Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,062 ratings
1,702 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 1,707 Reviews for Social Psychology

By ALAA M E

Mar 31, 2020

It was pleasure to study this course . very informative . thank you to give me the opportunity to study a great course like that

By Shanu a

Nov 23, 2020

A VERY DEATAILED AND INTRESTING COURSE.

ITS NOT AN EASY TASK TO PASS.PLEASE GO THORUGH ALL THE READING AND MATERIALS THOROUGHLY.

By Oluronke O

Aug 30, 2020

I gained very many new insights in this course. I am super grateful to Prof Plous and the team for their great work. Well-done!

By ARKA J D

Jul 16, 2020

This is just not a course, it is an experience of lifetime. Thank you Dr Scott and Wesleyan University for enriching our lives.

By Melisa V G B

Jul 16, 2020

The best teacher ever!! He made the course super interesting and gave examples that made all the contents easier to understand.

By Rajeev K

May 31, 2020

Excellent course. I am thankful to Dr. Scott and team to have given me funding aid and the opportunity to complete this course.

By sylvanus i

Jun 7, 2020

I recommend this for everyone who desires to be more enlightened of everyday actions that carry more meaning than we imagined.

By Eduardo C

Mar 30, 2020

Professor Scott Plous as become a role model to me. Thanks for this course. I'm deeply passionate about social psychology now.

By Andrea V

Nov 7, 2019

I loved the course, the resources, and the lectures. It includes great interviews with amazing professionals. 100% recommended

By SARADA B

Feb 13, 2021

A very very interesting and useful course . Thanks to Coursera & Professor Scott Plous for offering such a beneficial course

By Frances E M

Jul 21, 2020

I really enjoy this course. I learn a lot of new things on social psychology. Thank you coursera and Mr. Scott Plous. Amazing

By SOHOM A

Feb 17, 2020

Amazing Course. The method of teaching and course content are amazing. Thank you so much for offering such a valuable course.

By greg_toy@hotmail.com

Mar 24, 2021

This was a tremendous journey, it did not occur to me , there was so much to learn , and the exercises was well thought out.

By Madara Z

Feb 27, 2021

Thank you for the inspirational course. I really think that I will be able to use the knowledge gained every day of my life!

By Alanya C

Dec 27, 2020

This course has changed my perspective on life (and love). It is well organised and easy to follow. I highly recommend this!

By ROBERTO F R

Jul 31, 2020

Wonderful course. Very complete and lots and lots to learn. Congratulation and thanks of doing this course available online.

By Alexandre M

Jul 5, 2020

One of the best (if not the best) course I took on Coursera, it is well done, fun and filled with very relevant information.

By Ally B

Jun 21, 2020

Fantastic course! I loved it and so appreciated the energy put into its creation. Wonderful learning and growing experience!

By Shrish

Apr 20, 2020

This course was a life-changing one. Challenging many of my stereotypes. Very entertaining. Thanks to Coursera and the prof.

By Rachael F

Sep 17, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course! Thank you Professor Plous for all your efforts put in to the material and lectures.

By Esteban

May 3, 2019

I just loved this course, it was really interesting, full of great data and information. Great interviews. Well done team =)

By Ayesha M

Jun 12, 2020

An amazing and intriguing introduction to social psychology. Professor Scott is an amazing instructor.

Hats off to the team!

By Vân T

Jul 5, 2020

I love this course so much. It is my motivation for further study in this social psychology. The lecture is so insightful!

By Devikrishna V M

May 16, 2020

Very thought-provoking and easy to understand. The lectures are amazing and the assignments provided are fun and engaging!

By Patricio E A M

Oct 14, 2020

In my opinion the course has excellent techniques and methods to teach and learn. Thanks a lot!

Patricio Avendaño Morales.