Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,062 ratings
1,702 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 1,707 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Gosia C

Nov 21, 2020

Life-changing course! Thank you prof. Plous and everybody who has worked on it! I only wish it was longer...

By Vagney P d M

Sep 23, 2020

Congrats Professor Scott Plous. It was a pleasure to be student of this excellent course. Thank you so much.

By Miguel M

May 26, 2020

Excelente! Realmente el Prof. Plous hace ver la psicología social de una forma muy fascinante y emocionante.

By Kevin M

May 24, 2020

Very informative and entertaining! Prof. Plous teaches you the concepts in a very clear and sympathetic way.

By Roberto T A

Apr 25, 2020

For sure the best available online course on Social Psychology. My gratitude and compliments to Prof. Plous.

By Mantas Z

Jun 5, 2019

Thanks a lot. I had a great time and got interesting information. It will be very useful in my near future.

By Vivian T

Nov 13, 2021

I loved taking this course! Thank you Professor Scott Plous, for making this subject so enjoyabke to learn!

By Maria H

Jun 28, 2021

This is the best online course I have ever taken. Dr. Plous is one of the best teachers I have encountered.

By Rajesh S

Jun 15, 2021

I enjoyed a great learning experience, I’d like to say thank to Dr. Scott Plous for such an amazing course.

By Sarah G

Jun 4, 2020

Very thorough and I liked the use of external videos to illustrate the different topics discussed in class!

By Nivetha

May 18, 2020

This is an excellent course , I absolutely loved it and it gives the best knowledge about social psychology

By kev m

Apr 21, 2020

A truly eye opening course. I dont think anyone will remain the same as they were before taking this course

By MacAlex, G C D

Apr 14, 2020

This was a great deal of my time investment!!.. The course is sooo interesting, I'd urge anybody to take it

By Eshan M H

Mar 21, 2020

More courses should be designed like this. Very informative, enjoyable and the lecturer was full of energy.

By Veronica M

Apr 3, 2021

great course and a very engaging professor with great material. it was truly enjoyable and worth the time.

By Karen d C

Oct 16, 2020

Great teacher and great subject matter. I really enjoyed learning more about social psychology! Thank you!

By rain r

Oct 16, 2020

Amazing, honestly it motivated me to continue learning about the topic. My best online course experience.

By Paritosh

Jun 2, 2020

i learned a lot from Professor Scout Plous, thanks for this course and making me more humble through this.

By Jan S

May 18, 2020

It was simply amazing. Thank you professor Plous and his team to the effort and time you all put in to it,

By Inge H

Dec 13, 2020

Great course, very inspiring and interesting and brought in a very pleasant way. Many thanks Prof. Plous!

By Kyle C M C

Oct 5, 2020

really enjoyed this course! it was hard if i would rate it but just focus and will all pay of in the end!

By karlijn v s

Aug 17, 2020

Met veel leer plezier deel genomen. Fijne manier om kennis tot je te nemen.

Voelde me postief uitgedaagd.

By Sokunbi O B

May 4, 2020

To be honest and with almost zero bias, this is one of the best courses I have ever taken, amazing stuff.

By Ophelie N

Aug 22, 2021

A teacher who knows how to put himself in the shoes of these students and an incredibly exciting course.

By Vanisha C

Oct 26, 2020

I am extremely thankful i came across this course.

Without a doubt it was very informing and educational.