Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,002 ratings
1,690 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

AN
Sep 26, 2020

Such a wonderful course, enlightening, compelling and fun! Professor Plous is an amazing source of education and kindness throughout the 7 weeks.\n\nThank you soon much for this learning opportunity.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 1,693 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Filipa A P D S

May 20, 2020

Excellent course! It is a great introduction into the word of social psychology and it is tremendously educational in a fun way. Hopefully it will shape some of my critical thinking in the future. I am truly happy to have taking this course.

By Marisa

Apr 8, 2019

Fantastic course, I have truly enjoyed and learned tons about why we humans act the way we do. Professor Plous is a pleasure to listen to and the team behind him has done a great job in making this course relevant and interesting. Thank you!

By Joanna S

Jan 8, 2020

The course is outstanding. Thank you professor Plous - I can definitely see how much work you put into creating it. If you are interested in psychology field and consider to participate - do that. It is worth every minute spent on learning.

By Perez A J G H

Aug 20, 2019

Este diplomado me ha permitido reforzar muchos de los conocimientos adquiridos en el aula, sabiendo lo importante de lo que es la interacción social dentro de la sociedad sin hacer juicios ni etiquetando a las personal sin antes conocerles.

By Vũ V H

Sep 16, 2020

Very interesting and informative course. This course help me understand more about how the human's mind work, thus help me to not only understand why others act the way they do but also understand more about my own self. Highly recomended.

By Сазонова О С

Jun 17, 2020

Despite the fact I've been studying psychology since being a student, I got a huge amount of interesting and new information. This is the best course I've ever taken! Thank to professor Plous and coauthors very much. I had a lot of fun!!!

By Elisabeth d R

Apr 17, 2020

It is an excellent course to enhance your knowledge of the subject and challenges continuously your thoughts. Lectures and materials of very high quality. I felt engaged from the beginning to the end and thankful for the entire experience.

By Niraj S N

Jun 6, 2021

This Course is really best I recommend this to everyone . it will make to more understandable in taking your life decision and in understanding outside world . I want to thank professor scout plous for providing a valuable teaching to us.

By jashanjot s

Sep 12, 2020

Psychology is something, which attracts few and is really worth to study. I'm a mechanical engineer and chose social psychology course and really very happy for my decision. I recommend this course if you are reading this.. God bless you.

By Vasileios S

Sep 8, 2020

One of the best courses I've ever had. The instructor delivered the lectures in a unique way, and the overall course was very well structured and informative. It also motivates people to look further into the subject of social psychology.

By Deah F

Dec 4, 2020

First of all, thank you so much to the great Scott Plous and the whole team. I learned so much from the course and indeed the certificate is just a bonus. The reading materials and presentations are superb. Best course for me thus far.

By Kshiti J

Jun 21, 2020

I indeed had an amazing experience in this course. It taught me so much about human relationships, behaviour and group psychology. I loved how interactive the video and discussion forums were. Overall it really was an amazing experience.

By Nadkanittha M

May 11, 2020

most fun but also most difficult course i have learnt !! very informative and i suggest everyone to do honor assignment. I did with my family and it was a great experience and super fun. Thank you everyone who made this course happen.

By laszlo m l

Apr 28, 2020

The course was both educational and fun. The lessons were kept interesting with a variety of learning modules - from videos to reading to animations. And the breadth of the coverage for a certificate course was fairly comprehensive.

By Thomas R S

Apr 6, 2020

Very interesting and well put together class. Professor Plous is a very dynamic instructor, and in addition to the class lectures and reading material I really enjoyed the informal skype videos of Philip Zimbardo and Mahzarin Bahari.

By Vu T V

Jan 15, 2021

I have learned a lot of valuable knowledge in this course, and I believe they will be very helpful in my life. Psychology is actually not that complicated, it is about the way understand us better to adjust our behavior accordingly.

By Ibana M

Jun 2, 2020

I enjoyed this course so much! It was a great learning opportunity with a lot of insights and you can get connected with fellow students all over the world studying the course at the same time. Highly recommended to any human being!

By Shriram

May 15, 2020

This is a very simple & very practical course designed to introduce important concepts of Social Psychology. it progressed like a waterfall till I finished it with clear understanding of the subject. I would strongly recommend this.

By Priya V K

Aug 8, 2019

Learning about social psychology was very informative and helped me to gain insight into various aspects of psychology which was new to me and want to thank all the mentors in providing support and guidance in learning this course.

By Manikantan

Sep 2, 2021

I have completed the course and it was really interesting / learned many new things.

As mentioned above I have completed the course two weeks back and is still showing as in progress. Please could you advise the reason for this ?

By Kirsten J I

Mar 28, 2021

The professor is honestly amazing and is so good at teaching.

This course is not a typical read and recite type, it is interactive and fun and I enjoyed this way more than the usual course types as it makes it way more interesting.

By Laura M R R

Aug 2, 2020

This course is one of the essentials for whoever person studying whatever field, it applies for every single aspect in human life, and the best Teacher ever with the funniest and knowdlegable methodology. Really loved this course.

By Fernando B L

Jul 26, 2020

215/5000

The Social Psychology course is wonderful. Interesting, creative and inspiring. I am very grateful to all colleagues and teachers, especially to the fun and didactic Professor Plous! I would love to welcome you to Brazil!

By Kaiomi J

Apr 30, 2020

This was one of the best courses. Even though I never met professor Plous, it always felt like I saw him everyday and knew him personally. Great content, and it taught me so much more than I thought there was to Social Psychology.

By Anita S

Mar 17, 2021

This course has not only helped me understand human behaviour but also helped me take an introspective look at myself and will further benefit me with my career and life.

Thank you professor Scott Plous, for this amazing journey.