Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,065 ratings
1,703 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,707 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Kaixian L

May 17, 2020

This is one of the most interesting course that I have ever taken. It is very informative and useful! Thank you Professor Scott Plous and the team for the interesting lectures and reading material. Thank you! :)

By Kritika G

Jun 14, 2020

It is an amazing course.I love the way Prof.Scott teaches and one should definitely take this course. I am a school student and this course has helped me a lot ,it has changed the way I look things and society.

By Aswathi A

May 3, 2020

It is a wonderful course and gained lot from this course as a Psychology student. I sincerely that Dr. Scott Plous for his great contribution and you are a wonderful teacher. All the best for your new ventures.

By Narayanan N

Jan 30, 2021

My first ever online program done during the Corona pandemic 2020, spent my time very very very useful. Thanking all members of Coursera and Professor Scott's team for making a valuable and enjoyable syllabus.

By Charmi B

Oct 23, 2020

I learnt things that I never thought I would learn from an online platform. This was a very thoughtfully drafted course which covered amount of interesting topics and assignments. I absolutey loved this course

By Adrienne B

Jun 29, 2020

What an eye opening ,inspiring course!! Prof Plous did such an amazing job , I wish he could teach all my online classes. Thank you so very much to Prof Plous and everyone who made this online course available

By Pranjal j

Jun 14, 2020

One of the best course available on coursera. The content, Material, Way of explanation, Structure of the course, everything is amazingly perfect. It is deep, insightful, fun and highly impactful, all at once.

By Carrie L

Jul 13, 2019

Excellent course! Worth the time and effort! You learn very interesting things about how we as humans interact with one another and how our behavior is often controlled by circumstances outside of ourselves.

By Jodi-Ann J

Oct 21, 2020

This course is brilliantly organized. The course material may feel a bit dense at times, but it is quite well placed. Professor Plous does a great job of moderating. And, his corny sense of humor made my day!

By Makie

Jun 6, 2020

Thank you so much Prof...

This course has transformed my life.. I can't unlearn what have learn in this course. Hope to study further ... Truly knowledge is power. I would recommend this course to anyone 110%.

By Amy R

May 15, 2020

I thought the course was absolutely fantastic, it was thought provoking and I learned so much. The lectures and readings are easy to understand, and it's interactive, which is great, it keeps you on the ball.

By Danial J

Sep 25, 2020

Learned many things about human behaviors and societies. Special thanks to Dr. Scott Plous, Wesleyan University and Cousera for such a great course and their generosity to make the course available for free.

By Shirley E M

May 31, 2020

This is an exceptional course, Professor Plous is an amazing lecturer. The content of the course is massively interactive and educational. The quality is very high and I enjoyed the time spent on the course.

By Mahlet S

Oct 13, 2020

Anyone that has taken this course is able to understand others as well as themselves. I also changes the way they view the world as it offers alternative ways and definitions of our everyday circumstances.

By Hazal S

Jul 23, 2020

This course provided me a wide knowledge in an attractive and fun way. I appreciate the course providers' effort in this course. I highly recommend it to the people who are interested in Social Psychology.

By Rakhimzhanova A

Jul 14, 2020

one of the most interesting course! thanks all you guys< special thanks to our teacher Scot Plaus for making our study as an amazing journey in social phycology !

best regards

Aiym Rakhimzhanova Kazakhstan

By Parnian D

Mar 29, 2019

This is my first time sticking up with an online course until the end. Professor Plous is absolutely the best teacher I have ever had and the concepts were so interesting I could not give learning a break.

By Tomas F

Mar 29, 2021

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken, whether they be face to face or not. If you have the ability to take this course and are interested in behaviour take this course you will not regret it.

By Nelia L

Aug 25, 2020

I like this course very much as well as ProfessorScott Plous. I do hope that this kind of courses should be implemented for credit to undergrads. Thank you Professor Plous for the job excellently done.

By Ananya B

Jul 14, 2020

Amazing course to know more about things which happen to us daily in our social settings! Do take for an impressive journey to be pleasantly surprised and beak barriers of previously held beliefs and bias

By Luis E C

Jul 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and find Professor Plous very good and entertaining. I believe that the focus on empathy, and the analysis of compassion and relationships is very helpful. Thank you very much.

By Taron S

Jul 5, 2020

Take this class if you want to challenge yourself and learn about society as well as psychology. You end the course with the Compassion Day project, which makes this class one of my favorite classes ever!

By WILLIAM K S

Jul 3, 2020

A very good course. I enjoyed everything about it. It challenges you, your way of thinking and makes you assess what you already know. And the instructor is so good, kudos to you Prof. Plous and your team

By Eric P

Apr 24, 2020

It's great! It taught me a lot and it revived that passion I had for psychological experiments. I hope one day, I will be as great as all of the psychologist in this course. Teacher Scott Plous is aweome!

By FRANCO S N

Oct 5, 2020

Very good course, Professor Plous is really amazing, the way the course is done is fantastic and what you learn is invaluable, people should really join and learn some social psychology with this course.