Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,506 ratings
1,496 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

RC
Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course. It covered all the topics I was interested in and was thoroughly engaging and well-organised. Professor Plous is a great teacher and has designed a wonderful course in this MOOC.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,487 Reviews for Social Psychology

By A F M M K

May 28, 2020

I'm really glad that I took this course. Learnt a lot about how the society behaves. The instructor is the best.

By Marco S

Dec 20, 2020

Wonderful course! Useful not only professionally but also to challenge yourself and better understand society.

By Özkan Ş

Nov 20, 2020

That was the most productive online course I have ever had so thanks for this opportunity to Prof. Scott Plous.

By Fernanda d O V

Sep 20, 2020

Amazing course, great professor and wonderful experience! I will definitely study more about Social Psychology.

By Gabriela U U

Jul 24, 2020

Best course!!! Loved it! High technical and scientific quality, excellent professor, great content and lessons.

By Kaliman K

Jun 24, 2020

Entertaining and enriching. Followed the lessons easily and I enjoyed all of the new things that I have learned

By Sukumar K

May 22, 2020

Loved the course. I found the content very engaging and practical. The assignments are really interesting too!

By Kapka M G

May 15, 2020

This course is well structured, full of diverse knowledge materials and fun experiences i highly recommend it!

By Rim I

Dec 3, 2020

Loved this course! and the way the instructor provided us with the explanations was great. thank you so much!

By Issa K

Sep 3, 2020

Amazing Exhaustive Course I highly recommend it! Thank You Professor Scott and Wesleyan for this oppurtunity!

By Olutayo K O

Jul 30, 2020

An extremely interesting course. It has really sparked my interest in Social Psychology. I have learnt a lot.

By Wellington J

Jun 24, 2020

One of the most wonderful courses I have attended so far. Thanks for everything Professor Scott and Coursera!

By Ebi K

Jun 18, 2020

I want to thank Professor Scott for the opportunity to partake in this course. It was a wonderful experience.

By Tsachidis D

Dec 10, 2020

It was an excellent eye opening course. Dr Plous made a terrific job and I am thankful for his contribution!

By Małgorzata C

Nov 21, 2020

Life-changing course! Thank you prof. Plous and everybody who has worked on it! I only wish it was longer...

By Vagney P d M

Sep 23, 2020

Congrats Professor Scott Plous. It was a pleasure to be student of this excellent course. Thank you so much.

By Miguel M

May 26, 2020

Excelente! Realmente el Prof. Plous hace ver la psicología social de una forma muy fascinante y emocionante.

By Kevin M

May 24, 2020

Very informative and entertaining! Prof. Plous teaches you the concepts in a very clear and sympathetic way.

By Roberto T A

Apr 25, 2020

For sure the best available online course on Social Psychology. My gratitude and compliments to Prof. Plous.

By Mantas Z

Jun 5, 2019

Thanks a lot. I had a great time and got interesting information. It will be very useful in my near future.

By Sarah G

Jun 4, 2020

Very thorough and I liked the use of external videos to illustrate the different topics discussed in class!

By Nivetha

May 18, 2020

This is an excellent course , I absolutely loved it and it gives the best knowledge about social psychology

By kev m

Apr 21, 2020

A truly eye opening course. I dont think anyone will remain the same as they were before taking this course

By MacAlex, G C D

Apr 14, 2020

This was a great deal of my time investment!!.. The course is sooo interesting, I'd urge anybody to take it

By Eshan M H

Mar 21, 2020

More courses should be designed like this. Very informative, enjoyable and the lecturer was full of energy.