Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,003 ratings
1,690 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 1,694 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Vidya.M.V

Jun 28, 2021

An excellent learning experience. However, I feel the content could be divided further into weeks. It takes a lot of time for us to finish viewing the videos. This becomes hectic for working moms like me who have to juggle with a lot of activities.

By Gamala L

Sep 7, 2020

Professor Plaus has made this course so simple to understand. I will recommend the course to everyone no matter what background they have. This is how we all will understand the society and ourselves better.

Thank you, Professor! Thank you, Coursera!

By David G

Jul 13, 2020

I really appreciate the amazing effort that was put into this course by Professor Plous and his colleagues! I learned so much valuable information that I can apply toward creating better relationships and a more harmonious society. Thanks so much!

By Gail R

May 13, 2020

Took this just because another class I wanted hadn't started yet. Turns out this class is way better than the other one and I have learned way more than I expected to. Professor Plous has an amazing teaching style the is get for us adult learners.

By Cynthia L

Feb 11, 2021

at first i started the session so that i can add things on my CV. but now after completing the course i realized that it totally changed my way of thinking. i understand myself and my surroundings in a better way. thank you for this amazing course

By Zain u A

Oct 10, 2020

I have taken the course, and after successfully completing the course i strongly recommend every person to take this course who is willing to improve his social relations and social life, to understand others & managing relations more efficiently.

By Sarah P

Jun 26, 2020

Social Psychology is an amazing course which I really enjoyed. It is very informative, structured in a very good way and Professor Plous goes the extra mile to make it entertaining. Use the pandemic to educate yourself and enrol Social Psychology!

By Maria C D V

May 22, 2020

The course was terrific!!! All learning materials are flexible, complete and entertaining. The assignments and quizzes are very meaningful and collaborative. The instructor and mentors are responsive. The best online course I’ve enrolled so far 😊

By Babis

Oct 26, 2020

An excellent course for introducing Social psychology and its applications. Scott has a highly effective way to present and analyse topics with humor and style. Highly recommended to individuals and professionals with interests in related fields.

By Bharat

Aug 31, 2020

this is very Good course as the professional learning i suggest for every psychologist those are in the areas of social psychology should part take this course, i appreciate for the struggle as you put for make a valuable course for us.

THANK YOU

By Aleksandra S

Jun 25, 2020

Thanks to professor Scott Plous and his marvelous team, the course became one of the best academic experiences in my life! It gives a student loads of material, but in a very clear and friendly structure and makes everyone love Social Psychology.

By Seda P

Jun 6, 2020

A course for curious minds regardless of your academic or professional background. One of the best I have taken so far, the design, the materials used (reading, videos) and of course a great instructor, Scott Plous. I enjoyed it a lot, thank you!

By Harshith n

May 5, 2020

Exceptional course! Learned quite a lot about social psychology which i can use in various situations in daily life. Also helped to understand many factors that shape our society. Thank you professor Scott Plous for providing this amazing course.

By Tameka B

Oct 13, 2020

Hello! I am enjoying this course very much. There are a few technical difficulties that I hope will be rectified by the end of the course, yet overall the course is very, very interesting. The professor is well spoken, comical and knowledgeable.

By Taniya G J

Jun 28, 2020

The course has been a wonderful journey in understanding the world around me, as well as my own self. The classes by Professor Scott Plous was indeed exceptional. I am going to miss knowing more about social psychology from his amazing classes.

By Mara C S

May 7, 2020

I loved this course. Scott is a very funny guy and the way the course is build up, it doesn't feel like being back in school or so. I gained a lot of fascinating knowledge that I can use or just observe in my daily life and the people around me.

By Mark M

Jun 2, 2021

Great course. Very useful and eye opening. Instructing by use and discussion of historical experiments rather than just theory is a meaningful way to pass on knowledge. This needs to be taught as standard in high schools, if not earlier!

By Nicole E R M

Feb 25, 2021

O curso é maravilhoso, todo conhecimento adquirido nele é extremamente interessante. Vou tentar aplicar e observar a psicologia social na minha vida. Muito obrigada por todo o esforço, o curso é visivelmente feito com muito carinho e dedicação.

By Maria D L

Aug 14, 2020

great course, was my first time studying online and I loved it, easy to understand how it works, the material was super interesting, and I really liked the way the teacher speaks. Really made me realize a few things I didn't think about before.

By Yashwant S

Jun 4, 2020

This course gave me a new perspective and vision to look into the world. I find it very useful . i would like to thank Professor Scott Plous and Wesleyan University for a great content on psychology , also to Coursera for providing this course.

By JUSTIN C N

Jul 28, 2019

The course is an amazing course, I would recommend it to anyone especially people interested in studying and understanding human behavior or those that wants to go into social psychology later in life, this is definitely a good place to start .

By Pritish A J

Dec 28, 2020

A really great course! Prof. Plous has a calm, gentle way of speaking that resonates to all those who want to gain knowledge in this course. The assignments are great; actual work is needed here to submit them. Overall an amazing experience :(

By Noha N

May 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The way it was structured was very good. I liked that there was a variety of materials from videos to reading, to assignments that were actually fun to do. I learned alot and would recommend this course everyone.

By Nils F J

Jan 10, 2021

This rewarding and inspiring class made me look at myself, my surroundings and our world with deeper and better understanding. Armed with new knowledge and inspiration, I thank you Scott the efforts to make this class and sharing it with us.

By Lee J Y

Jun 19, 2020

A well-organized, structured, fun, engaging, course on how individuals interact with groups or one another and the inner workings of the mind and background influences. I'd say it's suitable for beginners, but it can be overwhelming as well.