Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,993 ratings
1,685 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

AN
Sep 26, 2020

Such a wonderful course, enlightening, compelling and fun! Professor Plous is an amazing source of education and kindness throughout the 7 weeks.\n\nThank you soon much for this learning opportunity.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,690 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Denys K

Feb 4, 2021

It was pleasant for me to pass journey of the course! It helped me to realize effects that are happening: bystander, social loafing, conformity... Now I have another ideas that I had before course.

Thank you professor Scott Plous!

By Rachelle L

May 24, 2020

Great experience, I really enjoyed the challenge of sharing and learning about others and Social Psychology. I believe this can be a great resource to have for many personal and workplace situations that come up from day to day!

By James A H

Mar 3, 2021

Decided to use my furlough/lockdown time ( here in the UK ) usefully and try this course. Was not disappointed as found this to both tremendously informative AND entertaining. Now off to do my next course on personality types!

By Rita M

Dec 27, 2020

Our instructor changed my whole thinking towards psychology, taking this course was a challenge for me and I am glad I passed this course with honors, and more importantly with lots of life lessons to keep . Thank you Dr. Plous

By Aditya G

Dec 20, 2020

Very nice and informative course. Mentor has taken an excellent amount of hard work to create this course. Best course for those who want to get the introductory knowledge of psychology and to explore the different areas in it.

By humera b

Dec 14, 2020

It was enjoyable, and I learned a lot of new things. if you want to be a social psychologist you should definitely go for this course. It isn't too hard but isn't easy either. nothing is easy in life so go for it if you want to

By Olalere I O

May 8, 2020

As far as social psychology is concerned, there's no better tutor than Professor Scott. He makes learning so fun, intriguing and interesting. By purchasing social psychology from Wesleyan University, you'll get value for money.

By Diana S

Mar 27, 2021

Excellent content and even better delivery. If you want to understand human behaviour (and much more) and broaden your horizons, this is a must-enrol course. Insightful, thought-provoking, surprising and very enjoyable course.

By FRANCISCO E M L

Feb 8, 2021

Buen curso, me hubiera gustado que los textos tuvieran un tipo de letra y se pudieran copiar para llevarlos a un traductor, esto ayudaría a la gente que no domina el ingles, aunque entiendo porque el motivo de esa prohibición.

By Audric

Jun 7, 2021

Well taught course by Professor Scott Plous, a wide variety of reading materials and accompanying videos to explain and elaborate on the content. Interesting and thought-provoking assignments as well, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

By Beatrice O

May 16, 2020

I am very happy about this course. I helped me a lot in understanding others and myself. From the beginning of this course, I have started applying social psychology teachings in my daily life.

Thank you very much, Professor!

By Pubali C

Jun 23, 2020

I loved the course! The contents were very informative and interesting. Thank you coursera and Proff Plous for setting up such a course which was so interesting for students like me who had never studied psychology before!

By Sofi D

Aug 24, 2020

This course has helped me in both my professional and personal life. I found it very interesting and easy to understand even though I didn't study Psychology.

Excellent teacher and very good video references and readings.

By Lim K B J

Jun 10, 2020

One of the best course in understanding Social Psychology. The content, readings, assignments and exams were well thought out . I enjoyed the lectures and the videos by Prof. Scott Plous. Excellent course ! Thank You!

By Paolo P

Jun 9, 2020

Great, great content! Prof Plous was very engaging and the course material, recommended readings and tasks were really good! I made a dozen friends that I hope to keep in touch with plus learned a lot about me and others!

By DUNG T P

Jan 16, 2021

This course is excellent. I have learnt a lot of information about social psychology. The example and experiment were also good for my research. Once again thank you so much for hard work who create a astonishing course.

By Maharaja P S

Jan 5, 2021

Undoubtedly the best Coursera course I ever attended. Prof. Scott Plous is very knowledgeable and is highly effective in teaching. Highly recommend this course for anyone wanting to learn the basics of Social Psychology.

By Muhanad E H

Dec 24, 2020

One of the most interesting courses for any individual to take on. I learned plenty of useful cognitive errors that the individual may go through during a single day. Definitely worth reading for self growth and benefit.

By Gauri J

Jan 2, 2019

Very insightful and engaging course!

The reading material is highly informative and the assignments are hands on application of the theory learnt. Extremely well designed course!! Kudos to Prof and the course designers!!!

By Carlos G P

Nov 7, 2020

Amazing course, learn a lot of stuff that was against my perception of the reality of social interaction. Loved de curiosities, didn't love that much group assignments but I ended up understanding why they were so used.

By Rhoneka M

May 13, 2020

I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from this course when I signed up. I am happy that I decided to join and earn a certificate! The content was well organized and formatted. I certainly suggest this course to others!

By Carolin S

Jun 1, 2020

It was the best course I ever have. English isn’t my first language. But that was never an obstacle. I have learned so much and I hope, that I will never forget it.

It was an honor to learn from you. Many many thanks!!

By Stefano L

May 26, 2020

The course of Prof. Plous is really exceptional! The material proposed is very rich, diverse and well-organized, and, most importantly, very well explained. A great overview to Social Psychology, highly recommended!

By subodh d

Apr 24, 2020

amazing instructor, awsome video tutorials with cases. Somewhere assignments are time taking & complex in nature. The exam, the quiz is quite interesting to attend. Overall, a nice course to start with as a beginner.

By Inge S

Aug 31, 2020

Scott P. is engaging, lively, and covers so many different subjects for Social Psychology! I love all the free videos, the jokes, and the Day of Compassion Social Experiment. I'm so happy I got to take this class!