Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,991 ratings
1,685 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,690 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Aundrea G

May 4, 2020

Great class! The professor was informative and entertaining throughout. I was able to maintain interest in the material because of the way it was presented. The discussions and peer participation also made it feel more like an in-person university experience.

By Mary E

Jun 2, 2020

My profound gratitude goes to Prof. P. Scott, and the team that put this online course together. I had wonderful experiences with the various course content. The content is simply amazing. It has changed my perception about Psychology.

Thank you and God bless

By Onyinye Y O

Jun 1, 2020

I totally enjoyed being a part of this course. I learnt a lot and will definitely put the knowledge to good use.

I intend to Re-watch the videos and also refer to the study materials from time to time.

Thank you to all the facilitators, it was worth the time.

By Matilda P

May 17, 2020

I found this course extremely interesting, engaging and informative. The coursework is easily accessible and and easy to follow and there are a wide range of bonus readings and videos that peaked my interest. Professor Plous has designed an excellent course!

By sattvik b

Jul 9, 2019

Excellent. Spread the positivity. This course allows us contemplate who we truly are. We are social creatures born to love and be loved. This course will remind you and give you many examples of how one can be positive and influence others in a positive way.

By Martin K

Aug 7, 2021

T​he course has been a nice introduction into Social Psychology. The material is really benefitial and applicable in real-life situations. I'd highly recommend you buy the books used in the material and read as much as possible around the recommended reads.

By Camilla S

Dec 15, 2020

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken. Fun, interactive and clearly structured, as well as highly interesting and relevant on a personal level as well as for society. My only concern is that everything took me perhaps twice as long as estimated.

By Grant T C

Feb 26, 2019

Professor Scott Plous is a saint for taking the time to help people like myself with this course. It was not only educational but incredibly entertaining and interesting. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience! My life has been changed because of it!

By Jean-Luc C

Jan 29, 2021

Finished the course with a certificate 2 days ago. Must say it's extremely worth it. I got into the course looking to gain an advantage in social situations, I came out gaining an advantage over myself. This is a must-take for students or recent graduates.

By Noime L

May 22, 2020

This is a really interesting subject to learn. Every week is exciting because you will learn new social psychology dynamics. I applaud Mr. Scott Plous for sharing his expertise in psychology to learners who wants to gain an understanding about the subject.

By Chirayu N

May 26, 2020

This course deserves more than 5 star rating! This course covers areas of social psychology in great depth and very specifically tuned for online courses. Professor Scott Plous is extremely knowledgeable, thorough and fun Teacher....thank you so much Sir!

By Evangelia M

May 9, 2020

If you're interested in Social Psychology, that's the right course for you! Professor Mr. Scott Plous is amazing, funny and just make the weeks fly, keeping the level of interest way too high. I'm so glad I had the opportunity to be a member of his class.

By Sumit B

Jul 12, 2020

This is an amazing course, i am the type who analyzes everyone around them and due to that it left me with various questions about their behavior , this course gave me answers to many of these questions and helped me understand their behavior much better

By Ayesha J

Jun 21, 2020

What a joy this course was! Thank you Prof. Plous for the absolute everything you put into in... the course material and videos were the best ever - the resources will be used even long after the course is over.

Thank you, learning felt like a privilege!

By Frolova A

Jan 17, 2021

I enjoyed the course very much, I learned a lot of new things. Very positive speaker with good articulation, relevant materials (video, Internet articles, books etc.) to life and work, links to dive deeper. Now I'm a little sad that the course is over;)

By Vaishnavi S

Jun 22, 2020

Forever grateful to Dr. Scott Plous's way of teaching the concepts patiently and keeping us engaged throughout the process. Looking forward to learning more about social psychology, and try to use it for the better, for me as well as the world around :)

By Vanesa B

May 2, 2020

That's the first Coursera Course I've taken and it was one of the most enjoyable and useful experiences in my learning carrier so far. The hard work, the effort and love put in this course really do show up and it's totally worth the time I've invested.

By Diana G M V

May 27, 2020

Es un gran curso para quien este interesado en el estudio de la Psicología o quien ya es psicológo y quiere expandir su conocimiento en la Psicología Social. Aprenderás multiples habilidades y lograrás cambios pequeños (pero significativos) en tu vida.

By Yasin M

Apr 29, 2020

Absolutely briliant . i enjoyed it and it took me less than the seven weeks to go through all the materials.

very useful and also gives you a lot of optional resourses and directions on material to broaden ones perspective.

Really pleased with the course

By Niovi P

Dec 15, 2019

I found it very interesting, especially in terms of learning and understanding some basics of how the individual, the group and the society behave and why they do in certain ways and situations. Really pushes you to think outside your own comfort zone.

By HILLARY J X 1

Jul 14, 2020

This is the best course to study social psychology on the internet. You won't feel bored in this course of lecture. The videos shown here are helpful in understanding the concepts in depth. Thanks to Coursera and team. Thank you Professor Scott Plous.

By Soban S

Jun 15, 2020

I loved everything about the Course , I got to learn a lot of things which would help me both Personally And Professionally , And I believe that everyone who is wants to study Psychology should do this Course , I love the way Prof.Scott Plous teaches

By Dhrumi S

Jun 7, 2020

I am a student of psychology and in my under-graduation we have one paper on social psychology. Literally all topics were covered in this course, in fact I learned newer concepts and the resources and materials, videos and papers given are fantastic!

By Aishwarya A

Apr 28, 2020

I am very grateful towards the course instructor Prof. Scott Plous to create such a wonderful and interesting course content and making available for everyone. This course on social psychology is really amazing and should be taken by every individual

By Imo G

Sep 28, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the method of teaching used. It was light, fun and easy to understand and apply in everyday living. Also I have learned so much about myself and ways to improve my daily interactions and relationships with people.