Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,903 ratings
1,650 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,644 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Roger T

Jul 5, 2020

It's a superb experience to learn from Mr. Plous and my virtual classmates. It is way more than a process to acquire knowledge on an academic subject. Instead, it's more like a opportunity to see human relations and interactions in a fresh perspective.

A big thank to Mr. Plous and Coursera!

By Sharon P

Aug 31, 2020

Very thankful for this course. Professor Scott was amazing. His presentation of the course, his voice, tone and lightheartedness conveyed kindness. First impression, Professor is of a kind soul :) This course was very helpful in bettering my relationships; communication. Thank you!!

By Errol G

Nov 15, 2020

A top mark takes hard work but Prof Plous makes the course entertaining and life-enriching. The amount of freebies, gifts and take-aways is incredible, not least membership of Social psychology Network and a free webpage. A must for every social justice warrior and thoughtful human being.

By Axel J B B

Jul 11, 2020

Great way of learning about cognitive biases, self-perception, social construction of identity, bystander effects, groupthink and many more important concepts that help to understand how we behave and what we can do to improve our society by improving ourselves and those who surround us.

By Ines P

May 10, 2020

I loved this course! I can really recommend it! It is a great introduction to social psychology. I've learned a lot that I can actually even use for my personal life, personal relationship and at work. Professor Plous is a super professor, his passion for social psychology is contaigous.

By LUANA D R

Oct 14, 2020

This course is amazing. I learned about a lot of important subjects that I will use in my future career as a psychologyst, and also in my own life. Recomend this course to everyone who has the willing to learn more about life and society and wishes to help other with all social matters.

By Svetlana M

Jul 1, 2020

Fascinating course! Scott Plous is an amazing teacher and assigned reading and videos were very interesting and educational - loved it all! Social psychology is something that should be taught mandatory everywhere so we can be aware of our natural tendency to stereotypes and prejudices.

By Andrew T

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent course for a newbie to psychology! The delivery is well done, with many interesting videos to explain concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone who is curious to find out why people behave in a particular manner as well as people who want to know more about themselves.

By Jonathan A C

Apr 30, 2020

A well-planned course taught by a very enthusiastic, energetic and dedicated professor. My time dedicated for this course is worth it indeed. I was able to effectively apply my learnings in many practical ways especially on my daily life and with my profession as Counselor and Educator.

By Hamed V

Sep 30, 2020

This course is the best course I completed in my life. Professor Plous excels at explaining social psychology's most useful and entertaining materials in quite understandable and fun way. Countless visual aids and outside resources have used so as to heighten the quality of the course.

By Destiny Y M R

Jul 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this Social Psychology course. I gained a lot of interesting information that has certainly improved different aspects of my life. Professor Scott Plous is an amazing, creative and inspiring social psychologist and lecturer. Thank you, Prof. Plous! Thank you, Coursera!

By Carmen H

Dec 27, 2018

I learnt a lot through this course. Professor PLous is very funny and can explain complicated concepts in a very simple and clear way. Social Psychology is an instrument which we should all need to learn how to use and I hope more people can get enrolled in this course in the future!

By Anastasi S

Jun 5, 2020

Even though this course is for 7 weeks, I finished it in a month. This course is very entertaining and do not lets you to literally study. The one difficult problem that I had was very hard to read texts, but it's because English is not my native language.

I'm gonna miss this course.

By Dina S P

May 30, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much, I loves Scott Plous teaching methods, and enjoyed the videos very much. I would take his courses anytime. I thought he was very professional in including as much material as possible for people to leave knowing all the basic themes and much more.

By sarah c

Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely loved completing this course, it was so informative and enjoyable, the quizzes and assignments were great except the last quiz .This was my Achilles heel , but I stuck at it and I passed.. Thanks to all who were involved in this fab course,I really learned a great deal

By AESHA G

May 24, 2020

i simply love the course and a big thank to prof Plous for teaching me about social psychology and its relevance in our society in today's world. I always wanted to learn about social psychology and what better way than to start with Prof Plous. thanku for this great opportunity!

By Fabiola S

Sep 6, 2020

Me ha encantado, todos los recursos son sumamente interesantes y los ejemplos cotidianos te permiten aprender más acerca del comportamiento de las personas de una manera no tan complicada. Lo he disfrutado y los vídeos del maestro son lo mejor. Honestamente, me ha gustado mucho.

By Meenal K

Jul 18, 2021

Till date, I had only read about the renowned experiments in Social Psychology. This course gave me a chance to view the original clips of those experiments and also to apply the theories in everyday life. A very insightful course and highly recommended for Psychology students!

By Helen H

May 27, 2020

This is such an incredible course. Even at an introductory level, this course offers many incredible insights into my own life and all the lives around me. And some of the assignments downright changed my way of thinking. I'm glad that I had the opportunity to take this course.

By Mohammed G S

May 28, 2020

The course gave me a good foundation of social psychology. I would surely recommend it to the people who are looking to learn the basics of social psychology. And also Professor Scott Plous, he has done a great job in keeping the course material easier to understand and learn.

By Hugo S

Oct 4, 2020

This has been the most illustrative ,fun,useful course I ever had!!! .Professor Scott Plous is outstanding ! I really encourage you all to take this course and the opportunity to become a better person.thanks to the WESLEYAN University & COURSERA for setting this course up .

By Li H

Jul 14, 2020

What a wonderful course! I learned so much about human interactions and human situational psychology that it inspired me to want to discover more. I believe the course was very well-crafted and effectively carried out, and hence learning was made effective as well.

Thank you!

By Anass K

Jun 13, 2020

one of the most interesting courses I ever had. not just in the internet and MOOCs but even in real study. thank you Dr Plous and know that we are realy glad to have you as a teacher and so eager to have another course of yours. thanks to coursera and all the team. great work

By Ananda B

May 29, 2020

An exceptionally enriching and informative course. The course is delivered through easy-to-understand reading materials and videos. I express my gratitude to Professor Scott Plous, the entire course-team and Wesleyan University for making this course available online. Thanks.

By Robin R

Mar 4, 2019

The textbook was so good I've ordered it. The professor kept the lessons engaging. The aim was to help us apply what we learned to make the world a better place. Interactions with students from around the world was enriching especially since this was about social psychology.