Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,241 ratings
1,775 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV

Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW

May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

1726 - 1750 of 1,787 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Andrew M

Jul 13, 2020

Things were going well until they got the Stanford Prison Experiment, this has been exposed as a fraudulent experiment and turned me off the credibility of the course

By Garlen H

Sep 6, 2020

The material seems very interesting, but the format of the assignments is not for me (submitting my cv, discussions with peers etc).

By Aderibigbe T

Feb 18, 2022

the learning intentions was so good but the material was very bulky and the exam was too theoretical

By Cynthia S

Apr 20, 2021

Im no longer interested in this course I did as an elective in my BSC. program

By Amy M

Jul 13, 2021

The test at the end sucks but the course was good.

By Abhay I

Nov 6, 2021

W​as a bit new change but interesting

By Nadya M

Aug 31, 2021

so many promotions for SPN

By Nando R

Jan 24, 2022

No es para mi

By LOICE W M

Oct 7, 2019

good so far

By Ananya I

Dec 6, 2020

not for me

By Chris N

Jan 22, 2022

The course had some interesting content. I was familiar with many of the experiments discussed but it was good to see them discussed more fully.

The course had two major weaknesses, however.

First, the lectures often made sweeping claims about behavior without defining a metric for that behavior, such as the claim that people are bad at predicting their own reactions to situations. What is the metric for such a claim? How accurate does a person need to be to be "accurate" or "inaccurate?"

On a related point, the questions asked of participants were often not well defined, allowing people to interpret them as they wished. For example, people might claim that a dispositional trait led to a particular behavior, but the psychologists claim that it is situational because most or nearly all people behave in some way. This does not differentiate between situational factors and moral agency, however. If a bank truck crashes and spills money all over the street, it might be true that most people will pick up the money, although it is not theirs. This can still be considered a dispositional trait because it is still dishonest to take other's money, and people have moral agency. Second, the course veered too far and too often into political polemics. I would agree with some of the views presented but disagree with others. In either case, I didn't take the course to be proselytized and many of the arguments would only be convincing to someone who was unfamiliar with the issues.

By Nafi C

Nov 6, 2020

I just started this course and personally, I don't enjoy it. The professor seems like a genuinely kind and intelligent individual, but the class is just so boring. Like even if I took this as a genuine course at my own university for credits, this content - or maybe just how it's taught - provides little to no motivation - at least for me - to even want to pay attention. I wanted to learn how people think and why they do things that they do, but I personally cannot continue this course due to how boring it is and how little pay off I have found from it. You have an almost 30 page required reading in the first week and the videos just ended up becoming background noise for me at one point. I found zero benefits from it, very likely because I did not like how it was being taught. I would not recommend this course unless you can sit at your computer for extended periods of time listening to someone lecture about whatever happened in some study here and there.

By Marie M

Oct 18, 2020

Many, many people enrolled in this course cannot get past the Randomizer Assignment, which is the very first assignment. A glitch in the system seems to exist, and the only "help" offered is a repeated admonishment to read and re-read the instructions yet again. While the assignment and instructions may make perfect sense to those trained and experienced in creating such charts, the assignment and administrators seem not to consider that there is truth to confusion and inability of students to successfully complete this assignment, and not for lack of effort. It is indeed as confusing as the many, many students have written. Instead of chastising students for not following instructions--which many have, perhaps reconsidering this assignment would be a bigger consideration given that many well-educated students are choosing to unenroll/drop rather than continue in an exercise of frustration and futility.

By Jacquelyn C M

May 31, 2020

The week one assignment won't ask me a question to finish the assignment. I've done all four tutorials, but there is no where to answer any question and I keep getting that I didn't finish the assignment. VERY frustrating. It is not working on YOUR end.

By Lenin L

Jul 6, 2020

Didn't like it. Too much Social, very little psychology.

Platform was good tho, many external resources but the content in my opinion is someway biased into social comment.

I recommend it only if you're really into social type careers.

By Yongkyung C

Apr 25, 2020

The contents of the course are absolutely terrific, but the technical support is terrible; quizzes are not visible, and it is simply not possible to participate in the requisite class activities.

By Vitoria M

May 1, 2022

Não consigo realizar as atividades por causa que as questões não são traduzidas. Mas o professor é ótimo. É triste eu não conseguir prosseguir por causa da falta de tradução. Abraços.

By Juan C E

Aug 7, 2020

It dis not wok for me at the first assignment the links didn't work and I did not understand what I have to do. I contacted the forum and the response wasn't useful.

By Yiyang W

Nov 8, 2020

Too many links, and I cannot open them, despite I want to learn more knowledge.

By Steve B

Feb 11, 2022

Could not use randomiser to resubmit assignment so moved on to another course

By Dhairya V

Aug 4, 2020

More of an advertisement than a course.

By Siddharth R S

May 19, 2020

Exam needs to improve the results

By Sabrin y h A

Jul 5, 2020

I don't get most of the lesson.

By Ярославна К

Apr 17, 2021

Конечный тест был с ошибками

By Theresa E

Jun 17, 2020

Confusing