTE EL CURSO.

Se puede hacer difícil las lecturas si no tienes un buen nivel de inglés, pero muchas gracias por darnos esta valiosa oportunidad de aprender entretenidamente acerca de esta útil carrera.

By Bianca L

Jun 30, 2020

It was an excellent course, excellent Professor. Just the final exam is a bit nerve racking, especially if you do not study like you should. So make sure you study, take pleeenty of notes and go for it!

By Wankaew

May 11, 2020

It's totally a world opener for me. I have learned lots of new, fresh and useful stuffs from here. Eventhough, there's a lot to read as well as the quizz is quite hard. It's worth to take the course!

By SHIVANI M G

May 3, 2020

Social Psychology is an amazing subject which every person must know. I personally liked the way in which the module has been designed. Thank you Professor Scott Plous for the beautiful module.

By OYEBANJI F J

Jul 24, 2020

This course had helped me in critical thinking, developed my social interaction, and enhanced me to be better in social expectations. Thanks to Professor Pious and every other lecturer.

By Lvova A

Nov 3, 2018

For me, this course is hard enough because of an amount of interesting content, and it's great. But for me the second part of the course very differs from the first, so be ready too.

By donnna s

Jul 29, 2020

The professor is very engaging, there's a lot of videos and reading material available in the course, there is a lot of insight to be gained from taking the course.

By Angie A

Jan 31, 2020

This course will give you a lot to think about and discuss with your friends! Thoroughly enjoyed it although there were moments when it got a little boring

By Matias C

Jan 4, 2021

Passionate and funny professor. A lot of very interesting material. Needs to add foreign approaches like the one of Enrique Pichon Riviere and others.

By Najeeb k

Jun 12, 2020

it was a great learning experience. I would like to appreciate Professor Scot for the way the course was designed and conducted..... GREAT!!!!!!

By Hosam E

Jun 3, 2020

Very Good. Excellent teaching from Scott.

Would definitely recommend to anyone would like to go in depth into a human thinking and behavior.

By Sarthak P

Jul 2, 2020

I personally will prefer this course as it is enjoyable to learn but yes at the time the exams are really top so go through it properly.

By abhishek

May 19, 2020

helps me to know myself and others too without being judgmental. Also the professor explains very clearly of each and every topic.