Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,064 ratings
1,703 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

PM
Aug 15, 2020

Professor Plous made me understand the lessons because he explained well all the lessons, and he provided enough information about the Social Psychology. More power to Coursera and Professor Plous :)

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,707 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Aylin

Sep 13, 2020

I gained more than expected. From Professor Plous's great narration to great variety of course materials, this course provides a whole new insight for the world around us and the world within ourselves.

By Pablo G A

Jun 22, 2019

Many thanks for creating this course. I learned many useful concepts about social psychology and these ideas help me a lot in daily life. I appreciate very much this course materials. Thanks from Madrid.

By Kristal T A

Mar 20, 2021

Prof. Plous Social Psychology course was my first on this course on Coursera and he was fun, interactive despite it was fully online. The information was sufficient. The assigned videos went along well.

By Syeda F N H

Jun 27, 2020

It was a great course to know about many topics on social psychology.I was stimulated to think about many social topics and norms and gained a lots of new perspectives.

Hope it becomes a specialization!!

By Jyoti A

Feb 19, 2021

Thank you !! Great exposure to gain knowledge from professor Scott Plous. I must say a wonderful experience and gain lot of knowledge . This course generate more self interest towards social psychology

By Maydelene L

Jun 29, 2020

Very interesting course!! Lecturer was very engaging and the course was very well-organised and easy to follow. The course definitely further sparked my interest in pursuing further study in the field.

By Angel S L

Dec 31, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and learned so much. I thank Professor Plous in providing this amazing curriculum and allowing everyone to learn at their own speed. Just amazing that we can learn for free!

By Priyanka T

Jul 25, 2019

Professor Plous is an extremely engaging teacher, and I would totally recommend this course to anyone who is even remotely interested in social psychology. You'll fall in love with the field. I did. :)

By Edward G W

May 21, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

By Adnaeva G S

Oct 16, 2020

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

By Inge D

Jan 25, 2021

I really enjoyed the course. It was very informativ and useful for my work and everday life. You learn a lot about your own behavior. It was also a good mixture of scientific and practical approach.

By Лариса Н

May 26, 2020

Very interesting author's course. It inspires! This course would be even more impressive if the final test is replaced with my own research, or the test questions are formalized to a greater extent.

By Paulo C Z F

Jun 17, 2021

Foi uma ótima oportunidade ter feito o curso, pois desenvolvi minha vida pessoal e profissional diante das relações interpessoais do cotidiano, realmente trouce mais sentido para o que faço hoje.

By Stanley M

Mar 14, 2021

A fundamentally important course that teaches about humans as social beings and how a myriad of factors affect those social relationships. Scott Plous is an excellent Social Psychology Instructor.

By Ana L E N

Sep 27, 2020

Such a wonderful course, enlightening, compelling and fun! Professor Plous is an amazing source of education and kindness throughout the 7 weeks.

Thank you soon much for this learning opportunity.

By Andrea C B P

May 8, 2021

Es agradable aprender con el profesor Plous, los videos son acertados y las lecturas enriquecedoras.

Creo que se podrian actualizar ya que estamos en 2021 y mucha bilbiografia es de antes del 2016

By Luana S S

Nov 23, 2020

This course has been very rewarding for me. It made me gain a lot more confident and positive in my everyday life. Also Mr. Scott has been a very good and amazing lecturer, so thank you for that.

By Elle

Jul 7, 2020

Absolutely loved this course - great material and learning resources. Would highly recommend to anyone interested in an intro course to social psychology. Professor Plous is a fantastic teacher.

By Saffi U

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course to be exceptionally informative on social psychology and I would also recommend others to take this course. My sincere thanks to professor Scott Plous and Wesleyan University

By Mohamed L

May 31, 2020

I am so grateful to Coursesa , Wesleyan university and Prof Scott Plous for the amazing course, I have learned so much about myself and life in general during this course, Thank you very much.

By Patricia N

Oct 15, 2020

This was one of the best MOOC's I have ever taken. The lessons were comprehensive and the teaching style was engaging. I enjoyed the free readings and documentaries as well. Highly recommended!

By Venkata R S R

Jul 11, 2020

Excellent Course. I hope to use the learning in my real life and continue reading more about Social Psychology. Thanks to Coursera and Scott Plous , Wesleyan University for bringing the course.

By Terrecia W

Aug 27, 2020

I absolutely enjoyed partaking in this course. It was a lot more difficult than expected but I enjoyed the challenge and learned a lot over that last 2 months. Definitely would recommend it.

By Ashley S

Aug 21, 2020

Very thoughtfully set up, as to get you involved in a variety of ways- through videos, readings, discussion boards, etc. It is a very thought provoking course and I would highly recommend it.

By Neetish

Jul 10, 2020

i was caught up in an infinite loop of technology and business courses, this one was a welcome break, a breath of fresh air that helped in expanding the mind and thinking of people as people.