Chevron Left
Back to Software Processes and Agile Practices

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Processes and Agile Practices by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
4,900 ratings
795 reviews

About the Course

This course delves into a variety of processes to structure software development. It also covers the foundations of core Agile practices, such as Extreme Programming and Scrum....

Top reviews

KC
Aug 11, 2017

I had read about the different agiles methodologies out there but It was until I took this course that I could "digest" them and internalize how to chose the right one for me and how to apply them.

PD
May 26, 2020

The course is highly interactive...i like the concept of giving questions based on the the information learnt in that particular video...I personally like the instructors teaching methods ....

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 787 Reviews for Software Processes and Agile Practices

By Dominic F

Jan 20, 2020

The training materials are very well presented and easy to digest. I got plenty out of it. But the certificates are really, really easy to pass and I think it devalues them somewhat. If you're interested in this because you just want to learn for the sake of learning, or to supplement any practical knowledge of product management that you may already have through experience in your career (as was my case) and to just understand things better, this is great. But I wouldn't expect to get a new job/change career because of any certificate you earn from this course or others in the specialisation.

By Mateus R d P

Jun 8, 2017

The content is quite good, the lectures are clear and emphasis is put on the right places. The supplementary material is also very helpful. I just felt like the tests were very prescriptive to the the jargon and way of stating things presented in the course, rather than concepts. I often caught myself reading questions 2 or 3 times because it's often a writing subtlety that made a difference, which would easily catch the diligent and informed, however unaware on unobservant, student.

By Kyoko A H

Nov 1, 2016

Es una guía básica para la toma y escritura de requerimientos, y es útil; sin embargo no propone ideas sobre como manejar a los stakeholders cuando hay cambios de requerimientos, o como prevenir que el cambio constante de requerimientos afecte negativamente el proyecto; tipo de problemas que se presentan en muchas ocasiones. Me hubiera gustado ver casos extremos reales, en donde la toma de requerimientos puede salir mal, y como evitar problemas.

By Lindsay R

Jan 27, 2019

The material covered was good. I especially appreciated the walk through the evolution of process rather than the typical Waterfall vs Agile dichotome. I found the quizes in this and other modules often prioritized semantic scruples over conceptual understanding, and I found this far less helpful. I also felt the level of detail and the sheer number of different processes covered would have been aided by some more hands on exercises.

By Ankit G

Nov 19, 2016

Great introductory course on popular software development practices. Some peer reviews could be added in this course to make it more interactive. The course has become heavy on theory side and lacking practical side. However, it is a great place to start learning basic software practices. I, personally, learnt a lot from this course and I would highly recommend this course to all the software developers out there.

By Videme M

May 5, 2020

This was a nice course. It is packed with a to take in but to put in practice as well to understand better. The videos were sometimes long and heavy of many concepts; and also, if you could shoot the video in a friendly and natural background setting, that would be better I think for the watcher attention.

But overall it's a nice course to get a full picture of the Agile world.

Thanks for the time put to do it.

By Orlando C

Sep 24, 2017

I consider I received the same value I would receive from a presential class, even better with the advantage to re-play the videos in specific parts as needed and to adjust the learning time to my own schedule. I do not rate it 5 stars because I would say practical cases are missing in every course, where to round up the learning you can see in a real life example how the concepts explained are applied.

By Arkadii M

Jan 10, 2022

Very theoretical. It exposes a student to a large volume of information that will be forgotten quickly. It has no tasks to reinforce the learning beside a short Trello demonstration. I believe this course should have been dumbed down a bit and integrated into the introductory part of the specialization. I have found the Client Needs and Requirements course to be more lively and practical.

By Kevin L

Feb 11, 2016

Good overview of agile practices.

If you're doing the specialization, they say you can take courses 2 & 3 in any order. Technically that's true, but my recommendation is to do them in order.

They refer to course 2 in course 3, and the difficulty of assignments decreases if you do them in opposite order like I did.

By Masood N

Aug 27, 2019

Overall, very informative.

Sometimes there is a bit of ambiguity when explaining abstract concepts like processes vs methodologies. Also, I find the iOS mobile apps to be less than ideal as I can't take notes while watching the videos easily. Not a sleight against the course.

By Miquel G

Jan 30, 2016

Simply listening to somebody talk about the fundamentals of Agile, with no practical work whatsoever, could be an extremely boring experience. Thumbs up to the two people delivering the contents, because they both managed to do that in a very engaging way. Thanks!

By Lavanya V

May 26, 2020

Interesting, but I felt the course was very superficial. A little deeper discussion of the practical problems in applying Agile techniques and more interactive exercises would've helped a lot. I could've got all the info from a couple of sites and blogs.

By Emilia I L

May 14, 2019

Really useful informstion and provides the history to enable better understanding. The only difficulty compared the other courses in the specialization that I have completed (thus far) is that this course fits a lot of information into the four modules.

By Drew C

Mar 3, 2021

good course with excellent information shared. I do like more opportunity for interaction with faculty and other students than was possible in this course, but that doesn't take away from the easy accessibility of very useful information in the course.

By Victor D R L

Dec 8, 2019

The course is long as it has a lot of details that are important to understand before moving on. I am pleased by the content as it is a good introduction to processes, XP, Lean and other things. This course is a good stating point to know about Agile.

By Rene B

Jun 21, 2019

The course is great, but it seems the creators have abandoned it. There are no replies to issues posted in the forum and many of the reading materials contain links to materials that are no longer available online. I hope this will be corrected soon.

By Md. M R A

Dec 4, 2021

Overall the course is great. There are a lot of things to learn and I am glad to have taken this course. I feel the contents could have few more real-life activities involving Software product management, which would improve the learning further.

By Andri A

Apr 13, 2021

The course was very informative and to the point. As an improvement, I would recommend to split the videos in smaller topics, so that the trainee understands and digest better the information provided. Other than that, thank you very much!

By Aneeksha N

Nov 24, 2020

Explanation of the Course was very good. It can be understand easily by listening through the Video and no need to read pdf again. If you i have doubt then you can go through pdf which was provided in First half of the course.

By Barbara M R

Jan 17, 2016

Good explained course with interesting information about processes and practices in agile. Not too detailed, but can give you an overall overview of what a process implies and what are the general practices used in software.

By Toby P

Nov 11, 2015

Good introduction to many core concepts. Overall video and presentation quality are quite good. The course is not particularly challenging, so if you are concerned with time requirements, I don't think you need to worry.

By jayodeji

Nov 11, 2015

Pretty broad introduction to some different processes. Gave a pretty good intro to agile methodologies. I like that there was some depth in the explanation of Kanban. Looking forward to continuing in the specialization.

By Loni W

Feb 4, 2018

There is a large amount of content in this course. All the content is excellent, little more explanation on the practices would be great. Great content from the presenters. Manual was a little light and didn't

By Àngel C D

May 28, 2017

Explains briefly many concepts. And brings a nice definition of basic concepts for software development programming/planning. Also nice introduction to Agile methodologies such as Scrum, Kanban, Lean, ...

By pratima n

Feb 3, 2019

It was overall good to learn. I found that there were less Software related example. If those had added more, then I would have even understood the concepts and the lectures more. Thanks!