Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,055 ratings
1,700 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,705 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Inge S

Aug 31, 2020

Scott P. is engaging, lively, and covers so many different subjects for Social Psychology! I love all the free videos, the jokes, and the Day of Compassion Social Experiment. I'm so happy I got to take this class!

By Nathaly T

Aug 18, 2020

This was beyond my expectations; I learned a lot about others and about myself, I helped others and got closer to the version I want to become, and above all, I had a lot of fun. Excellent! I am honestly speechless.

By Sara B

Aug 16, 2020

Learned that to question myself and my value and accept change . Learned to keep my interaction positive with others and ask what happen to them ? and how can I help them ? use myself as a powerful agent of change .

By Ankita O

Jul 10, 2020

I have done a few psychology courses but this course was really special. I did things over there like writing 2000 word essays that I did not think I would be able to do otherwise. I am really glad I did the course.

By Andrea L

May 19, 2020

Professor Plaus is very interactive and engaging with his lectures. A 10 minute lecture segment will feel like it just flew by. Everything he teaches is applicable to daily life, it's an absolutely wonderful course.

By JAIME S B

May 16, 2020

I was an amazing opportunity for me to do and learn so much with this course. Special thank you to the Charismatic Professor Scott Plous for making it so enjoyable. I couldn't have chosen a better course for myself.

By Jonathan N C K

May 7, 2020

This is the only online course I've taken that manages to be informative and exciting at the same time. Professor Plous and the team does a wonderful job of making this course as engaging as an online course can be!

By TANIA S I

Oct 28, 2020

Curso excelente, este curso te enseña o te hace ver desde la perspectiva del otro, te hace saber que no eres el único en el mundo con problemas. Es un curso excelente de psicología social, aprendes muchos conceptos

By Krissa J T

Jun 26, 2020

This course even more intensifies my great love for Psychology that I plan to take a minor on Social Psychology or even a dual course on it. Who knows? A course that will have a long lasting positive impact on you.

By Yasin U

May 19, 2020

great course. professor plous is very successful in providing the essence of the context and keeping the interest of the student alive with so many examples, videos, animated lectures, guest lectures and TED talks.

By André V

May 12, 2020

Extremely detailed, interactive, relevant and interesting overall. The teaching methods are effective and special gratitude to Professor Scott Plous for pioneering Social Psychology at Coursera and excelling at it.

By Jessica M

Apr 25, 2020

The professor is amazing and the content is mostly light hearted and fun even though we covered some sensitive social issues. I would recommend this course to everyone who is looking to improve their social impact.

By Divya

Jul 2, 2021

This was a very interesting and easy to follow along course. Plus Professor Plous is a very amazing teacher and makes it easy to understand hard concepts. The added material and bonus material provided is amazing.

By Roberto M

Apr 8, 2021

Un Mooc placentero de cursar tanto por la dinámica que brinda la plataforma así como la sensación de calidez y cercanía que uno experimenta producto de la grandiosa enseñanza impartida por el profesor Scott Plous.

By Sathish K T

Jun 3, 2020

One of the best and most resourceful courses i have ever taken. I don't think we will learn anything better than this in India. Even if I enroll myself for a two year full time post graduate course in Psychology.

By Viktoria K

Sep 1, 2019

I loved this course, learnt so much and have been able to put those learnings into practice. I think my colleagues might have had enough of me praising the importance of social psychology. Definitely recommend it.

By Paul F

Oct 18, 2021

E​xcellent course, well structured and good pace. Thoroughly enjoyed and will definitely share my experience with others. I learned a tremendous amount of new information that I can apply immediately in my life.

By Tuğçe B B

Jun 27, 2021

Amazing course. Professor Plous is very good at teaching and making the lessons more fun. There is a lot of things you can learn about daily life and human behaviors. Also you can apply them to your own life too.

By Pankaj M

Jun 2, 2020

Coursera is providing vast varieties of courses covering all trades .I completed social psychology course here. Lectures are awesome very good study material. What we expect it provides more than that.I loved it.

By Lisa D

Sep 8, 2019

Really fun, challenging, and insightful course. I recommend for anyone interested in the human experience. Professor Plous is a fantastic guide into the world of human behavior and psychology! I highly recommend.

By Mohammed Y A

Apr 27, 2021

The course is very interesting and informative. Special thank to the instructor for his effort and for Coursera for having this excellent course. Highly recommended for those who interested in social psychology.

By Sheetal D

Jun 18, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, all thanks to the Coursera team for designing the course in such an adaptive manner and major thanks to Professor Scott Plous. You are an amazing teacher with a very cute smile.

By Magesh B

Jun 9, 2020

indeed a great experience, It felt like I was traveling along the instructor Scott Plaus. He made it excellent and informative. More than a real class room it is awesome..Great learning in a great way. Thank You

By Kaixian L

May 17, 2020

This is one of the most interesting course that I have ever taken. It is very informative and useful! Thank you Professor Scott Plous and the team for the interesting lectures and reading material. Thank you! :)

By Kritika G

Jun 14, 2020

It is an amazing course.I love the way Prof.Scott teaches and one should definitely take this course. I am a school student and this course has helped me a lot ,it has changed the way I look things and society.