Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,959 ratings
1,673 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

PM
Aug 15, 2020

Professor Plous made me understand the lessons because he explained well all the lessons, and he provided enough information about the Social Psychology. More power to Coursera and Professor Plous :)

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,678 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Olga I

May 16, 2021

It was an amazing experience! I am immensely grateful to Professor Scott Plus for this course and his tremendous work in the works he created. I sincerely hope that this course will be the beginning of a new journey in social psychology for me. Thank you very much!

By Prachi J

Oct 31, 2020

Exceptionally good and thought provoking course. I really enjoyed the videos and how professor made the course content so interesting. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wishes to learn new things around them. I have found it extremely valuable.

By Bruna S

Oct 31, 2018

A great course for those who enjoy social psychology or wish to know for another bias on already known topics. With complementary materials and interesting videotapes, this is one type of course that you definitely will not get out the same when you started. enjoy!

By KALIKI R R

Dec 18, 2020

I loved the Social Psychology course. It was fabulous to learn new concepts. I am grateful to Prof Scott Plous for the excellent material that he assembled and presented this course. The course has kindled new interest in me to explore this exciting topic further.

By araoluwa o

May 29, 2020

This course was amazing! As practical as something that can be seen and felt. Saw what was being taught in my physical world and could easily relate. The facilitator was amazing too! You guys did great, thanks for having me and I am glad I took this course! 😘😘

By Prerit J

Oct 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot about social psychology from this course. Frankly speaking, I did not expect an online course to be this interesting and informative. Everything was great and Prof Plous was splendid and I hope to see him someday.

By Michael W W

Jun 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It’s but the tip of the iceberg, and I’m certain I will revisit things frequently. The lectures and course materials provided by Prof. Plous were excellent, and the background support (Sue L. ) was outstanding. Highly recommended !

By Christine K

Nov 13, 2020

Outstanding job to Wesleyan University and Professor Plous and his Team. This course was the most well organized and engaging of all my other Coursera classes I have taken. I appreciate the enormous effort that it took to create this course. Congratulations!

By Lena M H

Aug 12, 2020

This the greatest course that I took, I encountered some problems in translation so I hope you to translate the course to the Arabic Language.

Thank you very much for everybody

I appreciate dr. Scott for supporting the learners and wish him good and his family

By Tan Y Y

Jun 6, 2020

Superb and interesting course which helps us understand why humans behave the way we do and promotes self understanding and managing relationships with everyone around us. Highly recommend this course for people who seek deeper understanding of human behaviour.

By 吉永由美佳

May 17, 2020

I learned much important knowledge which is very useful in my whole life. This course led me to think more positively about what was bothering me in my social life. Thank you so much. I will continue learning and also output my learnings for my career and life.

By Luz M R

Sep 14, 2020

Professor Scott Plous, it has been an honor to take this course. Your lessons are so clear and full of meaning, it has been a true pleasure. Thank you, it has been one of the best courses I have taken. Congratulations, I wish there were more teachers like you.

By Kulacha E

Jun 21, 2020

It really require a lot of effort to complete the course however, the assigned material especially the experiments, ted talk, animation videos, readings and lectures are really really good. Explain every aspect and theory crystal clear. Super good for beginner

By *AyeshaA.N.H.M *

May 30, 2020

I enjoyed this course a lottt :) Teacher Scott is one of the best teachers ever. I recommend everyone to take this, the whole course is very benefiting it will make you a better person and the assignments are really fun to do. All of the videos are really fun.

By Devran G C

May 27, 2020

It has been one of the most useful and enjoyable courses that I've ever taken. Every week, I looked forward to watching Professor Plous' videos and learned something new not only about social psychology but about myself as well. Thank you very much, Mr. Plous!

By GATTU U V

May 27, 2020

A very helpful and well structured course that gives a clear understanding of social psychology. The assignments where also very intuitive and insightful. Professor Plous was a great mentor and humours as well. I thoroughly enjoyed being a part of this course.

By Xuerong W

Mar 30, 2020

Wonderful course! Probably one of the best and resourceful courses I have taken in coursera! Thank you so much for presenting such a high quality course! I learned a lot and hope more people will have chance to at least audit this course and harvest something!

By Da C

Mar 27, 2020

This is one of the best courses that I've ever taken so far.. Thanks to Prof. Scott for making this course extremely interesting that I feel like I wanna re-take it again even though I've finished it almost a year already. I hope I can join your other classes.

By Adegboye O E

Jul 22, 2020

It was awesome and insighful. the course materials are very engaging and i appreciate the effort put in my the lecturer and his team to pull together so many useful resources for this course. it was a very fun experience right from the beginning till the end.

By Andrew F

May 19, 2020

Excellent course that challenges your held beliefs and helps you understand how we, as humans, interact with one another, influence others and understand ourselves.

I've gained so much practical knowledge for my profession (marketing) and for my personal life.

By Anna P

May 6, 2020

This course was incredibly interesting! Thanks to Professor Plous and the Coursera team for these 7 weeks, I've had so much fun learning Social psychology with your interactive viseos and readings, I've learned a lot and want to continue my studies!

Thank you!

By Ona-Lise

May 6, 2020

Incredible course I learned so much in this course and I've learned so much about myself. This course also helped me shaped a lot of my perceptions for the better. Thank you Professor Plous and team for all the effort and hard work that went into this course!

By Aundrea G

May 4, 2020

Great class! The professor was informative and entertaining throughout. I was able to maintain interest in the material because of the way it was presented. The discussions and peer participation also made it feel more like an in-person university experience.

By Mary E

Jun 2, 2020

My profound gratitude goes to Prof. P. Scott, and the team that put this online course together. I had wonderful experiences with the various course content. The content is simply amazing. It has changed my perception about Psychology.

Thank you and God bless

By Onyinye Y O

Jun 1, 2020

I totally enjoyed being a part of this course. I learnt a lot and will definitely put the knowledge to good use.

I intend to Re-watch the videos and also refer to the study materials from time to time.

Thank you to all the facilitators, it was worth the time.